We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silom City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silom City Hotel to your Saves list
Silom City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Soi Prachum (Silom 22), Silom Road | Suriyawongse, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #184 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My guy & me stayed here for 4 days & we loved it!!
We booked delux room through agoda with smooth check in. The room was big with very comfy bed & everything else in place, except for the air con which had water dripping off, when the staff was informed about it they immediately upgraded the room to delux balcony & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in that room. Their buffet breakfast is really nice with different menu each day. Food ordered from their resturant is good & their room service is quick. Though I would request them to extend their restuarant timings, as the last order is taken at 9:30 pm & no food served after that & finally during check out on a notice of 5 minutes a cab was arranged for us to go to DMK airport.

Pros : Extremly courteous & helpful staff, prompt Sevices, English spoken very fluently by the staff & good food for reasonable rates.

Cons : No pool & the location is little interior but easily reachable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    185
    75
    12
    5
See reviews for
38
141
72
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my 3rd time staying here and quite literally I feel like it is my Home in Bangkok. I was here ~2 years ago and I came back again this year for a longer stay: for the friendliness of the staff, clean and efficiently serviced rooms, a hearty morning breakfast with eggs the way you like it, a restaurant serving simple yet delicious meals, a fast and free internet service, a cozy/warm atmosphere with none of that glittery cold BIG HOTEL grandeur, a very affordable price and LASTLY - a lively local surrounding; just a few steps down you will hear Hindu Worship Ragas blaring out of a cigarette shop which would want to make you get on your knees right there and pray to Shiva - very, very spiritual.

Room Tip: I liked the 4th floor the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at Silom City Hotel. The staffs are very friendly. The buffet breakfast was great. Cleanliness is maintained. The rooms are clean and are really big. Recommended for travelers who are on a budget. Conveniently located near the Surasak and Chong Nansi BTS stations. There’s a wet market nearby, a weekend flee market, and access to a variety of street food! I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hidden down an alley next to a fish market (I think it was), the Silom City Hotel was an absolute paradise. Clean, bight, fresh; they had got it right with this one! The rooms were spacious, well stocked and the house keeping team were quite obviously proud of what they did.

The food was tremendous, both at breakfast and when we ate in their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

At $40 per night including breakfast you cannot expect too much. The rooms are dated and worn with an old TV but there was plenty of hot water and the room was reasonably clean.

WIFI was free and the day staff was helpful and friendy.

We had a little issue on checkout when we were asked to pay for water that was provided in the rooms. There is free water provided in bottles and paid water provided in plastic containers but it was not obvious which was which and we inadvertently used the paid ones.

Again the lovely lady on reception let this slide when we explained the situation which was nice. This is not a big issue and not a lot of money but still worth checking.

All in all reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: There are a couple of laundry services in the same street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

1. Hotel is located at a traffic free route from Airport. It is located near to all the worth while places in Bangkok.
2. Although the street across the hotel seems very awkward with extremely foul smell, but you can simply ask the hotel people to arrange a taxi for you. They will do that and will ensure that you get taxi with meter rather than negotiating prices.
3. We were inside the hotel only for sleeping rest of the time we were just wandering and enjoying in the whole city of bangkok.
4. Breakfast was nice, although it might a little challenged to all those who are vegetarian.
5. The cool thing is that they have FREE WIFI and even if you dont have laptop or any other wifi device they have a lab on the ground floor where you can use their system for browsing.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

With the help of the National Geographic guide book we found this little jem. The hotel is basic, clean, the staff are great but what is best is the location. I would recommend this to anyone spending a few days in Bangkok .

Room Tip: Great views on the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silom City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom City Hotel

Address: 72 Soi Prachum (Silom 22), Silom Road | Suriyawongse, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silom City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silom City Inn, a business hotel, is conveniently located in the business and centre of Bangkok, near shopping centres, world famous nightlife and entertainment establishments, Bangkok railway terminal, Lumpini park, the Chao Phraya river and the expressway to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Silom City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom City Bangkok
Hotel Silom City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silom City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.