We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Rooms!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of President Solitaire Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added President Solitaire Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
President Solitaire Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 / 23 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Huge Rooms!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Following points are applicable for the hotel:
Huge rooms
Terrific Location on Soi 11
Terrific price for the sort of rooms you get
Free WiFi and breakfast included.
Nice City view.
Jacuzzi in Platinum suites.

Altogether speaking one cannot get so much at the price they charge.
Only call for worry is that the Hotel looks a bit let down in terms of cleanliness and maintenance.
But 700 sqft rooms with Jacuzzi bathtub at 2000 bhatts is unbelievable.

Room Tip: book platinum suites and you will never complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass H, Manager at President Solitaire Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Debashis2013,

Thank you for taking your time to write a wonderful review for President Solitaire. We are so glad you have chosen us for your accommodation to your visit to Bangkok. You have mentioned all the best things that we do offer but more importantly you have addressed some concerns and we here at President Solitaire would like nothing more than to exceed the expectations of our guests.

We are aware of the status of some of the areas of the property and we are currently on the works to enhance the property. We aim to make each and every guest feel like home when ever they stay with us.

And we hope that we can welcome you back home in your next visit to Bangkok soon?

Thank you so much. And have a great day!

Best Regards,
Mike Herbosa
eMarketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    260
    133
    62
    41
See reviews for
99
275
163
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel has a very good location, being away as well as being not at all far from the excitement of Sui 11 which is one of the happening places in Sukumvit. The Solitaire Suit we stayed in was very good value for money and the the amenities were more than sufficient.
The breakfast spread was good enough and the Indian preparations on the menu were well prepared.
Did not feel the need to use their restaurant as Sui 11 has a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass H, Manager at President Solitaire Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sunilminocha,

Thank you for choosing President Solitaire Hotel & Spa for you accommodation with you recent visit to Bangkok! We are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Sukhumvit Soi 11 is really an experience for any traveler to Bangkok, and we are glad that we had the opportunity to make it even better.

Awaiting your next visit and we hope that we can welcome you with the same set of standards as your last visit, and even more.

Have a wonderful day!

Best Regards,
Mike Herbosa
eMarketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well, where to start. We booked the Penthouse One bedroom suite believing that the quality of the room would be great considering the hotel was 5 star. I had read mixed reviews about this hotel and chose to ignore the bad ones. Big mistake. The hotel is definitely not 5 star. The lobby is beautiful but that's where it ends. The hotel is in need of a major overhaul. The timber trim on our room door was falling off, the water in the shower was uncontrollable and would change from ambient to boiling hot and take ages to return to normal, marble flooring tiles were badly chipped and loose to the point you would feel some moving as you walked across the room. The balcony shade blind was broken and material ripped - we were too scared to adjust incase the thing fell on us. To top things off, we awoke the first morning to find 3 cockroaches in our bathroom - 14th floor!! - which my husband had to kill. We left the cockroaches in the bathroom and I went down to the lobby to see the Manager. He was not available so I spoke to the 2IC and complained. She didn't seem too concerned and said that she would have the room cleaned. We left the hotel and returned approx. 4 hours later to find that the room had not been cleaned and the cockroaches were still in the bathroom. Complaining again and waiting a further 2hrs with no response from housekeeping, we cleaned the cockroaches ourselves. We also found small bugs in the kitchen sink which looked like ants but we couldn't be sure. We asked the hotel to provide insect spray, which they never did. We were not offered a discount or any other compensation. At approx. 5000baht per night - you can get a truly 5 star hotel elsewhere.
Breakfast - Very, very limited selection and if you don't get there well before closing you will miss out all together as I did not see any replenishment going on during breakfast. Only good thing on the menu was the omelette which was cooked per order. Don't bother including breakfast in your booking as you can get a much better option at any of the restaurants in Soi 11.
Area - The only good thing about this hotel is the address. It is at the end of Soi 11 making it great to access all the good restaurants and bars in the area.
The Concierge were great and very friendly.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room on level 14. Good if you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass H, Manager at President Solitaire Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Liz M,

Thank you for choosing President Solitaire for your recent visit to Bangkok. We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. The incidents that occurred are really alarming. Especially the pest problem and the speed and efficiency of resolving the problem. We assure that this is not up to par with President Solitaire's service standards. We are going to do measures to prevent these incidents to happen again. If there is a request, whether big or small we should be able to give it without any delay.

And we appreciate that you have highlighted the condition of the hotel rooms. We are indeed in the process of enhancing most of the features of the hotel. We assure you that we only want the best experience for our guests, and hearing and knowing one of our guests was not satisfied with their stay genuinely hits us where it matters most.

We appreciate your comments and the time you took to write this review. This will not be taken lightly we can assure you of that.

