We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
River View Upgrade
Ranked #10 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This large hotel is a quiet retreat from the fast pace of Bangkok. Our room was large, very clean with a large bathroom and free WiFi. The views of the river were great! Each day the housekeeping staff left us an assortment of tropical fruit along with a guide so we'd know what we were eating. Staff was friendly, greeted us by name and provided us with useful information. Breakfast each morning was a wonderful array of food from around the world. The hotel has its own complimentary boat which will take you to the River and Asiatique Shopping Centers.
Don't miss going for a foot massage - there are four or five foot spas on the street going towards
the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,183
    747
    174
    66
    35
See reviews for
776
2,027
218
498
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our first stay in a Shangri-La hotel was an extraordinary experience, thanks to the excellent staff and the location in Bangkok. From greeting me by name whenever I entered or left the hotel, to booking cars for me and offering me assistance to carry my shopping bags whenever I come back from the malls, the front staff really made me feel like a king. The hotel is next to the Public Pier to catch a boat to go to almost all the tourist destinations and sky train station to get to all the major malls in the city. They even have complimentarty shuttle to go to the Malls during the day time and shuttle boat to go to a newly devloped night market- Asiatique. Most convenient. My room was spotless and had a huge window with an inspiring view of the river. Highlight of my stay was the complimentart WiFi service all over the hotel, which has best speed of the all the hotels I have been to, in the room,lobby or by the pool. Sodont forget to carry all your WiFi enabled gadgets you have to this hotel. Breakfast buffet is the biggest and the most magnificient I have ever experienced.

The only thing I was less than satisfied with was the chinese restaurant. The food options were a bit limited, however this is just a temoporay arrangement as the original restaurant is undergoing facelift. Other wise rest of the hotel is at the epitome of perfection and I congratulate the managment of the team to run a truly remarkable show and who-so-ever is the owner should be extremely proud of such a professional team.

Room Tip: riverview or balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Wow! An amazing hotel in a terrific riverside location.

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights on a recent 'girls trip away'. We had booked a Horizon Club room and were delighted to be upgraded to a 'junior suite' on arrival, and to also receive a complimentray extended checkout time of 3pm as our flight was not until early evening. (BTW - the Prime Minister of india - Dr Singh - stayed in the suite right next door to us on the 22nd floor during our stay. If it's good enough for a Prime Minister...)

Club lounge amenities were terrific - top notch canapes during 'happy hour' and a better-than-expected drinks list. The quality and range of breakfast offerings at the Next2 riverside restaurant was excellent, and service was faultless throughout the establishment. We used the gym a fair bit and its probably the best hotel gymnasium we've frequented - very clean and brand new equipment.

All in all, this is a wonderful hotel and it's hard to imagine that it's actually 30 years old as it looks very contempory, while still maintaining a certain 'grandness'. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Club Rooms are good value and are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Location: not very far from major shopping malls like Platinum Wholesale, Central or MBK. Cab fare of 100baht can bring you to shopping area easily. Nearby plenty of massage shops, tailors, Centrepoint Shopping Centre.

Service: great service of hotel staff. Able to speak good English and check-in is fast and efficient.

Room: 16th floor view is great, overseeing river and city. Very clean room. Bathroom is big and has separate shower room and bathtub. Bathtub is great as it is big, wide and deep. Very good house keeping service. Sofa by the window is a great place to relax. King size bed is very cosy. Room Aircon is great. Was served with different types of tropical fruits daily.

A good choice made!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is by far the best we have ever stayed in the world. Stayed here for three nights in the beginjng of this month with my wife and from arrival to departure it was just immaculate. Smiling guest relation girls met us at the porch, tool us swiftly to the front desk to checkin where we were upgraded to a balcony room and than escorted to the room. All over in 10 minutes. View from the room is gorgeous,overlooking a very busy and beautiful river with boats and barges of all shapes and sizes going up and doen , day and night. Breakfast at next2 is out of the world with never seen before choices and service was prompt and efficient. We tried salathip the rahi restaurant and food was very nice, although service can be better. Concierge was very helpful to organise our tour to grand palace and temples.
Overall, hotel staff specially in the lobby and the one who made our room every day were excellent and we will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone including our Queen.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed at many Shangri-La Hotels. This one is up there with the rest. It's clean, the service is great and the rooms are beautiful. Its wonderful coming back to such a well kept place after exploring the city all day.

I needed a ring side ticket to a local match last minute so I could sit next to my friends and the hotel was able to source one for me. Overall, this hotel is 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location is fantastic, specially if you can get a River view. We celebrated our anniversary and the Manager send a bottle of wine, we had fresh fruit every day; I guess this is for any room. Every evening they left a surprise like a heart made with petals of roses, chocolate gift with a big heart, flower arrangement, a little heart made from flowers that I can use as a necklace or a charm in my purse, etc. They made our stay unforgettable. The hotel has its own long-tail boat which takes you to the close hotels along the Chao Phraya River. If you have dinner at the terrace you will enjoy the boats, an excellent International Buffet or you can order from the menu. The service is impeccable. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The best rooms have River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.