We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but good value for a 1 nighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ma Hotel to your Saves list
Ma Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #442 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cheap but good value for a 1 nighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Best value for money I got for a while. Probably dont eat here much though the menu is very scant and not too many options however what we had was nice.
The service was very good , rooms very modern and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    107
    97
    42
    32
See reviews for
28
44
31
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Battambang, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having booked this hotel before reading reviews,,,i was really worried that it would be awful..
However it is obvious that major renovations have and are still being carried out !!!

The rooms are clean,,well appointed. The beds are so comfy and snug,,i had the best sleep. I did have a problem with the shower drainage,,which had leaked into the corridor,,but this was quickly dealt with.

I had no disturbance from any building work being done,,as i think they are on the last few rooms,,i could see across the courtyard.

I only had one drink there as i thought a little pricy ,,140thb for a small Singh beer.

I was informed that the management had changed and i think it showed,,the staff were friendly and helpful.

2 things to beware of though,,,the taxis out front don't like to use their meter,,,so check before u get in,,,if not there are plenty passing by.

Also it is a NON smoking hotel,,which was not obvious when i booked on a different site.

I was informed upon check in,,,but not of the 2000thb fine they will impose if you do smoke in the room,,,also no mention in the room,,just a no smoking sign.

So upon check in they wanted to keep my 1000thb deposit and want 1000thb more.
I explained that they must inform guest of an imposed fine,,can not just spring it on at the end.
As i discussed this in a rational way with the reception manager,,i agreed to pay 200thb,,to use extra spray as i do appreciate the smell of smoke can lingre.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

THE FIRST HOTEL STAYED AT IN THAILAND.
Thought we had booked a super hotel at a reasonable price for the quality. The reality is somewhat different. They are still building the hotel around you and it is unfinished. In my opinion they should not be letting this hotel untill it is finished.
Immediately complained about the banging noises ( after a very long flight/journey, dead tired ) and were upgraded to a quieter room, although could still hear noises. Lots unfinished, hallways, bakery, not open, shops not open, boarded up. etc,etc.
Good large room ( upgraded, standard smaller ), good bed, but room quite bare, not as good as photos. Virtually no view from corner window over entrance courtyard.
The swimming pool is located in a very strange position off the entrance lobby ? Everyone can see you, so not used !
The rate does not include breakfast, payed extra, but not that good. Poor quality.
Staff helpfull and pleasant, I think they are a little embarrassed about the hotel.
Booked this hotel through BOOKING.COM and ended up paying a lot more than originally thought I was paying, as one pays locally at the hotel.
Location is in the JEWELRY district, so out of it a bit, fairly near river. Very few restaurants around accept for the INDIAN HUT next door which is good but expensive.
Stayed at several hotels/guest houses in six weeks, but would NOT stay here again. Wear ear plugs !

Room Tip: Virtually all the hotels suffer from poor noise insulation in walls and floors and their hard surfac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've read some reviews before going to this hotel and was scared about all the bad things people are writing about hotel stuff - in my case it was not true. The stuff was SUPER pleasant, nice and healpful. We arrived 8am and they were able to accomadate us earlier. Also informed about attractions and things to do.
The room was not that good, was very small and dark, impossible to open curtains since on the other side always people watching.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place it's not quite finished, but it's very close to City centre which makes it easier to get around.
It was about £30 per night which it's quite reasonable considering that you are very to the State Sky tower (The Hang Over 2 ) movie was shot.
The staff were very friendly and helpful we asked to leave our luggages there after our check out as our flight wasn't until late evening and they were happy with that.
Great service, good place and brilliant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a City View, as it will look amazing at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were there in August Last year. Good Calm and Peaceful Location. Reception is good.
But the service was pathetic.People were not bothered to address our concerns. Same as Breakfast. It was a sick and the same Indian Breakfast everyday.I would not come back and stay there because you get much better deal and good service within Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Located in the midst of the Indian/Pakistani-populated township of Bangkok, stay at this hotel if you can't do without Desi food when abroad.

The hotel offers a decent stay and is not too expensive. And the location is awesome - this is a not-too-busy spot in the very busy city of Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Hotel

Address: 412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ma Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Hotel is a 243 rooms 4-star hotel. Our concept is about simply being "Smart" - Smart and comfort design, Smart service, and, most of all, Smart choice for you. With our 6 room categories and functional facilities, such as: cozy indoor swimming pool, lobby lounge, restaurant and bakery cafe, we are ready to serve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.