We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Bangkok to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171, Soi 11 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #436 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 1,019 Reviews
Auckland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location, good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I spend a few nights here as it is centrally located for our purposes. Rooms are clean, breakfast has got a good selection though we were quite tired of the same selections by the end of our stay.

Hotel is very near to the Nana BTS skytrain station, and Terminal 21 shopping mall.

Staff are friendly, especially the concierge staff. If you are looking for limousine transport you can always look for Mr T at the limousine front desk at the entrance. Very nice and friendly.

We stayed in the Tower Wing which is the newer, better and quieter part of the hotel.

Big SURPRISE - we were charged for a box of condoms ! ALWAYS check your bills carefully !

Room Tip: Go for the Tower Wing rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    363
    315
    129
    101
See reviews for
165
237
144
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked and requested for a double bed non smoking superior room in the Tower Wing. When I arrived, the counter staff told me that double bed for non smoking room was not available. There was no one checking in at that time but me. And yet, it took them half an hour to find an alternative room. The junior staff who attended to me, referred to his senior for help. Finally they said there was no double bed non smoking room even if they upgrade me to deluxe floor. So no choice, I have to settle down for a smoking room!

Added to my frustration, the housekeeper was still tidying the room when I arrived. I was very pissed off, and called the receptionist. She told me that their system showed that the room was already clean, it was the housekeeper's fault that she did not provide accurate status of cleaning. I could not do anything but wait for her to finish cleaning the room.

Though the price is cheap, S$75 per night for superior room (no b/f), the check-in service is terrible. My friends also had similar experience in getting a room not of what they booked. The only plus point is that the superior room's decor is modernly furnished and spacious, bathroom is clean.

Room Tip: Superior and deluxe rooms in Tower wing are of the same size. The difference are deluxe room has ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Satisfied with the room given to us. Buffet breakfast is good with so many food to choose from. Hotel location is a 5 minute walk to Skytrain and also walking distance to Terminal 21 shopping mall.What i do not like are the noisy thing outside our room at night coming from other guests. They will arrive very late at night and you can hear loud voices and some children crying, very disturbing to other guests who were already sleeping. If you are really not that sensitive to surroundings, you might as well stay here. But there are some hotels around the area which you might want to consider.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here during a business trip. While not a luxurious hotel, this is a decent business hotel, located in the heart of the city. The Skytrain is easily accessible.
Rooms are modern and well furnished. The hotel has a spacious lobby area and a mid size pool. They even have a open air area where there some very eclectically designed furniture, along with some exotic birds kept in cages.
The breakfast buffet is average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good enough rate booking hotel online night before.

When we arrived they only had beds on smoking floor, didn't smell of smoke though.

Room was fine, noisy neighbors up late drinking in their room, front desk had no problem moving us to a new room.

Close to skytrain on sukhumvit soi 11, easy to get around bangkok.


Apparently the rooms that were renovated in the tower are nicer.

Room Tip: Higher rooms mean less noise both from street and from monsoon rain hitting roof on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My stay at the Ambassador was extremely disappointing, the rooms were rundown, stains on the carpet and I even had bugs all over my sink. I was with some colleagues from work; they also had the same issues in their room. The overall condition of the hotel was very poor and poorly maintained. There are a lot better hotels in Bangkok for the same amount of money or even less. Stay away!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for one night only. When we payed for the room they gave us a small discount without us asking, which was nice. They also included a breakfast which isn't part of the standard deal.
They did not offer us WiFi access for free.
We did not use any facilities other than the room and breakfast.
Breakfast was average.

Two things bothered me. First, they did not have an extra key to our room which forces me to wake up to open the door for my friend. The second and most important thing was the shower. My height is 1.84 meters, and the shower head reaches my chest. That was a very unpleasant experience. The water flow is also very weak, and as I was showering some weird flying bugs were flying about around me.. Felt very unclean.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Bangkok

Address: 171, Soi 11 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#201 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador is perfectly situated in the heart of dynamic Bangkok on Sukhumvit Soi 11, offering a wealth of shopping venues, popular bars and upscale restaurants. The hotel provides guests with convenient transportation, a five minute walk from the Sky Train, ten minutes from subway line, and Bangkok's International Suvarnabhumi Airport is only 30 minutes away.All 760 guest rooms and suites in both Main and Tower Wings were recently renovated offering a kaleidoscope of choices to suit all lifestyles and senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Ambassador Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.