We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but good value for a 1 nighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ma Hotel to your Saves list
Ma Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Silom)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #512 of 805 Hotels in Bangkok
australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap but good value for a 1 nighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Best value for money I got for a while. Probably dont eat here much though the menu is very scant and not too many options however what we had was nice.
The service was very good , rooms very modern and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davodownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having booked this hotel before reading reviews,,,i was really worried that it would be awful..
However it is obvious that major renovations have and are still being carried out !!!

The rooms are clean,,well appointed. The beds are so comfy and snug,,i had the best sleep. I did have a problem with the shower drainage,,which had leaked into the corridor,,but this was quickly dealt with.

I had no disturbance from any building work being done,,as i think they are on the last few rooms,,i could see across the courtyard.

I only had one drink there as i thought a little pricy ,,140thb for a small Singh beer.

I was informed that the management had changed and i think it showed,,the staff were friendly and helpful.

2 things to beware of though,,,the taxis out front don't like to use their meter,,,so check before u get in,,,if not there are plenty passing by.

Also it is a NON smoking hotel,,which was not obvious when i booked on a different site.

I was informed upon check in,,,but not of the 2000thb fine they will impose if you do smoke in the room,,,also no mention in the room,,just a no smoking sign.

So upon check in they wanted to keep my 1000thb deposit and want 1000thb more.
I explained that they must inform guest of an imposed fine,,can not just spring it on at the end.
As i discussed this in a rational way with the reception manager,,i agreed to pay 200thb,,to use extra spray as i do appreciate the smell of smoke can lingre.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justjonnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

THE FIRST HOTEL STAYED AT IN THAILAND.
Thought we had booked a super hotel at a reasonable price for the quality. The reality is somewhat different. They are still building the hotel around you and it is unfinished. In my opinion they should not be letting this hotel untill it is finished.
Immediately complained about the banging noises ( after a very long flight/journey, dead tired ) and were upgraded to a quieter room, although could still hear noises. Lots unfinished, hallways, bakery, not open, shops not open, boarded up. etc,etc.
Good large room ( upgraded, standard smaller ), good bed, but room quite bare, not as good as photos. Virtually no view from corner window over entrance courtyard.
The swimming pool is located in a very strange position off the entrance lobby ? Everyone can see you, so not used !
The rate does not include breakfast, payed extra, but not that good. Poor quality.
Staff helpfull and pleasant, I think they are a little embarrassed about the hotel.
Booked this hotel through BOOKING.COM and ended up paying a lot more than originally thought I was paying, as one pays locally at the hotel.
Location is in the JEWELRY district, so out of it a bit, fairly near river. Very few restaurants around accept for the INDIAN HUT next door which is good but expensive.
Stayed at several hotels/guest houses in six weeks, but would NOT stay here again. Wear ear plugs !

Room Tip: Virtually all the hotels suffer from poor noise insulation in walls and floors and their hard surfac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickthetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've read some reviews before going to this hotel and was scared about all the bad things people are writing about hotel stuff - in my case it was not true. The stuff was SUPER pleasant, nice and healpful. We arrived 8am and they were able to accomadate us earlier. Also informed about attractions and things to do.
The room was not that good, was very small and dark, impossible to open curtains since on the other side always people watching.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place it's not quite finished, but it's very close to City centre which makes it easier to get around.
It was about £30 per night which it's quite reasonable considering that you are very to the State Sky tower (The Hang Over 2 ) movie was shot.
The staff were very friendly and helpful we asked to leave our luggages there after our check out as our flight wasn't until late evening and they were happy with that.
Great service, good place and brilliant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a City View, as it will look amazing at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ervo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were there in August Last year. Good Calm and Peaceful Location. Reception is good.
But the service was pathetic.People were not bothered to address our concerns. Same as Breakfast. It was a sick and the same Indian Breakfast everyday.I would not come back and stay there because you get much better deal and good service within Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijayjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Located in the midst of the Indian/Pakistani-populated township of Bangkok, stay at this hotel if you can't do without Desi food when abroad.

The hotel offers a decent stay and is not too expensive. And the location is awesome - this is a not-too-busy spot in the very busy city of Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEatingMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Win Long Place Hotel & Apartment
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#248 of 805 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#270 of 805 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Swan Hotel Bangkok
#478 of 805 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#737 of 805 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Hotel

Address: 412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #512 of 805 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ma Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Hotel is a 243 rooms 4-star hotel. Our concept is about simply being "Smart" - Smart and comfort design, Smart service, and, most of all, Smart choice for you. With our 6 room categories and functional facilities, such as: cozy indoor swimming pool, lobby lounge, restaurant and bakery cafe, we are ready to serve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing