We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find a hotel in a better location.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Century Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Century Park Hotel to your Saves list
Century Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Ratchaprarop Road | Pratunam-Victory Monument, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Find a hotel in a better location.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2006

We stayed at the Century Park Hotel as part of our tour through Pacific Delight. It was our least-favorite hotel that we stayed at. The rooms were spacious with nice furnishings, but the beds had horribly hard mattresses. The bathroom had a stall shower in addition to the tub, which was very nice. The usual amenities supplied were somewhat sparse for that level of hotel - only one small bottle of shampoo and one bottle of bath foam. Washcloths and bath towels were provided, but no hand towels. The hotel is in a very poor location. The surrounding area looked very questionable, and we were not comfortable venturing out at night for a walk. We took taxis everywhere. Luckily they were very inexpensive. But, since traffic is so horrible in Bangkok, it took us a very long time to get anywhere.

The lobby was spacious. The outside pool area was nice, with comfortable chairs and chaises. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was no more than adequate. Much of the food was lukewarm or cold. The service was only satisfactory.

We were able to walk to an internet cafe around two blocks from the hotel for cheap internet access. Turn left to get there.

One small gripe is that we were charged for the bottle of water that we used our first night - after arriving at the hotel around 1:00am after very long flights from the US. We knew that the hotel offered two bottles of complimentary water per day. All of the water bottles were in the cabinet that held the typical bar items. Since neither type of water was labeled complimentary - as in other hotels that we stayed at in Thailand - we just took one bottle out of the small refrigerator to use for brushing our teeth. We guessed wrong, and even though we didn't use the unmarked complimentary water that first day, we were still charged around $3 US for that one bottle of water. We were told, after we complained, that it was on the bill and that the charge couldn't be changed.

  • Liked — Spacious room and bathroom.
  • Disliked — Location! Location! Location!
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    558
    150
    24
    12
See reviews for
116
554
55
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester/London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2006

I wasn't sure what to expect with this hotel but I certainly wasn't disappointed! It's not in the middle of Bangkok but with taxis being so cheap and Bangkok being so crazy it doesn't really matter. It is next to an expressway - but so is everywhere else in the city.

I got a welcome fruit punch on arrival which was a nice touch. I had booked into a king bed executive room but when I went to it I saw it was a twin. As it as was only about 11am, they had no others available but the manager was extremely helpful and upgraded me to a Grand Deluxe at no extra charge. This room was enormous and although not on the Executive lounge floor, I was still about to use the lounge. The porter service was helpful, polite and friendly. The room was comfortable, extremely clean and the bathroom was amazing - with all the cosmetics and amenities you could think of. The swimming pool was also beautiful (if slightly cold) and the drinks and food service around it was excellent and very reasonably priced (more expensive than street cafes, but still Thai prices). They were also flexible on the menu and could adapt things for vegetarians.

The executive lounge has amazing views and offers food and soft drinks pretty much throughout the day. The service is a little too attentive - but that's hardly a major issue. The breakfast up there is great - continental. I also tried the main breakfast in the dining room which was amazing. I was a little late (got there 5 mins before close) and they weren't that happy about it when I arrived, but once I was inside the dining room they seemed in no hurry to close. I managed to also get a late checkout and was able to spend time in the lounge too before going to the airport once out of my room. They also have a patisserie on the ground floor which does amazing cakes.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — The room and the service.
  • Disliked — The location - but it wasn't really a problem.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to get an executive room - the prices are ridiculously reasonable.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

I stayed at the Century Park hotel in Bangkok for several nights and it was fantastic. The services and facilities you get for the price you pay is amazing. I don't recommend their 'spa', but their fitness room and pool were great. Their lobby was gorgeous and their buffet breakfast was wonderful. Very centrally located. Request a room on a high floor for a phenomenal nighttime view of this bustling metropolis.

  • Liked — the room / lobby
  • Disliked — the spa services
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

We chose the Century Park after reading all the positive reviews on this site. When we walked in I had a feeling of gloom. It ws certainly not as nice as other 4/5* hotels we have stayed in Bangkok.

The room was clean and very average.

It was mediocre in the extreme, filled with tour groups and package holidays. The breakfast was cold and could not be eaten. I even spoke to the restaurant manager about it. We ate at Robertos which was very nice but expensive by Bangkok standards.

The location was okay, 20mins to the new airport. Had to take taxis for shopping etc.

Overall we thought that a refurbishment was overdue.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — do not go there
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

I stayed at the Century Park at the beginning of a multi centre trip. The hotel is fantastic i can not think of one negative point to say. The rooms are really large and if you get a high floor have amazing views of the city. The staff are extremely helpful and the service we recieved was definitley 5*. The hotel's location did not bother us at all we researched where we wanted to go then just got a taxi from the hotel (we never paid more than £2 to get right across the city) and found getting in a taxi much easier than getting the sky train or walking! When in Bangkok my boyfriend and i want to a bar/restaraunt called V9 it's in the Sofitel hotel. If you are a couple and want to go for a special meal would really recommend going here the food and service is fantastic and the views over the city are breathtaking as it is on the 60th floor.
I am already looking at returning to Thailand next year and without a doubt will go to the Century Park hotel.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

Century Park Hotel is a wonderful modern hotel that is is run by great members of staff. It is a bright airy hotel and I cannot think of a bad thing to say about our stay. The room and bathroom facilities were great and the roomservice was extremely quick. Breakfast was a buffet set up with a vast selection of food ranging from a full cooked English breakfast items to American pancakes to more local thai foods. The location of the hotel is great, the station for the skytrain is only 10 minutes away and takes you right across the city very quickly. We intend to return to Bangkok and will definitly use this hotel again.

  • Liked — The facilities
  • Disliked — The taxi drivers at the end of the drive
  • Tips/Secrets — Ignore the taxi drivers outside the hotel because they are too expensive
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

We stayed at the century park hotel at the beginning and the end of our honeymoon in Thailand so we had the opportunity to stay both in a deluxe room and a superior room. Both rooms were specious though the superior room offers a bigger bathroom.

The service at the hotel was friendly and helpful at all times. As we had an early flight to catch, we notified the hotel staff we would be checking out very early and won’t have time to eat breakfast. When we checked out on the morning of our flight a “breakfast box” was waiting for us with a light packed breakfast for the both of us.

Even though the hotel is not located at the Sukhumvit area (where most of Bangkok hotels are located) we found it’s location to be perfect: just a 5 minute walk from the nearest sky train station and a short walking distance from great shopping venues such as the Pantip Plaza, the MBK mall and the Central World shopping center. All the taxis we took from the hotel and that were ordered for us by the bell boy were fair and used the taxi meter (unlike most of the taxis you will stop in the streets of Bangkok).

We definitely intend to stay at this hotel in our next trip to Thailand and we recommend it to everyone who is going to spend a few days in Bangkok.

  • Liked — Location, Staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Century Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Park Hotel

Address: 9 Ratchaprarop Road | Pratunam-Victory Monument, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#114 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#129 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#166 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Century Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Park Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Century Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.