We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, great staff and lovely rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indra Regent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Indra Regent Hotel to your Saves list
Indra Regent Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120/126 Rajaprarop Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, great staff and lovely rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

In total I stayed in 3 hotels during my stay in Thailand and I have to say that the Indra was the best out of all of them.

Don't let the outside of the hotel fool you. It may look like "Ghetto Central" what with all the dogs wandering the streets and sleezy taxi drivers wanting to take you places you don't wanna go, but once you get inside the hotel you find that it's actually quite beautiful.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the foyer is gorgeous as you walk into the hotel and the rooms were really quite good.

They provide you with the complimentary tea and coffee and of course drinking water (which we thought was fabulous seeing as one of the hotels we stayed at only gave us water. No tea and coffee were provided which was a nightmare for coffee-holics like myself in the mornings) The pillows were very hard but the bed was quite comfortable. The room comes with air con, your own private safe and a mini bar, but the drinks are at astronomical prices for Thailand, so buy your drinks downstairs at the 7/11

The bathroom was quite good, there was a bath with a shower over head, but our bath plug leaked and didn't hold the water in. The soap holder was a bit mouldy too, but after the other hotels we stayed in this wasn't a problem at all.

The location of the Indra is BRILLIANT because you can basically walk to the shopping malls (Siam Central, Platinum, Pratunam Mall, Mah Boo Kroong or MBK as its popularly known as) however if you can't handle walking in the heat you can always catch bus number 204 which stops directly outside each shopping mall. If you're looking to see the Patpong nightmarkets you can catch the 514 from the same bus stop. The bus can be caught directly on the opposite side of the street from the hotel. Coming back to the hotel is a breeze because the buses stop right infront of the hotel. The buses in Bangkok are fantastic!! They're not primitive (as I had been advised earlier) and they have great air con!! If you're looking to save money for shopping catch the bus! If you're looking to see the temples in Ratanakosin you can catch the number 60 bus which stops directly infront of Platinum mall. Be warned the 204 and 514 do not stop infront of this shopping mall, but its not far from the hotel at all. If you're wanting more information on how to get to places via bus or skytrain the hotel staff will tell you where to go and how to get there. If in doubt catch a taxi, but make sure you ask them to PUT THE METER ON!!

The Indra has its own shopping mall, Mcdonalds and other fast food joints and even a foreign currency exchange, but BE WARNED the pickpocketers are DEFINITELY at play down here so hold your bags, wallets and other personal items close by. The Pratunam markets are littered all the way down the street right infront of the indra which makes the walk to the shopping malls seem very short. The rooms didn't smell musty or mouldy at all.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the dogs outside the hotel
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    364
    263
    122
    64
See reviews for
246
265
71
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

my family stayed in this hotel for 3 days thank god i say. The hotel has beautiful foyer but thats where it ends. we had 2 rooms booked and found them to be very average.beds are rock hard and pillows are like sleeping on bag of potatoes.I must say the location was great. but if went back would recommend another hotel. hotel had musty mouldy smell.windows were filthy you could get great veiw if they were clean.Breakfast was good plenty of choice but had the feeling that they rushed every one thru.There was never enough toilet paper and had to keep asking for extra.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — bad pillows and mouldy smell of hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

We stayed at the Indra Regent for one night in October 2007 as a stopover before a flight to Phuket. I dont like Bangkok much as a city, but found the Indra Regent to be a relaxing place to hide from the noise, grime and sweat that is Bangkok.

The outdoor pool and gardens were a godsend, when we were looking to fill a few hours before leaving for the airport.

The breakfast was sufficient, but not the best I have had.

The rooms were quite satisfactory, the bed a little hard but still okay.

The staff at reception and concierge were all very helpful, and despite large groups coming in around the same time as us, we never had to queue for more than a minute or two.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed at Indra Regent from Dec.7-8,2007. We enjoy our stay there even for a short time. The staff are all friendly. They were accommodating and helpful. The location was great for shopping, a lot of nearby stalls to choose from. The room was big and cozy. The bed was comfy. Every room has a coffee/tea making facility with complimentary bottled water. The breakfast was great.