Please do give us a chance to make your next visit to Bangkok. We hope you will have nothing but the best experience when we can welcome you back to President Solitaire.

Best Regards,
Mike Herbosa
eMarketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Let me get this out of the way first I stayed here with some friends and we took out 3 rooms as such we got a good deal so the price we paid was alot less than the list price.
That being said I thought the location and facilities of the hotel were fine for our needs such as the wifi.

Admittedly the hotel does need a bit of modernising but if you want to be in Sukhumvit you would be hard pressed to find a better location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass H, Manager at President Solitaire Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear arj7,

Thank you for choosing President Solitaire for your recent visit to Bangkok! We would like to express our gratitude for your positive feedback. We are more than pleased to hear that your experience with us is more than satisfactory.

The satisfaction of our guests is of course our number one priority. We appreciate that you have brought up that modernizing is needed in some aspects of the Hotel, and rest assured we are on the track to begin enhancements soon.

We really appreciate the time you took in writing about us, and we hope that we could welcome you back to your "home" here in Bangkok soon!

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Mike Herbosa
eMarketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located at sukhumvit soi 11, the hotel is a decent place to stay with proximities to some of the good shopping areas as well as good nite life. The hotel is decent with large but slightly outdated rooms. We stayed at the executive suite. Breakfast is just average with very limited options. Staff was generally ok but limited understanding of English which became a problem sometimes. All in all good location with decent amenities.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass H, Manager at President Solitaire Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Vishal_2671,

Thank you for choosing President Solitaire in your recent visit to Bangkok! We are pleased to hear that you had a good time during your stay with us. We do agree Sukhumvit Soi 11 is a wonderful place to stay, all the wide varieties of shopping, cuisines and nightlife could keep everyone entertained.

We do appreciate your mentioning of the outdated rooms. We here at President Solitaire do care about what our guests think and yes the plans for enhancement through out the property is on process. We regard the satisfaction of our guests as our top priority. We do apologize if there was some difficulty with communicating with our staff. Communication in every aspect is the key to understanding our guests. We do have scheduled training courses that our staff takes to improve communication in English.

Again we appreciate the time you spent in writing your review, and we are hoping that we can welcome you back in your future visit to Bangkok! Have a wonderful day!

Kind Regards,
Mike Herbosa
eMarketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was ok for the price. The rooms large, but only just clean enough. Friendly, helpful staff and ok food. The location is excellent, being close to all the action.
We had to ask for a kettle as there wasn't one in the room. The shower is over the spa so a bit dangerous to begin and out. I wouldn't recommend for any one that is elderly etc.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass H, Manager at President Solitaire Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Cyberchick,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we do appreciate that you have chosen President Solitaire for your recent visit to Bangkok. All comments and reviews are important to us, there is nothing that matters most to us than the satisfaction of our guests.

We are pleased that you had a great stay with us, but regarding the the shower set up, we truly are sorry that the position of the shower was not suitable for you, we do understand that it would be hard and dangerous to get in and out of the bathtub. The safety of our guests is paramount to our standards, we would not want anything to happen, and we are glad that no incident regarding this happened during your stay. As for the kettle issue, we do apologize if the kettle was not provided before hand, and we will make sure that it would be provided in all the rooms before the guests come in.

We hope that you could give us another try when you return to Bangkok so we can welcome you with a smile. Have a pleasant day!

Kind Regards,
Mike Herbosa
eMarketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

You can usually pick up a good deal for this place on Asia Rooms and other booking sites (under $100/night). It's has a fairly good location near Sukumvit - close to lots of things to do. Nice pool, very clear, spacious and luxurious rooms with spa, friendly staff and really tasty breakfasts. It's a nice luxurious end to a SE Asia trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to President Solitaire Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Solitaire Hotel & Spa

Address: 75 / 23 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#80 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#182 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — President Solitaire Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
President Solitaire Hotel & Spa is located at Sukhumvit Soi 11, just 3 minutes from BTS Skytrain Nana station by the hotel Shuttle Tuk Tuk service. Near business area, Embassy, hospital and shopping area such as Robinson Department Store, Gaysorn Plaza, Central World, Siam Center and MBK shopping center. 134 Spacious and luxurious suites with full room amenities, full facilities and services and rejuvenate and enjoy yourself with Kannikar Spa and a swimming pool with underwater music. Songkran which is celebrated in Thailand from 13th - 15th April is the traditional New Year 's Day. The most obvious celebration of Songkran is the throwing of water upon others. Come and celebrate this season by staying with us as we offer something special to our guests who book the Special Promotion up to 30% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your President Solitaire Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Solitaire Hotel Bangkok
President Solitaire Hotel And Spa
President Solitaire Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage President Solitaire Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.