We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel choice in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #12 of 755 Hotels in Bangkok
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Superb hotel choice in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just returned from a few days in Bangkok and this time we stayed at the Shangri-La. This hotel is situated on the river and is very convenient for the Saphan Taksin Sky Train and the river ferries. These can both be accessed by walking through the hotel's annex. In addition the hotel runs their own shuttle boats to some places such as the new Asiatique and River City. Having stayed at other hotels in this area I would say that you definitely get more 'bang for your buck' at a hotel like this. The gym is equipped with excellent machines and the steam/sauna area is good but for single-sex usage only. The beds are extremely comfortable and you can select your pillow type if necessary. One of the best things about this hotel is the pool - it is large and has plenty of room for sunbeds and relaxing in the gardens. The staff continuously provide guests with iced water and in the afternoon they even bring round complimentary ice lollies made from real juices (we had one passion fruit and one mixed fruit which were tasty and refreshing). Other hotels have pools but they are rather poor in comparison - either in the shade or surrounded by bare concrete and with few sunbeds. The food is good too - breakfast provides everything one could possible want and the poolside snacks are substantial and do not compromise on quality. The staff are helpful and polite and make you feel as if they care that you have a good experience whilst a guest. We will most certainly stay here again when in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,970
    692
    161
    64
    34
See reviews for
735
1895
193
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on more than o e occasion and we are never disappointed,we love the view over the river especially at night.
The rooms are large and luxurious and have everything you need,including free wifi.
The staff are very helpful and attentive,and the breakfast is a real treat with so much choice it is unbelievable.
The setting for the breakfast sitting by the river is also amazing,it is a good. Notice when staying in Bangkok

Room Tip: River view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Starting with Beetle like Bugs coming out of the bed head onto me and the bed my 5 star holiday was suddenly going nowhere after being there only 3 hours. So bad was this infestation they had to change my room so we were up till 1am on the first day all tired.
The new room had a great view ., but the shower was a nightmare to turn on sometimes resulting in cold water or the second person not getting hot water then having to use the hand held shower over the bath. the desk lamps had a broken switch so could never use the desk at night and trying to find a light switch appropriate to a light .,well we gave up ....!!!!
The biggest annoyance to the rooms were.,
1. Cheap satchets of instant Nescafe coffee...!!!come on you're suppose to be 5 STAR ..!! The Banyan tree Bangkok has plunger pots and nice coffee so does Economy Class on Qantas..!!
2. The rooms were never made up till after 4pm ., usually around 4.30 pm so we never got to get our afternoon rest after being out all day.
Also never use their Restaurant Reservation Desk., not ONCE were our reservations recognised and the young man on the desk is an absolute twit..!!
The Salathip Restaurant is the worst Restaurant I've been to anywhere in the world..,there's better local restaurants ..
Could not get into the Horizon Club as it had been taken over by some Corporate Conference
The breakfast was very good as were the Staff so some reprieve.
The pool side service was the only 5 star attraction we found .
The Sunday Tea Dance Buffet was superb and a delight.
At best this is a 3 Star Corporate Conference Centre. So if you're not in a conference at the Shangri-La then is no other reason to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I last stayed at this hotel 10 years ago. We loved it then and had booked a 3 night stay after a tour of Rajastan for a bit of pampering before we continued our journey to Myanmar. Following a Poor Shangri La experience in New Delhi, we arrived in Bangkok with some trepidation. No need. The hotel car was waiting at the airport to whisk us to the hotel. As we arrived, a charming customer relations representative took us straight to our room to check in. The room was excellent and things just remained at that level throughout the 3 day stay. Service was absolutely first class, food was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. On our last day my wife chatted to Marlon Hirsh, the general manager who was in the restaurant area at breakfast. She mentioned that we were moving on to Yangon where we were staying at the Traders Hotel. When we arrived in Yangon, the hotel greeted us with a bottle of wine and a cake to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Thank you, Mr Hirsh, that truly is outstanding service. This is our favourite hotel and looks likely to remain so.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our stay in Bangkok was a short mini vacation to enjoy some sightseeing and shopping. We booked The Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok after reading the reviews and the hotel is absolutely breathtaking. Hidden inside the bustling area of the city, within walking distance of the small shops and day spas, it was exactly what we were looking for. It is located along the river and from our executive suite room 936, it was a was a fabulous view. Our package included access to the Horizon Club (where breakfast, all day drinks, evening canapes were served and a delightful private area to just relax) and daily buffet breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. Our room was spacious, with separate living area and full bedroom with king size bed. There were luxurious L'Occitane toiletries provided. Customer service was impeccable as the hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. There is also a complimentary boat ride to the River City Walk Mall and a night market. The buffet was plentiful, although there was no authentic Thai food served, but American, Chinese and Japanese buffet items, the usual fare served at buffets. The hotel gym was being renovated but the hotel provided an adequate substitute facility in the adjacent wing. Beware of vendors on the street who try to sell you a tour or two. Check out the tours available at the hotel and do your research first. Tours booked at the hotel are a little more pricey, but will be reliable. Absolutely do not book a tour with "Mam Tours." We did and it was the most awful tour we have ever taken. No decent tour guide explaining anything, basically you are on your own, tour van was late picking us up from hotel, dirty and severely cramped for passengers and the temples we saw and the elephants we didn't see were disappointing. It was a total waste of money. Also, I found transportation provided by the hotel was quite pricey at 2700BHT; we took a metered regualar taxi from the airport and with tolls amounted 4-450 with tip and to the airport amounted to 500 with tip. Taxi vans are a little more at 600. Taxis taking you around the city may try to coerce you into trying a tour or 2; the drivers have sponsors to take you to their shop or travel agency; we experienced this while we were there. The driver was actually nice though we agreed and actually the souvenir place was very reasonable. We would definitely return to The Shangri-La when in Bangkok again.

Room Tip: Executive suite room 936 was a corner room and had full access to the Horizon Club and it's amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Top experience, was here a few days for work. Very accommodating atmosphere, friendly team, clean rooms, breakfast with all tastes of food: from European to Asian. Restaurants are a dreaming experience at the riverside. The hotel provided also a relaxing oase in the vibrant Bangkok city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fabulous hotel with a great selection of hotels ranging from thai to european to italian ,great location on the river near the metro and shops - good value big rooms and fantastic breakfast, great service in all areas

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.