We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with out a heart” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Prince Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   488/800 Bo Bae Tower Damrongrak Road | Klong Mahanak, Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #373 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel with out a heart”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

i am sure you can find better properties in Bangkok for this price. from the moment we entered they seem too businesslike and unwelcoming. Would not go even an inch out of their way to accommodate even our slightest desire for room cleaning or warming our ham for breakfast. Just the fact that they get tour groups by the dozens makes them complacent. Most of us stay here because of the price on offer, but I as I discovered there are better trade off. Also communication is a big issue , one would have expected a hotel this size catering to international tourists would make it a point to have more English speaking personnel.. but that was not to be... our only sore point in our entire fantastic Thailand trip was this hotel. Give it a miss if you could ...

Room Tip: the new wing is to chose from...near the breakfast area and have elevators that go all the way to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    369
    274
    95
    81
See reviews for
226
279
55
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is in the middle of the garment district and within walking distance there is nothing more than hundreds of factory clothing stores selling cheap T- Shirts, Jeans etc. I could not find a decent restaurant at all.

The hotel itself is huge but seriously out of date. My room was also huge but with threadbare carpet and outdated flowery wallpaper. No internet at all in the rooms but you can pay 600baht for 24hr access (24 hours expire in 24 hours whether you use it or not) but can only use it in the lobby. You can buy 60 minutes for 300baht and at least that is for 60 minutes of actual use.

The AC in the room had two temperatures, freezing or really freezing.

The Thai restaurant on the 31st floor is weird. More of a karaoke bar serving mediocre food.

A few of the staff were polite and helpful but most were indifferent, especially at the pool bar.

I'll never go back but if you want cheap (I paid 1200baht a night) it might be to your taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Never again. Horrible service staff at reception is arrogant and unhelpfull. When we have asked to help to call to airport as my friend has left her card there - we were pretty much told it was our problem and we should call ourselves from our room. Breakfast is bad. Staff doesn't seem to care if guests are unhappy with service. Hotel seems to accommodate mostly Chinese and Russian tourists. Wifi is extra charge and even then itis only to be used in the lobby. Gym, spa and sauna at extra cost and not cheap. Gym is 10$ a day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

There are definitely better hotels in Bangkok, so unless you get a real bargain, can put up with poor service and don't want internet connection then stay away. It's described as being located above a mall. It's certainly not a nice new Bangkok mall, rather like an indoor market. It's a long way from anywhere, with only the a Golden Mount Temple in walking distance. Check in is disorganised, staff round the pool spend their time chatting rather than serving, rooms are dated and internet charges extortionate. The pool area is quite pleasant, but not sure that makes up for the downsides. Don't book a tour from the tour desk or arrange a taxi with the bellboys unless you want to pay over the odds.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked a three room apartment via Agoda and arrived late at 10pm. It was like a fishmarket when we arrived and took 20 minutes before our turn for checkin and we could sense the frustration amongst the customers. To be fair, the woman who served us was quite nice but when we went to our room, it smelt horrible as we had been given a smoking room and the key card did not work to turn on the electricity so we had to go all the way back to ask for a non smoking room. This time the Manager dealt with us and he told us there was no available 3 bedroom apartment left for the night but he could change us tomorrow and he would send housekeeping along to spray the room. He gave us another card to activate the electricity so we went back to our room and when the electrcity turn on, what a sight greeted us....the rooms were not cleaned- there was used water bottles and glasses and towels. Beds had been slept in. We realised the rooms had not been cleaned so I rang housekeeping and was told they would be there but they never arrived (whoever was supposed to come to spray the room never turned up either). I was so mad I rang the Manager and demanded he come right away. He came after 5 minutes and I showed him the mess and he blamed it on housekeeping and said he had no rooms and would get housekeeping to clean. I refused as I was not going to wait an hour or two for the rooms to be cleaned (I was travelling with my children and parents) and he magically managed to come up with 3 single rooms for the night with a promise to change us to a non smoking 3 bedroom apartment the next day. He didn't seem very sorry for the trouble and I sensed he was glad to be rid of me (I was being assertive but not aggressive). The next morning I went to request my change of room and we had to drag our luggage to the new room as the bellboy was not picking up (again the hotel gave me an impression of a fishmarket with dozens of guests wanting to check out so that may explain why the bell boy was not answering). The only redeeming factor about the 3 bedroom apartment is it was big enough for our party of six but it was terribly old and dated and the hot water run out after the first minute (the hotel water boiler was so small what do you expect) so we just have to put up with cold showers.
Our stay included buffet breakfast and the selection was so pitiful I had coffee for 2 of the mornings. Bacon appeared twice during my stay and it disspearred within seconds so when my husband grabbed a plate for our party of six, one female staff followed us to our table and berated us for taking so much because "this cost 500 Baht for half a kg". What kind of attitude is this? I could not believr this.
The only other good thing about this hotel is the Thai and Chinese Restaurants are good value (although they charge too much for water and tea) and quite tasty - otherwise this hotel sucks big time and need a 101 lesson in customer service as it has no idea what this means. We will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

it is very expensive for what they deliver. common areas are very nice but the rooms are old and dirty. Paint coming off mould on tiles. Do not ask information to any of the hotel staff becaus ethey are there just to try and rip you off. THe worst rip off is the internet however 300 BAht for 1 h internet it is expensive even for european standards let alone for a developing country like thailand. I would not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is straight out of "The Shining" and has the makings for a first class mess. We had booked 2 rooms last week - rooms were musty and smelled like they they hadn't been cleaned since 1975. Dusty carpeting and we had very poor lighting in the bathrooms. When the bellboy (bald and sulky one) brought our suitcases upstairs - I gave him a small tip (not knowing how much to give.) Instead of being polite and saying thank you, he said "(the number) huh!!" and made a face and walked off. What an ungrateful and unprofessional boy. The receptionists and staff never said good morning or good evening. Their food was ok but drinks are hugely overpriced at 130 Baht a bottle. One morning we wanted a taxi and instead of helping us get one (we're a family of 6) - the hotel guys first tried to make us a go to places where they would get a commission and when we weren't interested in going he didn't' get us a taxi. The hotel check in is on the 11th floor (another thing I didn't understand.) All in all not a very good stay - if they were polite (especially the middle aged man receptionist) and well mannered and if the bellboys weren't so disgruntled and ungracious this place wouldn't be so bad. I would not recommend this place to anyone visiting especially since you have to walk a while to get taxis and it's nowhere near a Metro or a Skytrain. The location is also not good and there are much better hotels in better areas in Bangkok to choose from. Appalling service for a hotel that considers itself good.

Room Tip: Sukhumvit and Pratunam have better hotels and for backpackers Khaosan is a better place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Palace Hotel

Address: 488/800 Bo Bae Tower Damrongrak Road | Klong Mahanak, Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Rise-Hotel occupying the 11th to 32nd floor of the Bo Bae Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Prince Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Palace Bangkok
Hotel Prince Palace
Prince Palace Hotel Bangkok
Prince Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.