We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room...but that's all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Prince Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   488/800 Bo Bae Tower Damrongrak Road | Klong Mahanak, Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Thailand (Pomprab)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 761 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice room...but that's all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The room was very large, nice and clean. All the usual comforts were there with bottles of water provided daily. We had buffet breakfast included which was nice (but not worth 300 thb) Unfortunately those were the only positives.
The staff were extremely unhelpful and looked endlessly for ways to make additional money (extremely high internet rates, harrassing you to take their taxi, the tourist information barely spoke English and despite asking for info on local buses he continuously repeated 'private transport' and attempted to coerce us into tour trips. We had a particularly unpleasant experience with the receptionist and Manager after a mistake with our booking days. We were phoned at 10pm and asked why we hadn't checked out that day. When we went downstairs to speak to them about the mix-up they demanded we pay for an extra night at full cost (we had booked with a discount voucher) or that we pack our bags and leave now. I attempted to resolve and negotiate (especially asking why we were not informed until 10pm at night) but they refused to answer our questions, became aggressive and told me to be quiet. The manager told my husband to 'make her be quiet' then walked away. He refused to let us see our booking sheet. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    360
    270
    95
    79
See reviews for
223
273
54
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is vast and features huge marble clad hallways and massive function suites that would make for a stunning wedding.
Pool area and bar/grill is great (11th floor so good views too) a tad pricey but all hotels are the same. Staff were pretty friendly, we booked a tour via reception and were NOT ripped off, had an amazing tour of the temples to the north.
Rooms were good, no complaints, breakfast also good, nice mix of western and asian. Had dinner here a few times too, very nice authentic Thai cuisine.
I am a return guest and will do so again, for what you pay the value for money is exceptional.It is as good as it looks on their website.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Cons: -check on staff had no idea whether we'd paid or not even though we booked and paid through their own website.
-no toilet paper in room, have asked reception and still haven't seen any
-drinks very over priced (a can of sprite is 130 baht)
- for the amount were paying the service has been average, rooms are small although quite nice
- spent about 20 minutes trying to find our room as there are two separate towers... No one at check in bothered to tell us that

Pros: right next to the train station which is all we really needed, a place to spend a day before a train tomorrow.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I like the location. Close to traditional market and whole sale market (the building is TALL, hence you won't hear any noise caused by the market and traffic). Close to 7/11 convenience store (good to top up your mobile phone thingy) and close to BoBae canal port (it's only 3 canal ports away from Siam area, pretty cool when you want to experience the local Thai daily life).

The room is pretty big for a solo traveller (especially when they ran out of king size bed hence I got a twin bed superior room), clean, big fridge, old TV screen. oh, and no slippers and robe (sigh).

The really BAD thing is the lack of internet. I do understand that some hotels don't provide free wi-fi and we need to pay extra for internet. Which I did (around 150 THB for 30 mins).. but guess what, they only work in the lobby.

Room Tip: Higher floor room in tower C has a quite good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff don't smile! We stayed here for a total of 6 nights. The rooms are fine and the location is in a very non-touristy place so I liked that experience.
Pros
Nice rooms
local market outside.
Longtail boats easily accessible.

Cons
Unfriendly staff
Unchanging breakfast menu (boring if you spend a long time there)
No tips from staff about distances, approx tuktuk fares etc

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When we had booked hotels in Thailand, we had been a little skeptical about their quality. But Prince Palace turned out to be a very good one with great service. Extremely neat and clean.Perfect place to relax

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Portugal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

It was the first time in thailand so to be in a big hotel that could be easily identify by everyone was very good.
If you plan to be out of bangkok for a couple of days and return they store your luggage for free. I went out for a week and when i return all my goods where there ;)
No free wifi, the 'buffet' breakfast wasn't anything special for the price you pay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Palace Hotel

Address: 488/800 Bo Bae Tower Damrongrak Road | Klong Mahanak, Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pomprab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#103 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Rise-Hotel occupying the 11th to 32nd floor of the Bo Bae Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Prince Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Palace Bangkok
Hotel Prince Palace
Prince Palace Hotel Bangkok
Prince Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.