I want to thank the receptionist who helped us out for easy check out at 7 in the morning since we had a sight seeing tour to catch and won't be back at the hotel before 12noon (check out time), because of his help we manage to go on with the tour. He even mentioned that we could take a shower at the 4/F located near the pool area when we're done with the tour. Our luggage were kept safely at there storage room.

We would definitely stay at Indra Regent hotel again. Indra Regent the best hotel for us.

  • Liked — great location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

We've stayed at the Indra before but had some doubts about staying again due to some of the comment in here. However, we were thrilled with our adjoining rooms on the top floor. Obviously refurbished since we stayed last.
We had been warned that the beds were like rocks, but our King size bed was firm with a soft top and very comfortable. The linen was excellent - I'm fussy about the linen. The children's beds in the adjoining room were comfortable but according to kids a bit too hard for them. Ages 16 and 12.
Breakfast was not good although we didn't leave hungry as there was plenty of it.
Security is very good.
Lobby bar food was good but just as well for there's not a lot of alternative choices around the hotel.
Taxis are so cheap that the distance from SOME things is not a problem.
Beware the Tuk Tuk drivers who insist on taking you to the tourist traps enroute to your destination. You have to get off to make your point otherwise you go to the most boring places just so the tuk tuk driver gets a stamp.

  • Liked — Beds were excellent
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

we have just spent the past five days at the indra regent and found the hotel rooms clean we were upgraded on arrival to a suite at no extra cost the staff were friendly but not overly so the rooms were very comfortble with large bathroom . but did have a musty smell in the them the carpets were new tho . overall not bad for the price the location was fantastic if you want to be at the markets it was right outside the hotel door and a 25 minute walk from mbk and other shopping malls we found the market here to be cheaper than any of the others in bangkok . the breakfast isnt great but there was plenty of it not a lot of variety tho dont get anything out of the mini bar way over priced theres a seven eleven down the street we went there and a mcdonalds is below the hotel as well i recommend taking a tour to the river kwai and elephant ride by world travel down stairs in the lobby are tour guides name was m and he was brillant avoid the tuk tuks and get taxi,s on the meter all in all we had a great time here but read up on the things to avoid and if well dressed starngers approach you on the street and give you directions and advice about places they can take you walk away its a con
the shopping is out of this world enjoy

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

Stayed in a superior room for 6 nights

+s

- Breakfast was beautiful
- Staff really helpful
- Rooms clean, comfy and big
- was allowed into room hours early
- Comlpementry dinner and show was great
- travel agent working through hotel lobby was excellent
- amazing location:
- night and day markets on your doorstep
- 4 shopping centres easy to reach
- a shopping centre in the hotel complex with great prices
- if you (or the the kids) are craving some good ol' american food, mcdonalds is on the doorway between the lobby and connecting mall

-s

- electronic key stopped working 2 times (soon fixed)

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indra Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indra Regent Hotel

Address: 120/126 Rajaprarop Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indra Regent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Rajaprarop Road in the heart of Pratunam one of Bangkok's most popular shopping districts, Indra Regent Hotel is only a short distance to Central World, Platinum, Siam Paragon, and also tourist attractions. At your doorstep is Indra Square and Pratunam market with local delights at great bargains. Facilities include Sala Thai restaurant featuring Thai dinner and traditional dance show, Ming Court Chinese restaurant, Botanica Café and Poolside Bar/Café. 455 rooms include Superior Room, Deluxe Room, Junior Suite, Family Room, Family Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Indra Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Bangkok
Regent Hotel Indra
Indra Regent Hotel Bangkok
Indra Hotel Bangkok
Regent Bangkok
Indra Regent Bangkok
Bangkok Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indra Regent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.