We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, first class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Silom)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fantastic Deal
Ranked #18 of 806 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Second visit, first class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Love the Shangri-La Bangkok. It's perfectly situated by the river, and since I was last there in 2000, it has only got better. The Next2 Bar by the river is a great place as the sun is going down, and for night drinks, and the food at the Cafe is superb. Thailand is the land of smiles, but service is on Thai time and a drinks order at the bar can take a while to get to you...

One of the best buffets going around. Stayed in a "normal" room which has a great bed (super king) and great bathroom.

The hotel has a river boat that will take you down to a local mall (RiverCity - not that nice) and it's a good short ride on the Chao Praya .

Sirocco and the Skybar is a short walk away (3 mins) and is well worth going to for a drink with a view.

The sky train is connected through a long internal walk, and that can get you around the city quickly.

Was there for a business conference with over 300 delegates, and it catered for us very well. All had a good time!

Room Tip: Riverside is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam_sydney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We only popped in for lunch one afternoon and the place looked great. I would look to stay here next time I come to Bangkok. The food we ordered was really nice and I thought it was more than value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin_2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Never before in all my world travels have I expereinced exceptional service like we had in this hotel. I cannot praise the staff enough for their kindness & courtesy. All services like pools, entertainment and food was well above average

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jb144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great hotel, great service, and great location! Stay at Club level for drinks and food all day, and the best Happy Hour drinks and food. Staff is what makes this hotel so wonderful. Room are all lovely, many with River View.

Room Tip: River View on Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After several visits, we have settled on the Shangri-La as the best hotel for us in Bangkok. For anyone travelling within the city, its location is unchallenged: across the road from the Skytrain and river boat services (access from both hotel wings using the third floor). For a city-centre hotel, the Shangri-La has that essential quality of spaciousness, both inside the comfortable lobby area, and externally alongside the Chao Phraya river and around the pool. The bedroom and bathroom were equally comfortable (river view advised), and the service excellent in every possible way, including in-room check-in. Altogether a 5-star standard-setter.

Room Tip: we had a river-view room fairly high (8th floor), not near the elevators (quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in the Krungthep wing to celebrate our honeymoon and my birthday and from the second that we walked in the door the staff was incredibly friendly and nice. There was breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks, which were great. The staff really went out of their way to be helpful. The room was fantastic. The pool area was nice as well. The hotel is conveniently located on the subway line, so it is easy to get to other parts of the city without taking a taxi (traffic can make this incredibly slow). I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Shangri-La is truly a 5-star hotel under any definition. Traveling down the river to different locations is the best way to go in Bangkok - and it's easily accessible. The facility was truly elegant- from the marble to the orchids. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The poolside bar had wonderful food and drinks and gracious servers. In all of our years of travel, we would rate this one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and would highly recommend it for its beauty, location and quality of service.

Room Tip: Concierge service very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#6 of 806 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#16 of 806 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 4,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing