We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay at the Viengtai” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viengtai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Viengtai Hotel to your Saves list
Viengtai Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Soi Rambuttri | Tanee Road , Banglampu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay at the Viengtai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had requested a non smoking room in the new wing,but when we arrived we were given the key to possibly the worst room in the hotel. It was in the old part of the hotel and smelt strongly of smoke. We went to reception to complain and was rudely given the key to another room and informed that that was the only other room available, again in the old part and very noisy. We have stayed at the Viengtai several times in the past and it has always been good but never again! Also we called in the travel agent belonging to the hotel to book transport to Hua Hin, telling him clearly that we wanted an air conditioned bus. We ended up in an overcrowded mini bus which took three hours before we eventually departed Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing but chances are you won't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience while staying with us. We would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay with us does not meet your expectation. To allow us to investigate on the case, kindly provide us with more information at info@viengtai.co.th. Thank you.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    334
    218
    47
    27
See reviews for
90
225
91
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were lucky to get a back room overlooking the pool so it was nice and quiet. The rooms are clean and the linen is very comfortable. Some of the staff are very friendly but it can be a bit hectic at peak times on the front desk when I think extra staff would be good to help with the flow.
They have secure luggage storage which was great and wifi in our room.
The hotel is in a very central location with lots of street food and restaurants right on its doorstep. A bonus is the swimming pool which i did make use of.

Room Tip: try and get a room facing the pool or high up if you dont like the street vibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at Viengtai Hotel at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and your comments for our hotel will be informed around the world to many travelers to know more about our hotel.
We are look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a comfortable 5 night stay here, 3 of which we booked ahead on the noisy (street) side of the building and another 2 on the quieter (pool) side. Unfortunately when we decided to extend our stay in Bangkok we were told by reception that all rooms were booked out. We then checked on Agoda and found many rooms still available. So we rebooked on Agoda. On checking out and back in we had to pack up our gear then when we got to reception, another lady told us, no, you keep same room now. We then had to explain that we'd booked the pool side now and with some reluctance she agreed to let us into the other more expensive room. Other than this our stay was comfortable. There are ear plugs available in the bathroom if you stay on the street side but I recommend you spend the extra and stay pool side. Also, ignore the taxis and tuk tuks permanently stationed out the front of the hotel, they will charge 3 to 10x the price than if you walk out to the main street.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. Your comments are all important for us to consider.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you experienced at our
reception. After investigating on the case, we found that our rooms were fully booked but our allotment to agent showed room availability. We will manage room allotment more efficiently in the future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Previous reviewers have pretty much said it all. The hotel has a great location and basic rooms that are clean. There is some street noise if you in a room on a lower floor facing the road. The other option is to request a room at the back of the hotel but then you are looking into a parkade. I preferred the street side and turned the air conditioning fan on to block out the street noise.

The location is excellent with numerous restaurants and bars. You can walk to all of the main tourist attractions (Grand Temple, Wats, etc) from the hotel. You can also easily catch the ferry on the river to the Sky Train station at Central Pier if you want to reach the Siam shopping area without taking a taxi. The ferry takes more time but you get a nice scenic ride down the river and you avoid any traffic gridlock.

One thing the hotel could improve on is adding staff to the front desk during the morning check-out rush and early afternoon for check-ins. We had to wait 20 minutes both times.

We would recommend this hotel to travelers wanting to be in the old city in the middle of all the night life without busting the budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience while staying at Viengtai hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your constructive comments about how we can improve our time managed at the reception; we are training our staff accordingly.
We are look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Viengtai Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the room was comfortable and clean, just a bit characterless; we could have been at any hotel anywhere in the world but it served it's purpose for our stay. However, what elevates this hotel from 'average' to 'very good' is the location. It was a great base for the Khao San Road, walking distance to main attractions such as the Grand Palace as well as having plenty of bars, restaurants and markets on the doorstep. The downside of that is that it could be noisy; we had requested a room at the back of the hotel (which we didn't get), however, our room was on the 6th floor and the street noise didn't bother us at all. Breakfast was good: a mixture of western and thai food, fresh fruit etc. For a city centre hotel there was also an outside swimming pool, which was a good amenity (although one we didn't use during our stay).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel or on higher floors would be preferable if you don't want to be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback while staying at Viengtai hotel at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our location and the overall services. We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A great location, just around the corner from Koh San road so its easy walking distance and you can still get a good nights sleep - so a perfect mix. Friendly staff and nice spacious clean rooms with comfy beds and good amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Viengtai Hotel. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our location and overall services.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is on a busy street with lots of bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Our room was a good size with a very comfortable bed. Bed linen and towels were clean as was our room and bathroom although there were some stains on the bedroom carpet. We arrived at 9am and our room was ready, we were given a room at the back of the hotel so weren't bothered by any noise. Two free bottles of water were left in the room each day, the laundry was quick. There was free wi-fi in reception but not in our room. We were room only and didn't eat in the hotel at all so can't comment on their restaurant. My only complaint was that on checking out I was asked to wait until they checked our room, after 10 mintues I told them I wasn't prepared to wait any longer and left. I still don't quite know what they were checking for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at Viengtai Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time for share your experience following your recent stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We would like to apologize for the stain and the long wait upon check-out. We take these comments seriously and we do all we can to improve our service.
We will consider your feedbacks to improve our amenities and our services in the future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viengtai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viengtai Hotel

Address: 42 Soi Rambuttri | Tanee Road , Banglampu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viengtai Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok is located within the inner city, just one block from the famous Khao Sarn Road area. Viengtai Hotel has 200 comfortable rooms equipped with modern facilities. The hotel has a restaurant, 3 banquet rooms and convention/seminar rooms which can accommodate up to 300 people. At Viengtai Hotel, guests can relax at the outdoor swimming pool. From Viengtai Hotel, visitors can reach a series of important historical places, such as the Royal Grand Palace, various temples and the National Museum. The hotel is also just a short taxi-ride away from the shopping district of Siam and the party area of Sukhumvit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Viengtai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viengtai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.