We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option in between hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)

Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel) to your Saves list
Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)
25 / 15 Phitsanulok Road | Sisao Theves, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 563 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good option in between hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

For 19 $ a day, a bang on basic, clean, spacious double room accommodation, with AC !! I stayed for a day with a friend, as I could not get accommodation anywhere, hence this was the best option..There no lifts though and if u have heavy luggage and are put up in 2nd or 3rd floor be ready for a physical workout. The staff is very cooperative and helpful. As for breakfast, you will get egg, but for vegetarians just a fruit, and no bread, and be prepared : it’s all about rice in Thailand!! I did not like this about the hostel. There is some good collection of books and magazines to read in the big lobby, if in a group you all can party . The hostel is located close to places of interest like Grand Palace and Emerald Buddha Temple, and is also easy reachable by buses, tuktuk or taxis. It also has free Wi-Fi and you can also get an adaptor for charging your mobile/laptop in case you do not have one.The staff with very cooperative and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I paid around $12/night for a basic shared room. I discovered it has no air condition. I moved to a higher room with AC for $21. Staff was very helpful when asked about tours and where/how to go. The big gathering area is excellent for meeting people from all over the world. Easy access to boat buses that will take you anywhere in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Don't think of a fan room. AC is a must. Plan your schedule according to river buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in this hostel during our visit to Bangkok in July. My recommend is short. Go for this place if you look for something cheap. Anyway, keep in mind many places in town offer room with same rate but attractive locations and helpful staffs.

Go to Khaosan Road or Samsen Road or Silom instead of this remote and unconventional hostel that staffs could not even communicate standard English. Trying to have your breakfast or asking something basic can cause you headache. No TV , no mosquito net , and no internet access in your room.

Hostel is in bad neighborhood. Not easy to locate if you are new for this country. It is next to small street and garage. So, this is paradise if you love to sleep with noise of traffic, motorcycle, garage, and gasoline. At night, the noise from the road was kinda noisy.
For that reason alone, I will not stay there again.

The Thai manager is nice but the owner didn't have a sense of hospitality and privacy. Asking too much, talking too much, then bothering too much. We got wrong information once then. Anyway, this is understandable since he is not an inhabitant

My brief suggestion. You get what you pay. Good for really low budget. Better to avoid if you are new or with your family. Plenty of decent places to stay at a reasonable price and good neighborhood in Bangkok.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Situated behind the Hostelling International Building.

No Elevator.

Beautiful views from top floor.

Taxis often have trouble finding this place: we found it useful to get a leaflet from the hostelling international building out the front.

Close to 7/11 and plenty of sights and attractions close by.

Getting to Kawasan Road in a taxi ON METER is about 50baht.

Internet doesn't work on the higher floors of the hostel, but works in the lobby. Plus there is a PC for anyones use.

Breakfast is served between 7am-10am and consists of egg and toast.

Clean throughout.

Most of the staff were fantastic and really helpful. Many memers of staff were more than happy to give advice on tours, places to eat, etc.
There was a slim male member of staff who was endlessly rude and actually quite nasty to us - he made us miserable and effected our stay.

Great for a short stay! If you choose to stay here, be careful on the uneven stairs!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

A hostel is a hostel, a bed to sleep in and a bathroom to wash up in. This hotel offered these basics.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I would like to recommend this hostel very highly. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly ,nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and adequate and the washing facilities are spotless. The prices are very reasonable and include a small breakfast. I had a single room for one night and was in a 4 bed dorm for 6 nights. It is a relatively quiet hostel and located within easy reach of the skytrain on the Sukhumvit Road. I was dropped off at soi 38 on my arrival by bus from the airport
. Just down the road from the hostel there are several cheap good places serving thai food and the whole atmosphere is excellent. I shall certainly stay at this hostel on my next visit to Bangkok.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

This was one of our favourite places to stay in Bangkok. So much so, that we returned to stay again before leaving Southeast Asia in August, 2007 (3 months later).

The rooms here were old but were clean. Very basic accomodation.. but what more do you need at a hostel? Here you have the luxury of having your own room instead of sharing bunk beds with others.

The hostel is not in the heart of the city, which makes it much quieter and a little less busy. It's not far from anything.. you can either walk for 20-30 min to Koh San Road or take a cheap taxi anywhere.

There was a great cafe right at the front of this place, which had great food and drinks! Also lots of books you can read.

The staff here were fantastic. They had come up with a volunteer program where they would set you up with some locals who spoke English and they would spend the day with you to do anything you wanted. For example, teach you how to ride the public bus, book train tickets, take local taxis, best local places to eat (not tourist stuff). We ended up touring Ducit park with them and learned how to take the cheaper local transport. All they wanted in return was to practice their English. They would get offended when we tried to pay for their lunch and snacks.

all of this for $11.67/night in 2007

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)

Address: 25 / 15 Phitsanulok Road | Sisao Theves, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 563 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town neighborhood of Bangkok, HI Bangkok-The Original Bangkok Youth Hostel- has been providing safe, clean and affordable accommodations for world travelers and first time visitors to the Kingdom of Thailand for over 25 years. Meet others who know where to go and what to see while in the exotic city of Bangkok. Our friendly staff will welcome you with the traditional Sawadee and make you feel at home during your stay. HI Bangkok is centrally located where you can walk to temples and other landmarks including the infamous Kao San Road or take a tuk tuk ride anywhere you want to go. Also within walking distance of the Chao Praya River, you can take an exciting boat ride to the temple of dawn and other popular spots in the city. From dorms to doubles and twins to triples we have accommodations to meet your needs. All private rooms include private baths with hot showers and air conditioning. Prices range from 300 baht per person. Breakfast is included with all private rooms and internet and WiFi are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel) Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.