We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small wonderful museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suan Pakkad Palace Museum

Suan Pakkad Palace Museum
352 - 354 Sri Ayudhya Rd | Rajathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
662 245 4934
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 412 things to do in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the residence of Princess Chumbhot of Nagor Svarga, one of Thailand’s leading art collectors, this lovely complex contains five traditional Thai houses, each featuring a collection of historic items and works of art.
Holbrook, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“A small wonderful museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I've wanted to see this museum on past trips but finally went. It was a good 1/2 hour walk from my hotel, Century Park but worth it. the hotel is btween the Phaya Thai Hospital and the Phaya Thai BTS Skytrain Station. It's a very inexpensive entry fee and very nice quiet place to visit. You first see some of the air conditioned exhibits before going into the main area which is the residences of Prince Chumbhot Paribatra of Nagor Svarga and his wife M.R. Pantip Paribatra. Presently there are about a dozen structures. Sadly no photography is permitted inside any structure but you can take pictures while outside on the grounds.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    57
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
179 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Skip it unless you have nothing else to do.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A visit to this museum is quite inexpensive and the grounds are pretty, but the museum has seen better days. During my visit, many of the exhibits were dirty, not working or closed. I would not have chosen to see this museum, but I was travelling with a friend who had been to Bangkok several times before and wanted to see something different. She seemed to like it, but I was totally unimpressed. The free fan to keep cool was a nice touch though.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was going to go to the Grand Palace, but the day was hot, and the transportation to that part of town is challenging. Also, it was getting late. So, I chose a different destination, the underappreciated Suan Pakkad. Just a five-minute walk from the Phaya Thai Skytrain station sits some of the last vestiges of traditional architecture in this bustling city. You can walk through most of the eight houses on the site, stroll in the garden, and enjoy the fine collection of art and artifacts from the collection of a member of the royal family. I think only two people were there when I was, and I only saw them from a distance. So, enjoy the tranquility while you can.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lovely interesting place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

whilst it is in the shadow of the Skytrain, inside the complex it is very quiet and cool. The 8 houses are really worth taking the time to visit and has many interesting artifacts to view. It is very peaceful and whilst I was there I think I only saw about another 6 people. It is far better if one wants to see original Thai houses to visit here rather than the Jim Thompson house

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cainta, Rizal, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A museum great for wandering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Suan Pakkad is made of interconnected exhibits, some more interesting than others. Reception suggested where I should start and how I should go about wandering and I followed it. Started off with some recovered artifacts from Thai ancestors. Then went on to see historical furniture and sculptures. The next few exhibits were about buddhas, temples and sacred text, traditional Thai theater (with the masks and the dancing) and royal family artifacts. There's a garden in the midst of all this and a replica of a barge.

A very interesting walk around. Entrance was 100 baht with a free fan.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suan Pakkad Palace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Suan Pakkad Palace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suan Pakkad Palace Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.