We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silom City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silom City Hotel to your Saves list
Silom City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Soi Prachum (Silom 22), Silom Road | Suriyawongse, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #183 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Back Again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in August for the 6th time over 3 years, and it is just as good as the first visit.

Although not a 5 star luxury hotel, it is very much a homely hotel, very clean, good location. The room rates are very cheap, and even for a suite room, you pay next to nothing.

Within walking distance to 2 BTS stations, markets and clubs at the other end of Silom.

Have eaten in the Hotel restaurant a couple of times, the day after a few heavy nights out on the town, and have to say the food was pretty decent, cheap price, (although expensive compared to other places in Bangkok, but very cheap compared to western prices)

I have no reason to stay anywhere else when I go to Bangkok, very much a home away from home.

Room Tip: Try and get something facing toward the river side/lebua , otherwise your room view is not going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    185
    75
    12
    5
See reviews for
38
141
72
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here with my family (husband, son 10, twins 16 x 2 x suites) . When we got here the concierge could not do enough for us. When we got to our two suites and our mouths dropped open in amazement , they were massive !!! They had room for a six seat dinning table , sofa , kitchen area etc. It was a bit dated but somehow the ambiance was endearing. The food in the restaurant is good.

The location of this hotel is good, it is on a backstreet , but once you get your bearing it is so close to everything. you literally go right , then first left , then left carry on walking crossing a main road and then you are at Patpong market. The Sky train which you can get to the mecca of cheap shopping the "MBK Centre " is on route to Patpong market on the right hand side at the main big junction road, you just cross the road . Do not accept a TUK TUK ride , even if an old man who speaks impeccable English tries to help you. Dismiss him ..its a scam they will take you to a jewelry factory on route and waste your time ...just like timeshare sellers in Europe !!

If you book a taxi to the airport from the hotel , make sure you get there meter running . Do not travel with them if they do not, they will charge you triple the cost !! We of course told our taxi drive to get lost ! Some taxi drivers will ask you to pay for the toll charge , check with the hotel desk how much this is before you go not much but can't remember.

This hotel is excellent, it is in the heart of living and there are food stalls all around, please try the salt fish from a street vendor ...fabulous....

Will definitely stay here again, the hotel is clean, a good location and the staff make it .. Our family loved it !!

Room Tip: Get a suite . Well worth the money !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Pleasant staff, decent breakfast and rooms, nothing to fancy and maybe some quirks here and there (like tv cable broken) but I guess it fits the bill, 4 minutes of (smelly street) walk from main silom road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

i've been few times at Silom City hotel and im happy i found it sometime ago cause its a really good place to stay when in Bkk. its clean, the service is friendly, its in a excellent location, its very affordable. i even tried the restaurant and its actually quite good. so what else to say? i'm staying there every time i go to Bkk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is tucked away in the back streets of Bangkok, but has the charm of vendors and market stalls surrounding it. We stayed on the 12th floor and hired a suite, the room was large and had a large dining table that could easily sit six people. A kitchenette was attached to the room. The fridge was filled with drinks and snacks. We found the room to be clean, comfortable and spacious but slightly dated. The hotel supplied complimentary water, tv, free wifi and a safe, we were given some lovely complimentary slippers to keep. This hotel serves good food and it is reasonably priced. Room service is also good. A member in our party brought back a cooked fish from one of the stalls outside of the hotel and it was the best fish we have ever eaten.

This hotel is walking distance to the Sky train and markets. We visited the MBK Centre and used taxi meters and Sky Train to travel around, both forms of travel is inexpensive. Just be aware that some drivers want to take you somewhere else i.e. Gem or gift shops before taking you to your desired stop, you can be firm and say no but its entirely up to you!

There were seven of us in our party, so we took three metered taxis to the airport, our driver did not overcharge us, however another member in our party was charged three times more than us but we only gave the driver what he should have charged, so be careful not to be ripped off.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Great location in silom, staff were friendly, rooms clean and I loved the breakfast well needed after a night on the town. Don't use the laundry service over 10x the price of the local laundrettes and no better not to say it was bad but ah we'll you live and you learn. Really enjoyed the staff and not a bad price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had to spend 1 day in Bangkok on our way back home and booked this cheap room just to have a space to leave our bags for the day and the possibility to have a shower before leaving to the airport. We were very surprized by the good service, the free upgrade we got to a bigger room (we were with our 2 children), the huge bed and the friendly people. ANd last but noy least: the lovely massages!!
Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silom City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom City Hotel

Address: 72 Soi Prachum (Silom 22), Silom Road | Suriyawongse, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#147 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silom City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silom City Inn, a business hotel, is conveniently located in the business and centre of Bangkok, near shopping centres, world famous nightlife and entertainment establishments, Bangkok railway terminal, Lumpini park, the Chao Phraya river and the expressway to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Silom City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom City Bangkok
Hotel Silom City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silom City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.