We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value and a true home-from-home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Park Suanplu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Park Suanplu to your Saves list
Somerset Park Suanplu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Soi Suanplu, South Sathorn Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Sathorn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Moments Package
Ranked #180 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrific value and a true home-from-home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have only good things to say about this hotel.

Pros: ambience, generous size of rooms with separate loung, service, breakfast buffet, location is excellent in Sathorn, price, free shuttle across neighborhood to malls etc.

Cons: slightly dated interior but nothing major.

I would definitely stay again at this lovely hotel when in Bangkok next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Republicofdenmark,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    246
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
91
71
58
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Good staff, very eager to assist, including asking for laundry at 9am when I didn't have any!? Big suite and very clean, all the amenities of home at the cost of an hotel. I won't be staying in a cramped hotel room again in Bangkok. Furnishings rather dated - they see the same as 5 years ago.

Room Tip: higher floors have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear ricwoo2008,

Thank you for your feedback.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Park Suanplu, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Positive features:
The staff are friendly and professional.
The 2 bed room is spacious including a living room, kitchen, washer, dryer, Walk in shower, bathtub, Three televisions, 2 bathrooms and Two balconies.
The property is clean and maintained.
Wi-fi is free in rooms and lobby.
The Breakfast buffet is free. The Buffet has eggs, bacon, pancakes, Thai food, salad, juices, etc.
There is a gym and a Swimming pool.
Location is in quiet area around many embassies. A 7-Eleven is right next to the hotel for convenience shopping. Free Tuc-Tuc service every 30 minutes to Sala Daeng station before 6 pm.

Negative aspects:
Problem with cockroaches in the kitchen.
Location is a bit far from restaurants, bars, or shopping. Requires taxi or 15-20 minute walk to get anywhere.
Kitchen sink had no hot water.
The rooms are dated and ready for refurbishment.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear davidrkahn,

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us recently. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience.
I have noted your observations on both positive and negative aspects of your stay.
As a predominantly 'long stay' residence with kitchens and food preparation areas in every room, we maintain a strict insect spraying program and daily housekeeping cleaning service, to ensure our most effective insect controls are maintained. However, I do apologise for the issue you report.
If any aspects of your room do not work in future; e.g. no hot water, please do report this to our Guest Service team who will engage our 24 hour technicians for assistance to rectify such machine failures.
There are several good restaurants located nearby our residence and are within walking distance however, there is a much larger selection in the nearby Silom area.

Once again, thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Somerset is not 5 star luxury but has the largest apartments I have stayed in in Bangkok and has a very friendly laid back ambience. We had a two bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with a large lounge room and big dining area. The kitchen is adequate, but who wants to cook in Bangkok ! The staff are all very friendly and mostly quick to assist .
The breakfast was sometimes a bit chaotic due to it being the Xmas period and probably a full house. But this happens, and was handled by the staff.
The position in Soi Suanplu is one of the best in Bagkok. What a great street. The hotel runs a complimentary tuk tuk to the skytrain every hour and it is not too far too walk in any case. Over the walkway across Sathorn are the delights of Soi Convent and Silom. What fun !
Highly recommended, fantastic value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Bkkjen,

Thank you for your review of Somerset Park Suanplu and for sharing your stay experience with us. It was a great pleasure having you stay with us once again.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and at the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us we look forward to welcoming you back again when next you travel to Bangkok.

Happy New Year

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed 1 night. The hotel was a little dated, however the room was large and the views over bangkok were nice. I found a small cockroach in the kitchen, the walls needed a lick of paint, & bathroom shower was faulty.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Melita191,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us.

We always try to do our best to meet the expectations of all our guests, but in this instance, we failed to meet your expectations. For this reason, we will be undergoing a refurbishment program in 2014 as it has been somewhat delayed due to circumstances beyond our control. We are currently in the final part of the refurbishment tender with our owners.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to make your stay experience a better one in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Full 1 bedroom apartment, amazing buffet breakfast daily, staff friendly and helpful. For the price this was fantastic value. The only downside I would say is the location. About a 15 minute walk to the nearest skytrain and although this is not that far, come summer time you would be wishing it was just across the road. They do offer a tuk tuk service however we found this unreliable and waited over an hour for their 30 minute service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Ricaaaa,

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.
I have also noted your comments on our Tuk Tuk service. Whilst we do run the service every 30 minutes fro 830am-6pm daily, and 99.9% on time, over the past month or so, with the ongoing political demonstrations, there has been at times where our service has been affected with the extra issues to traffic volumes due to traffic diversions. This has caused some delays. However, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed at this residence for the last 3 months. It was a home away from home for me. Yes, as many previous reviews mentioned, the apartment is dated and probably not everything is up to expectation of its name. However, the staff members, their friendliness and prompt services made up for the shortcoming of the physical outlook for the property. All staff were friendly and I haven't encountered a face who isn't smiling when I stepped out of the lift or the minute I crossed the security guards (yes, even the security guards greet everyday).
The apartment is dated indeed, but residence do get updates that they will be upgrading the facilities. So do be patient.
The only thing that I am not happy with is the housekeeping. They are not consistent. There are days when the apartment was superbly cleaned. There are days when I got back with dustbin on the study table and rubbish still in it. On a few occasions bins weren't emptied, and rubbish not in the bin (in plastic bags) next to bin under the sink not thrown. A few times they took away the robes without replacing and I needed to call housekeeping for it.
Other than house keeping, I am happy with my stay. Dated apartment doesn't mean it is not comfortable. I can overlook the imperfection as everyone else made up for the flaw.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear g_ong_13,

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us over the past 3 months. The planned refurbishment has been delayed due to a lengthy tender process that is now almost complete so we hope to soon announce a start date in 2014 for the refurbishment program once this process is over.
I do apologise for some shortcomings experienced with our housekeeping department. The issues raised will be discussed with the team.
Overall, I am pleased to read that our service has stood out as a main highlight during your stay with us.
Once agin, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Valter Narminio
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Park Suanplu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Park Suanplu

Address: 39 Soi Suanplu, South Sathorn Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#130 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#168 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#169 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Park Suanplu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These modern and superbly appointed serviced residences are nestled in a private garden, just minutes from the business district of Silom and Sathorn Road. Ideal for corporate housing and interim accommodation, each residence is designed for the discerning individual with contemporary designs and modern technological conveniences. Within walking distance to many business, cultural and tourist destinations, there is also convenient access or easy walk to Lumpini subway station will get you around Bangkok efficiently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Somerset Park Suanplu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Park Suanplu Bangkok
Somerset Park Suanplu Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Park Suanplu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.