We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ma Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #442 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've read some reviews before going to this hotel and was scared about all the bad things people are writing about hotel stuff - in my case it was not true. The stuff was SUPER pleasant, nice and healpful. We arrived 8am and they were able to accomadate us earlier. Also informed about attractions and things to do.
The room was not that good, was very small and dark, impossible to open curtains since on the other side always people watching.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    105
    90
    42
    31
See reviews for
27
40
31
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place it's not quite finished, but it's very close to City centre which makes it easier to get around.
It was about £30 per night which it's quite reasonable considering that you are very to the State Sky tower (The Hang Over 2 ) movie was shot.
The staff were very friendly and helpful we asked to leave our luggages there after our check out as our flight wasn't until late evening and they were happy with that.
Great service, good place and brilliant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a City View, as it will look amazing at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were there in August Last year. Good Calm and Peaceful Location. Reception is good.
But the service was pathetic.People were not bothered to address our concerns. Same as Breakfast. It was a sick and the same Indian Breakfast everyday.I would not come back and stay there because you get much better deal and good service within Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Located in the midst of the Indian/Pakistani-populated township of Bangkok, stay at this hotel if you can't do without Desi food when abroad.

The hotel offers a decent stay and is not too expensive. And the location is awesome - this is a not-too-busy spot in the very busy city of Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Reached hotel at 3 PM and the moment I reached.. my room was waiting for me..
service was great. though couple of attendants were little arrogant.
The best of this hotel is its location. Nearer to airport, lot of restaurants (Indian), malls .. what not...
the restaurant in this hotel serves only thai.

The room I booked was a superior room and it is clean and fresh. (high way view) Despite of its age rooms are well maintained. Though there is a scope of improvement in the areas out of room.

the swimming pool is just as good as nothing. it is suggested that u carry a power converter(2pin to 3 pin)(especially Indians)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed in this quite a no of times It is affordable by comparing rates from many hotel booking engines if you book by comparing rates offered by different hotel booking engines.This hotel is located by the side of the highway from airpori which saves time in commuting to atrport in a jam pscked city like BangkokBreakfast is really very sumptous and varied.Bangkoks biggest night life area PATPONG is within walking distance.Internet is limited and not free Hotel is old---built in 1960

Room Tip: obviously the more you pay better the room : I mean superior room is ok but deluxe room is much b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hello Friends, Mentioned hotel is fine for only about its location
means neat road, walking distance for market, mall and restaurants.
Nothing else i can say means what a hotel actually should provide
like Very nice rooms, service, cleanliness etc. My suggestion is go
for some other option as Bangkok is a cool place to go out.
Happy Traveling :)

Room Tip: Don't choose a room in the mentioned hotel. There are lots of other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Hotel

Address: 412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ma Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Hotel is a 243 rooms 4-star hotel. Our concept is about simply being "Smart" - Smart and comfort design, Smart service, and, most of all, Smart choice for you. With our 6 room categories and functional facilities, such as: cozy indoor swimming pool, lobby lounge, restaurant and bakery cafe, we are ready to serve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Ma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;