We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #13 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at Horizon Club room with a river view and were blown away by everything which came across thereafter. Horizon Club staff are just mind blowing with great service attitude. Breakfast buffet is small in the lounge but very personal and good enough for a healthy lifestyle. Happy hours really made us happy with the range of snacks and drinks served, best we have experienced till date. Health club seems to be recently refurbished and has state of the art equipments. Next2 dinner buffet was a Huge Huge Huge spread of high quality items. My favorite dessert and fruits section.
They have free boat shuttle to go to the night market, which is very convenient.

15/10 for this huge but top class hotel. 5 extra marks for Horizon Club.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,845
    655
    157
    63
    32
See reviews for
674
1816
187
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you want to stay at 5 star hotel in Bangkok - and want a real treat! Stay in the Krungchep Wing in the Shangri-La - You will not be disappointed! The complimentary items which are part of the package for staying in the Krungchep Wing are worth the additional cost. From the moment you arrive, you are made to think that you are something special. The lobby expresses the opulence that you are about to encounter - From the immaculately attired receptionist to your personal butler, they are there to make your stay memorable. The rooms have a balcony overlooking the river and Bangkok City, a minibar stocked with an array of drinks, all of the non-alcoholic drinks are free as is the Tea & coffee. The bathroom has a full bath, walk in shower, wash basin, bidet & toilet all stocked with toiletries that you may require (All complimentary) The bed is a super king and extremely comfortable. My only criticism is there isn't enough drawer space for two people. Two towelling robes hang in the cupboard with matching slippers. A free safe can also be found here. The free hi-speed internet is readily available in your room, lobby and riverside lounge. Complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea with sandwiches, cakes etc plus evening cocktails with canopies are served in the Riverside lounge. Again the service is impeccable. If you want to enjoy the complimentary non-alcoholic drinks outside you can do so by the exclusive Krungchep Wing pool. The Shangri-La main pool is available to all guests (This is the place to catch those sun rays to build up that tan you so deserve) Unfortunately the Krungchep Wing pool is predominately shaded in parts throughout the day - so one has to move position to keep in the sun, canopies adorn each set of sun beds if you want to stay in the shade. The many concierges are happy to deal with any problems or will happily arrange trips etc. Just outside the main lobby only a few metres away is the sky train, easy to use and extremely cheap as is all transport in Bangkok.

Room Tip: All the Krungchep Wing rooms have a balcony overlooking the river & Bangkok City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Krungtep Wing. The rooms are plush and ornate and comes with its own butler. On arrival we were greeted by garlands of jasmine and cool lemongrass drink. We had daily complimentary afternoon tea in generous portions and drinks by the pool. Breakfast buffet is also simple but adequate. Krungtep Wing is basically a couple retreat.

As we are guests at Krungtep Wing, we could have our breakfast and the use of the facilities at the other wing, which is more "happening". The buffet spread for breakfast is ample and has lots of variety from Thai, American, Japanese, Chinese. You can dine "alfresco" and enjoy the Chao Phraya river. There is a free bus shuttle to various malls in the city. If you wish to avoid the traffic jams which the city is so infamous for, there is the sky train station, which makes traveling to the city very convenient.

Overall, this Shangrila kept to its impeccable standards. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schilde
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in the Krungtep wing. The rooms are somewhat outdated but still in line with the traditional style. The pool in the Krungtep wing is basic for children but nice for couples.
Afternoon tea, and drinks at the pool during the day are complimentary.
The other wing has however a beautifull pool!!!

Location is good at the river (somewhat smelly sometimes) and a lot of poverty when you exit the hotel.
The premisses itsself, the service (really outstanding) and the setup is one of the best hotels I have ever seen in this price range. Best value for money ever!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Shangri-la Hotel Bangkok is located near to Chao Phraya river. It is quite strategically located in the city and is near to Sky Train Station - Saphan Taksin (5 mins walking distance) from hotel lobby.

The lobby of the hotel is nicely decor and the staffs are very friendly & helpful. The room is nice, clean and very classy design. I always pay attention on the bed and pillow as these are my best companion when I sleep. The pillow and bed is very comfy and I really like the softness of the pillow.

The bathroom has a nice bath tub and a shower area with a rain shower head. The mable bathroom make the bathroom looks very classy.

Next2 cafe is my daily breakfast place. I would rate 5/5 for this restaurant because of their variety choices of food. Their salad bar is great with lot of fresh vege and fruits. I personally like the pineapples and watermelon! It is so juicy and sweet!

Overall, if compare value to the quality of this hotel, I would give 5/5 and bravo to the Shangri-la Hotel Bangkok's employees to continue serve the best to their guests!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

7 star because of the location and the staff. They even have a little corner for Indian food managed by an Indian cook whose food is better than many famous indian restaurants. People are so polite and humble and always ready to go the extra mile to make my stay hassle free. By the virtue of being in the sales side of a software company business, I have travelled a lot (on the company expense ;)) and I must say this city resort is the perfect place to stay to mix business and pleasure. Impeccable service, beautiful resort hotel !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My family and I afforded to experience the leisure of Shangri-la hotel where we stayed for 2 nights. It was an unforgettable bonding because of the scenic views around the hotel. We love the food they offer and we were treated with very much respect. The hotel room gave us the "home feeling". We enjoyed every moment even while eating, talking, resting. The staff are approachable and like what others testify, your stay in the hotel will worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.