We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of better options” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ma Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #425 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
“Plenty of better options”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hmmm, where to start...

Looks good in the pictures, maybe I got given a duff room since I booked very late and got a 'cheap' price. Room was just 'ok' - corner room with a window (kind of) with a pile of rubble outside. No info offered at check in of any kind.

Shower totally useless - hot then cold then a dribble. Sink wouldn't drain (finally after 30 minutes). Bed was decent. Huge TV but a bit pointless if you don't speak Thai. WiFi - forget it! In the room was worse than dialup, unusable. It seems all the room doors can only be closed with a loud bang, which you'll hear a lot of. Lots of noise whenever people move about in adjacent rooms or corridors.

Booking said that breakfast was included, but in the morning I'm told, no breakfast included, maybe you can buy something in the dining room. Asked for a café near by - nobody at the desk knew of one. Desk staff were friendly but not particularly helpful.

They probably shouldn't say there is a pool unless the word 'paddling' is inserted before it. Perhaps add a few fish and have a nice feature for the lobby, because that's where it is.

All in all, a big flop. I know it's on the cheap end of the scale, but it just seemed like everything was on the slide. If I'd paid full whack I would have been very grumpy! (This is just mild grumpiness, honest).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    103
    87
    43
    31
See reviews for
24
37
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Super comfortable plushy (but not overly plushy) beds, friendly service and great location. Best value for a 4 star in this area. Booked through agoda. Did not eat at the restaurant so can not judge. Could use a full gym , pool is on the lobby floor right by reception (nice, not overly clorinated). Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ma is a small hotel, but the location is great, its near everything, and very near (4 $ tuk tuk) to patpong market. near restaurants to it, and easy to find a taxi to anywhere
Staff are extremely friendly, and the hotel is very clean
- problem with the country, take with you a spray and everything u need in regards of mosquitoes
- their breakfast is not much of international, its more than a Thai breakfast, i could not handle it, so, its a waste!
but i would totally recommend it to anyone who will visit Thailand- Bangkok

Room Tip: Rooms are very basic and small, but floor number 5 has the bigger rooms, adviced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Really good and friendly service. Good location in Silom area. Rooms are clean and nice. Good value for your money!
Also restaurant services provided good.
Swimming pool are is quite small and inside, but ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Best value for money I got for a while. Probably dont eat here much though the menu is very scant and not too many options however what we had was nice.
The service was very good , rooms very modern and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having booked this hotel before reading reviews,,,i was really worried that it would be awful..
However it is obvious that major renovations have and are still being carried out !!!

The rooms are clean,,well appointed. The beds are so comfy and snug,,i had the best sleep. I did have a problem with the shower drainage,,which had leaked into the corridor,,but this was quickly dealt with.

I had no disturbance from any building work being done,,as i think they are on the last few rooms,,i could see across the courtyard.

I only had one drink there as i thought a little pricy ,,140thb for a small Singh beer.

I was informed that the management had changed and i think it showed,,the staff were friendly and helpful.

2 things to beware of though,,,the taxis out front don't like to use their meter,,,so check before u get in,,,if not there are plenty passing by.

Also it is a NON smoking hotel,,which was not obvious when i booked on a different site.

I was informed upon check in,,,but not of the 2000thb fine they will impose if you do smoke in the room,,,also no mention in the room,,just a no smoking sign.

So upon check in they wanted to keep my 1000thb deposit and want 1000thb more.
I explained that they must inform guest of an imposed fine,,can not just spring it on at the end.
As i discussed this in a rational way with the reception manager,,i agreed to pay 200thb,,to use extra spray as i do appreciate the smell of smoke can lingre.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

THE FIRST HOTEL STAYED AT IN THAILAND.
Thought we had booked a super hotel at a reasonable price for the quality. The reality is somewhat different. They are still building the hotel around you and it is unfinished. In my opinion they should not be letting this hotel untill it is finished.
Immediately complained about the banging noises ( after a very long flight/journey, dead tired ) and were upgraded to a quieter room, although could still hear noises. Lots unfinished, hallways, bakery, not open, shops not open, boarded up. etc,etc.
Good large room ( upgraded, standard smaller ), good bed, but room quite bare, not as good as photos. Virtually no view from corner window over entrance courtyard.
The swimming pool is located in a very strange position off the entrance lobby ? Everyone can see you, so not used !
The rate does not include breakfast, payed extra, but not that good. Poor quality.
Staff helpfull and pleasant, I think they are a little embarrassed about the hotel.
Booked this hotel through BOOKING.COM and ended up paying a lot more than originally thought I was paying, as one pays locally at the hotel.
Location is in the JEWELRY district, so out of it a bit, fairly near river. Very few restaurants around accept for the INDIAN HUT next door which is good but expensive.
Stayed at several hotels/guest houses in six weeks, but would NOT stay here again. Wear ear plugs !

Room Tip: Virtually all the hotels suffer from poor noise insulation in walls and floors and their hard surfac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Hotel

Address: 412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ma Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Hotel is a 243 room, high quality 4 star hotel with 5 star service, right in the heart of Bangkok’s Jewelry Center. It is conveniently located just five minute walk from Silom road and ten minute away from BTS station and Saphan Taksin pier. The hotel is smart designed offering six different room types which are Superior, Superior Extra, Deluxe, Superior Extra, L-Suite and XL-Suite, ranging from 20 sq.m. to 68 sq.m. Amenities in all room types include free high speed internet access, cable TV, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, in – room private safe, minibar, coffee/tea maker with complimentary coffee and tea setup. For the Suite room types, guests can enjoy additional amenities including bathrobe, slipper, DVD player, printer and document scanner machine. Facilities in the hotel include swimming pool, roof top lounge, European Style Bakery and the main restaurant serving breakfast and lunch buffet with all day signature a la carte menu. Secured parking, laundry service, tour and transportation service are available for all guests. Ma hotel is located right next to an express way so taking taxi to these places is very convenient; Suvarnabhumi International Airport, Don Muang Domestic Airport, and Muang Thong Thani Convention Center (IMPACT Convention Center) take only 30 - 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Ma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.