We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and old fashioned” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nana Hotel to your Saves list
Nana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Nana Tai Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #357 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expensive and old fashioned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is in the middle of "the biggest adult playground in the world" which is either good or bad depending on your agenda. Good thing was breakfast buffet and close to shopping and skytrain. My room was ok size and decent bed, but old fashioned and bathroom was very worned and stained and felt 30 years old. Aircondition temperature could not be changed. Overall not what you expect for the prize. Most annoying is if you want wifi more than 30 min a day you have to pay what a cheaper hotel room cost!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    143
    114
    49
    37
See reviews for
18
49
191
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

In the middle of the Red Light District opposite the Nana Enertainment Centre with its many bars is the Nana Hotel .It is a short walk to the BTS Sky Station. In the parking lot of the hotel
the girls are plying their trade.
The rooms are clean, large and functional. There is a swimming pool , barber shop ,travel agent and a gift shop. The breakfast is good and plentiful. On arrival you are welcomed with a drink from the bar. The staff , most of them have worked there for years are efficient but matter-
of-fact until you ger to know them.
The lobby is great for people watching. The guests sitting in large armchairs all have a story to
tell ,many have been coming for years. Some have even decided to stay permanently.
If you are broadminded and like to be a litlle on the edge this could be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was not my first stay at Nana.Have used this hotel since early 90.ties.And i will continue to stay at Nana also in the future.Hotel is a bit old and faded.But staff who work there are always smiling and helpfull.And their breakfastbuffet has always been good and tasty.
Rooms are good..Have always had a good night sleep at Nana.And they have a tourdesk that can arrange sightseeingtours for you.Hotel has a great location.And roomrates are inexpensiv.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The location is great. Lots of bars and markets around, a short walk away. The whole hotel is very old and also grubby. Stained carpets and bedspreads is normal BUT you get what you pay for! The sheets, pillows and bed were okay. Breakfast actually tastes okay but is always cold. Cold scrambled eggs just ain't the same-) We would stay there again but only because of the location and price. As with many places in these countries, whoever fitted up the bathrooms and shower roses must have been very short. I had to lean on one knee to wash my hair... ○》

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren, Belgium
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been teaching maths and economics during 38 years, excuse me if I take my calculator again...
The weakest point of the Nana is the reception; all they say is: "booking? passport?" nothing more.
That is 0.5% of your stay at the hotel. Ignore them.

Good service is from the bellboy... big smile, taking your luggage and chitchat: "what can I do for you SIr".

Normal quality are their rooms(as high as possible!) of course the rooms are not new; but beds are ok(I have never heard about bedbugs) bathtub ok, hot water every hour of the day...shampoo, bathfoam, soap, everything you can imagine. Not bad value for money.

High quality is their buffet breakfast and highest quality is the service at breakfast...

I could see that they have changed the staff at breakfast, as is done in many hotels/restaurants... young people have replaced older ones.

Superior quality is their laundry. I am sure that they loose money doing the laundry...

Oh yes, the girls waiting at their parking... Anything wrong because they openly do business or try to do business? And please, take your calculator again: how many minutes are you confronted with those girls? Also 0.5% of your time...so, not important at all...................

I am a little bit pessimistic: I am afraid that the NANA hotel will not survive among the other international hotels... Go there, before it disappears.........!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nana Hotel-Bangkok
4 Nana Tai, Sukhumvit Rd. Sukhumvit Soi 4
Bangkok, 10110 Thailand
www.nanahotel.co.th
Email: nanabkk@nanahotel.co.th
Tel: 02-255-2525, 02-656-8111, 02-0122 (Auto)
Fax: 02-225-1769, 02-225-7399
Generally, I'd say I use this hotel along with another on Sukhumvit Soi 1, which is now closed, as my hotels in Bangkok. I've stayed here, of and on, for decades. Usually, I have no problems at all. Sometimes, in the past, the staff seemed more standoffish but now I guess they recognize me. I usually end up with a good quiet room. The last two times I've received a “renovated” room on the 10th floor. Basically, it has a flat screen TV with an USB port where I can plug in my rock & roll music.
Standard room amenities are 2-3 free bottles of water, tissue, shampoo, foam bath liquid soap, small bar soaps, medium size fridge, with closet, desk, air-con, couple of siting chairs, a bible to read IF you choose to believe in fairy tales, in room safe AND the best part for me a LARGE choice of items in their free buffet breakfast. Wi-fi is expensive here! It's NOT free!
Other amenities are access to daily Bangkok Post newspaper, swimming pool, and various shops and services. It's 1490 baht per day for standard room. It would be better for me if the cost was around 1200 baht but I pay the 1490. easy access to toll road freeway to and from main airport; around 320 baht including 25 & 45 baht tolls and 50 baht “charge” for pickup at airport. Return to airport eliminates that 50 baht. I NEVER have a problem at airport with taxis like many “seem” to do. Go to public taxi stand and say where you are going. Period! OR take the 4 different shuttles. It's cheaper but longer. What's the hurry?
Overall, Nana Hotel is fine. I don't even hear the noise at Nana Plaza at night. Ask for a quiet room IF you need/want quiet. Last stay was July 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

You can read below a review from a man who arrives at the Bangkok airport with no hotel booking. He meets a man he has never seen before who recommends the Nana. There he is checked-in by 5 hard-faced women who are OBVIOUSLY ex prostitutes. Another reviewer sees nothing but drunken tourists and prostitutes, and another is sickened by filthy smelly rooms. Poppycock!

I have stayed here many times. If you are a family and bringing children - stay away, Choose a more up-market hotel in another area.
If you are visiting Bangkok with your eyes open, have done your research, and have chosen this area to stay, at this price, you have chosen well to select this hotel. It is safe hotel, with excellent security, and all the facilities you would expect from a 3 star hotel including an in-room safe, The staff is courteous and efficient - if you are kept waiting more than 30 seconds at the front desk you are a rarity. Rooms are cleaned at convenient times every day, and bed linen and towels are changed every day.
There are working girls ( and boys) outside the hotel, as there are in every bar and street corner you will happen upon in the area. If approached a POLITE "No thank you" is all it takes and they turn their attention elsewhere. If you should want company in your hotel room, the downstairs Security desk will retain your escorts ID until you later give them the OK to release it. No problem - discreet, efficient, safe and easy. If you choose to sleep alone you will find you are in the majority (despite what some ignoramuses would have you believe).
Every time I stay in this area, I check the range of hotels to see if there is better value for money. I keep coming back because I have found none.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Hotel

Address: 4 Nana Tai Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Nana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.