We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel Bangkok to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Bangkok
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Ratchadamnoen Klang,Bowon Niwet, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #560 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The positive thing about this hotel is that it is close to different must's for tourist.
It is an old builing and it must have been 30 years since they last did something else than cleaning. Yes, it's clean, but very old. The swimming pool fourniture is broke, the room is big but dark and basic. There is almost no light, neither in the bathroom nor in the room, how can one make up ? An old used matrass, a dirty window over one of the most busiest taffic roundabouts in Bangkok. It's extremely noisy. The homeless are installed around this hotel. The room where the breakfast buffet is installed remembers that this hotel must have been royal 40 years ago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    67
    94
    39
    28
See reviews for
20
70
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have stayed here for years on our trips - it is old and tired and a bit musty but there is something about it that I love. A busy 24 hour hotel - taxi service and a good buffet breakfast. Excelelnt roadside restaurant Sky High - just round the corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It probably used to be royal 20 years ago - now more or less falling apart. It's a shame because the location is really fantastic. The dining room is really ugly, although the food is good. The rooms are old, just like the furniture inside. The bathroom in our room on the first floor was large, so at least there was something to enjoy...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This my sound like a fussy review but after staying in some lovely (still cheap) hotels in Bangkok this is my honest opinion.

My massive bug-bare about this hotel was the staff! The reception staff weren't the most friendly and after 20 hours travel time you really want a warm friendly face!! The room was very out dated and not the cleanest I must say!

The most upsetting moment of our two night stay was on the second night when the hotel night club was open. We rang reception about 12 to ask when the music would stop and the receptionist hung up on us TWICE!!!!! The music was sooo loud that it was vibrating out room and windows! So much so that our alarm clock actually fell off the bedside table!!!!

I would say this hotel is bearable but don't stay more than one or two nights and personally I think Bangkok has a lot better on offer than this!! It was close to Khao San Road and China town but proximity isn't really an issue in Bangkok because the transport is outstanding!!!! I think the area was actually a little dirty and this was the only place in Bangkok that we sure rats on the streets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I share the views of others that the location is good, but the hotel and rooms are not worth the price and are in dire need of a re-vamp and some maintenance work. My room and bathroom were large, but the decor is old, faded and tired. The curtains were falling down and did not fit to the end of the window - hence light cascading in to the room early in the morning. Breakfast was white bread toast and the usual noodles, rice and unidentifiable meat dishes. I expected a bit better for the price and the grand title.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I agree with other reviewers that the decor is faded and in need of revamp, but location can't be faulted. Only minutes walk from Grand Palace and National Museum in one direction and Khao San Road in the other. Good variety at breakfast and pool was clean and very welcome at end of hot sticky sightseeing day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The 'Royal' hotel is way overpriced at 1800 baht a night. We only paid it because it was our last night of our holidays and we wanted somewhere nice to stay. It was not what we expected at all! The interior is very outdated and shabby. It literally reminded me of the hotel from The Shining. The staff weren't helpful and the breakfast wasn't great. There was a man set up at reception trying to sell tours who was very forceful. He was WAY overcharging for tours, DO NOT PAY HIM THE PRICE HE STATES. We saw the tour he was offering for 3000baht for 800baht in a nearby hostel. The only upside is that the hotel is set in a good location, about a 5-10 minute walk from Koh San Road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Bangkok

Address: 2 Ratchadamnoen Klang,Bowon Niwet, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel Bangkok 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.