We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel in so many ways.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel in so many ways.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is our second visit and just as impressed this time as well. Attention to detail is amazing, the staff are superb, the restaurants are excellent, I would struggle to find a fault with this property. If only all hotels could be as good!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,847
    656
    157
    63
    32
See reviews for
674
1817
187
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

One of the most interesting hotel I've been in! It's like living in a museum but in a good way!

Every little detail is so carefully crafted and the location is perfect! Right next to the river and the sky Train you can go any where easily!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

To our surprise this hotel was an overall disappointing experience. We asked at check-in if we could check-out late since our flight was late. They told us it wasnt possible becuase they had a large group arriving. However i checked on their webpage and they did have availability. Then we went to the concierge to ask for restaurant advice and the gentleman took out two business cards and simply walked away and never returned. Luckily the duty manager saved the day by walking by and seeing the look of disbelief on our faces. What kind of 5star hotel does this? It was simply chatoic. Breakfast was a shame. Long line when there were plenty of available tables. The bread and croissant were stale. The eggs benedict were served on plates that were not dried properly hence the waterand eggs mixed. Simply gross. I think the hotel does not have the capacity of keeping a five star hotel service with the amount of guests they have. Seeing waiters running around and bumping into you.... It was just disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've been coming to this hotel for a few years now as I love the pool facilities option for some rest and relaxation whilst seeing the sights. I'm on my last day so had planned on staying by the pool but it has been booked out all day for a private function. I understand its business but not informing the paying guests is very poor service as i could then have made alternative arrangements as there are countless other river hotels with pools. Somewhere else next time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

its good for travel who wanna enjoy bangkok.. i really comfort and good service, they include pick up us from airport, the hotel close by everywhere in bangkok u wanna go, very good food .. beautiful view when u breakfast beside river n u can see all around there

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel.
Great view from our balcony room towards the river.
Pool area is fantastic.
Only room for improvement is that if someone asks for a non smoking room it means they prefer not to smell smoke every time they are out side their room.
Level 16 is one of those floors.
Overall great expensive hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed four nights in Februrary in the Shangri-La Wing Executive Balcony room with club benefits. For the money, it was a great deal. Ask for this room which was luxe and beautiful and you get a corner view of the river with the constant, ever changing traffic so fascinating to watch. Night time is a kaleidoscope of color. This is a very good hotel with great service, restaurants and a beautiful pool right on the river. We've stayed at the Oriental and Sheraton Royal Orchid on the river and this is by far the best value. Of course nowhere possibly in the world tops the Oriental's legendary service, but this hotel certainly ranks right up there.

Room Tip: Get the Executive Balcony river view room and ask to add club benefits for a small extra charge dail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.