We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the prettiest Temples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple)

Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple)
69 Nakornpathom Rd | Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
+66 2281 2501
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$35*
and up
Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining...
Ranked #18 of 217 Attractions in Bangkok
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Often referred to as the “marble temple” in guidebooks, this architectural gem features a magnificent Buddha image, which is a copy of the highly revered Phra Buddhajinaraja, and a beautiful beamed ceiling in a dark red and gold.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
505 reviews 505 reviews
349 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest Temples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Visited July 2013. This is one of the prettiest temples and being made from marble makes it unique. It is just as ornate inside although this is a small temple. Photographs beautifully and was empty when we were there. Part of a tour of six temples - each being different.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    138
    45
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not a fair review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is not a fair review, since we are not allowed to enter the temple as there's a ceremony going on.

So we were only allowed to go behind the temple to see the monks and the place where they will shave their heads.

The surrounding is great for some photos though. Do snap away!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was a lovely temple but compared to others I visited I was really quite disappointed by it. It is small, nothing much to it to be honest. Go to Wat Pho and Wat Tramit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This Temple is a unique Temple because it is made completely from marble. A lot of the ceremonies take place around this Temple. The temple itself is beautiful. With its marveled carved exterior and it's delicate made interior. Every part of this temple is beautiful from the statues to the window shutters. Definitely a must to Thailand.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Solemn temple but beware the scammer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I forgot if I posted a review for this before but I do agree about the post of another reviewer about a scammer we met here while touring around the city. He seemed very friendly and he'd sell you the "precious stones" of thailand (that you can buy at some location where the tuktuk will take you - the tuktuk offered was free since they claimed that it was a special government holiday; in fairness, we got to go to the temples for free.). He was saying that it was a great deal and that you get to buy jewelry in bangkok at factory prices for a very limited time. He claims that reselling it in your home country will make you so much money. Beware of this scam!

Aside from this, the the temple and compound is small but nice. Not crowded and very solemn.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple) also viewed

 

Been to Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.