We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel) to your Saves list
Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)
25 / 15 Phitsanulok Road | Sisao Theves, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 502 Specialty lodging in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High Standard Hostel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Situated behind the Hostelling International Building.

No Elevator.

Beautiful views from top floor.

Taxis often have trouble finding this place: we found it useful to get a leaflet from the hostelling international building out the front.

Close to 7/11 and plenty of sights and attractions close by.

Getting to Kawasan Road in a taxi ON METER is about 50baht.

Internet doesn't work on the higher floors of the hostel, but works in the lobby. Plus there is a PC for anyones use.

Breakfast is served between 7am-10am and consists of egg and toast.

Clean throughout.

Most of the staff were fantastic and really helpful. Many memers of staff were more than happy to give advice on tours, places to eat, etc.
There was a slim male member of staff who was endlessly rude and actually quite nasty to us - he made us miserable and effected our stay.

Great for a short stay! If you choose to stay here, be careful on the uneven stairs!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

A hostel is a hostel, a bed to sleep in and a bathroom to wash up in. This hotel offered these basics.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I would like to recommend this hostel very highly. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly ,nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and adequate and the washing facilities are spotless. The prices are very reasonable and include a small breakfast. I had a single room for one night and was in a 4 bed dorm for 6 nights. It is a relatively quiet hostel and located within easy reach of the skytrain on the Sukhumvit Road. I was dropped off at soi 38 on my arrival by bus from the airport
. Just down the road from the hostel there are several cheap good places serving thai food and the whole atmosphere is excellent. I shall certainly stay at this hostel on my next visit to Bangkok.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

This was one of our favourite places to stay in Bangkok. So much so, that we returned to stay again before leaving Southeast Asia in August, 2007 (3 months later).

The rooms here were old but were clean. Very basic accomodation.. but what more do you need at a hostel? Here you have the luxury of having your own room instead of sharing bunk beds with others.

The hostel is not in the heart of the city, which makes it much quieter and a little less busy. It's not far from anything.. you can either walk for 20-30 min to Koh San Road or take a cheap taxi anywhere.

There was a great cafe right at the front of this place, which had great food and drinks! Also lots of books you can read.

The staff here were fantastic. They had come up with a volunteer program where they would set you up with some locals who spoke English and they would spend the day with you to do anything you wanted. For example, teach you how to ride the public bus, book train tickets, take local taxis, best local places to eat (not tourist stuff). We ended up touring Ducit park with them and learned how to take the cheaper local transport. All they wanted in return was to practice their English. They would get offended when we tried to pay for their lunch and snacks.

all of this for $11.67/night in 2007

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

Excellent place to stay... At first you don't know what you are walking into... the first night we stayed we were pretty scared, but hey it was really cheap and we couldn't find any other place to stay. We were travelling around Thailand but everytime we came back to Bangkok we would stay here. We met some really awesome people, the people that worked here were very helpful, and during the day they had volunteers who would help you find anything in the city, or different trips to take. The Peace Library was really cool, and the Overall the character of the place really was the best part

  • Liked — Friendly, Helpful Staff, stories with other guests
  • Disliked — The cold showers
  • Tips/Secrets — The restaurant that is in front of the hostel has really good food, there are lots of travelling (lonely Planet) books to read up on, and the chicken dish was really good!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

We stayed here in a double for one night; it's very run down, the beds are dirty and the bathroom leaked. For the same (or just a bit more) money - $8-15 a night - you can have a much nicer place in the Dusit area or down by Khaosan Road. We ended up moving to the Shanti Lodge about two blocks away and were given a beautiful double room with a clean ensuite bathroom, a fully-functional and new airconditioner, and even a fishtank, all for about $4 more a night.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptudtu, Owner at Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel), responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thank you for your honest review. It is true that in 2005 our building was quite run down and needed repair. We would like to invite you back to see all the improvements we have made since your review was posted. Now with remodeled rooms, new furniture and other enhancements (including free breakfast, internet and Wi Fi), we hope you will visit Thailand again and this time enjoy your stay with us.
Sawadee,
HI Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)

Address: 25 / 15 Phitsanulok Road | Sisao Theves, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 502 Specialty lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town neighborhood of Bangkok, HI Bangkok-The Original Bangkok Youth Hostel- has been providing safe, clean and affordable accommodations for world travelers and first time visitors to the Kingdom of Thailand for over 25 years. Meet others who know where to go and what to see while in the exotic city of Bangkok. Our friendly staff will welcome you with the traditional Sawadee and make you feel at home during your stay. HI Bangkok is centrally located where you can walk to temples and other landmarks including the infamous Kao San Road or take a tuk tuk ride anywhere you want to go. Also within walking distance of the Chao Praya River, you can take an exciting boat ride to the temple of dawn and other popular spots in the city. From dorms to doubles and twins to triples we have accommodations to meet your needs. All private rooms include private baths with hot showers and air conditioning. Prices range from 300 baht per person. Breakfast is included with all private rooms and internet and WiFi are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel) Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.