We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viengtai Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Viengtai Hotel to your Saves list
Viengtai Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Soi Rambuttri | Tanee Road , Banglampu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had limited time in Bangkok. This hotel was beautifully positioned for exploring Koh San Road and surrounds. Yes it is where all the tourists hang out- but when you have limited time- you head for the tried and tested! Rooms were comfortable with nice bathroom and great shower. My only criticism would be they charge you a deposit for a lot of things and this involves slow paper work- which is a bit laborious when you keen to get outside and explore. Deposit for key, deposit for use of safe etc. The concierge was very kind and walked us down the road to get a taxi as it was new year and there were lots of roads blocked off- above and beyond for sure. A great hotel and great stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Vickyfromsa

What an incredible review to read. It sounds like you have had the wonderful time here with us. I am disappointed that our common practice to room key deposit, Front office safe deposit delayed you from exploring the great Bangkok when you were keen to. This has been noted to our reception team to be aware of guest’s need and process paperwork in advance to express service.

I am very much look forward to welcome you back Thailand to discover what wasn’t discovered last time. I am certain Thailand still have surprise waiting for you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience. We genuinely look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Thailand.

Best Regards

Suittirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    334
    218
    47
    27
See reviews for
90
225
91
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Viengtai (poolside room) a couple of weeks ago and within the establishment everything remains excellent value for money. In the 18 months or so since my last visit, Rambuttri (the street on which the Viengtai is located) has continued to grow and is both vibrant and exciting without being too loud or seedy. All in all a nice place to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Ditsywitsy

It is fantastic to hear that you had an unruffled stay with us and took advantage of a central location and friendly service.

We catch heap of comments on how well-located Viengtai hotel is and I am so entertained you got divine experience.

Thank you so much for taking time to share your thought. It is always a pleasure to receive such kind endorsement. Do like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter as we update our fans with news and upcoming promotions. Check out our official website for the best rate guaranteed.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times for short one/two night stays as part of a longer organised tour.

First reaction was nice lobby area and friendly fast helpful staff. Location was good if u want to be near tourist attractions of Khao San Road, but beware with that comes a very noisy night's sleep from the road or car park!

Nice feature to have a pool but it was grubby and awkward to get to. Reminded me of having to walk down the corridor in the shining.
Rooms were good size but run down, dated, with sticky Lino floors or stained carpets. Bathrooms were a bit mouldy with limescale deposits, but adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear TurquoiseSunset

Whilst I note you were happy with our nice lobby and friendly fast helpful staff, Great location which we always delighted to hear. I am naturally sorry you were disappointed with aspects of your guest room.

With respect to décor, we are well under way with a program of guest room improvement, double glaze window, bathroom renewal. We do hope to have a chance to change your impression next time you visit. Please contact us directly at info@viengtai.co.th if I can assist in making your stay more comfortable.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here 5 years ago and decided to return with friends and family as it is close to all the major attractions as well as very conveniently located to Kao San Rd and all the delights that has to offer.
We found the staff polite and welcoming and ensured the youngest member of our party 21 months) was cared for in terms of food preparation etc.
Across the road was live music which was a joy to listen to, while sipping on Piña Coladas.
We will certainly stay at Viengtai again when visiting Bangkok

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Di S

It is extremely encouraging for us to read that your second has impressed you as well as the first one. It gives me great pleasure to learn that the service provided by the team throughout the hotel was not only exceptionally professional and accommodating but they were also able to anticipate your needs. We are delighted to hear that your family and you were able to relax ,enjoyed Pina Coladas while listening to live music, such a awesome way to loosen up, wasn’t it?

On behalf of the entire team at Viengtai Hotel, thank you very mich for visiting us again and taking value time to write a review on TripAdvisor as well as recommending our hotel to your friends and other members of your family.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The good - great location near Koa San Rd, clean, comfortable enough, has a pool, buffet breakfast is awesome, staff are nice and there round the clock

The not so good - definitely request a back room - the road gets very noisy at night and if you are in a front room you will hear all the noise; the pool is mostly in the shade the whole day - which can be good if it's 40C but not so good if you want a tan! I'm kinda tall and the ceilings were low and I had to bend my knees to wash my hair in the shower!

Overall - good value for money I think

Room Tip: Away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Sssshhhh80

The entire team and I would like to show our appreciation for you taking time to write such a detailed and comprehensive review on your stay at Viengtai Hotel.

We are truly delighted to witness your comments on the topic of high level of personalized, efficient and friendly service delivered by the staff around property from the moment you arrived at Viengtai all the way to your departure. Glad to learn that you enjoyed comfortable, clean room, our phenomenal buffet breakfast. These comments are extremely encouraging to the staff that their efforts were recognized.

Furthermore, I am excited to put in the picture that majority of “The not so good” will be eliminated in a very soon future with our biggest renovation investment. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Thailand.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Viengtai is centrally situated on busy, vibey, Sol Rambuttri. Lovely to just stroll down for a drink and dinner. Kao San Rd nearby for great shopping!
Make sure you book a back room as on the first night we were in a street-facing room and it was terribly noisy. The staff were polite and very helpful. Our room was clean and the bed/beds very comfortable.
Don't get any washing done by the hotel as it is terribly expensive!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back - not street-facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Thompsfam

Absolutely grateful to hear that your 3 nights stay was a memorable one. Seem like you discovered lots of magnificent things around Viengtai Hotel. We find many of our guests like the ease walking to various options outside hotel.

Please accept our most sincere apologies as the laundry service price hadn’t met your expectation. I will share the element of your review in details with our house-keeping department for an improvement.

Whilst we cannot turn back the clock, we thank you for your feedback and hope despite the under impression of laundry cost you will allow us the opportunity to renew your faith in our hotel in the upcoming Thailand visit.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here in December of 2013 with a friend of mine. The hotel in itself is very nice, modern and an excellent location. Super close to so much good shopping, food and walking distance to walking street.

The wifi is awful, and the rooms are very regular but clean. The staff are not the friendliest but they get the job done.

The best part of this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear killershay

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Our hotel is surrounded by shopping centers, famous eateries and leisure activities; thus offering guests an all-rounded shopping, eating, leisure and cultural experience of the Grand Palace. Guests can be assured of a stay in an area that is self-sufficient, without having the need to travel into the congested city area.

Coming now to our receptionists, we are sorry that you had the impression that they were not up to the Viengtai highest standard. I am very concern to learn of your disappointment in our staff manner. I have shared your comments with Front Office team and we will address the quality issues you have brought to our attention. We will also address the WIFI connection weaknesses you have highlighted with internet team to ensure our guests satisfactory.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience endured during your stay and sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viengtai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viengtai Hotel

Address: 42 Soi Rambuttri | Tanee Road , Banglampu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viengtai Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok is located within the inner city, just one block from the famous Khao Sarn Road area. Viengtai Hotel has 200 comfortable rooms equipped with modern facilities. The hotel has a restaurant, 3 banquet rooms and convention/seminar rooms which can accommodate up to 300 people. At Viengtai Hotel, guests can relax at the outdoor swimming pool. From Viengtai Hotel, visitors can reach a series of important historical places, such as the Royal Grand Palace, various temples and the National Museum. The hotel is also just a short taxi-ride away from the shopping district of Siam and the party area of Sukhumvit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Viengtai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viengtai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.