We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth upgrading to Horizon Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
King & Queen of Fruits
Ranked #11 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth upgrading to Horizon Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent hotel in a prime location on the river and near to an MTR station. We upgraded to the Horizon Club and benefited from the use of the excellent club facilities which include breakfast, non alcoholic drinks and snacks throughout the day and in the evening between 5.30 & 7.30 complimentary alcoholic drinks and appetisers (substantial). The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were of a high standard with free wifi. If you have a late check out they will help with extending your check out time if rooms are available or a courtesy room which can be booked so that you can shower and change for travel. All in all a first class hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,636
    877
    208
    79
    40
See reviews for
886
2,335
258
573
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I travelled here with my family (2 adult and 2 kids) at the start of our trip in Thailand. Booked directly with hotel and wanted to book a suite, but was offered a premier room (not really a suite, but with seperate living room, perfect when travelling with kids). Not a big deal that i didnt get a suite, but would recommend the hotell has a little more attentiom to the reservation process. Room was nice, but smelled sigarette smoke (not great for us not being smokers and travelling with young kids) i think this has been a former smoking room.
Great breakfast and fantastic italian restaurant (recommend the long cooked pork!) will book hotel again too try a suite (will update if i try on my way home at the end of feb), altough i might also try the Mandarin close by.

Great location!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Grand/beautiful decor & calm atmosphere. Extremely welcoming staff, they could not be naymore helpful. Had a great laugh with Tong on the door who loves Thai boxing. Very convenient location: on the river and next to the tram system. Some street food nearby. Had a room overlooking the river, amazing view. The room itself was spacious and to a high standard.

We stayed in the Krungthep wing, which is to the left side of the building. I'm not sure whether the rooms were much different from the main hotel but the perks of fresh fruit in room/good breakfast/high tea/cocktails & canopes and access to a quieter pool were lovely. My partner loved the L'Occitane toiletries!

We did not eat at the hotel. I was a little sad at missing out on the all you could eat dim sum buffet.

I would love to come back to stay there again.

Room Tip: River view!! try to stay away from the bridge (it's a bit noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel stands beautifully on the river. We had a river view room on the 21st floor in the main hotel with excellent views. The hotel itself is very grand. It's modern and excellently furnished. As is the room. The bathroom was large. The staff are friendly and very professional. The actual location of the hotel is superb. It has its own ferry pier but is also just a very short walk away from both the public ferry and the bts sky train which is next to the public ferry therefore giving you ample modes of transport to get wherever you want to go. A short walk away will also take you to many good class bars and restaurants. There was only one very minor complaint and that was in relation to the shower which often stopped whilst using, had to be switched off & restarted again after a couple of minutes wait. However, even so, I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel. I have reviewed the Hotel restaurants separately.

Room Tip: High floored river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Staying in the Krungthep wing of this hotel and as first impressions go this hotel has just about everything. The people are just wonderful and the attention to detail is just fantastic. It is central to everything from the sky train to the lacal water taxis. Our room overlooks the river with its own balcony and has everything you could want in it including a tv chanel thats shows english football !!!!

Room Tip: pay the extra and book in the Krungthep wing as you get lots of added extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our fifth stay at the Kungthrep wing and again left delighted with our stay of five nights. The rooms are large, could probably do with a bit of a make over, however, this doesn't detract from the comfort and great views from the balcony. The service is gracious and professional, breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails are a joy. It is nice the KT wing has it own pool and the service from the gentlemen that work at the pool, is second to none. Met the charming Operations Manager Frank Motzkus who oversees the KT wing and he can be very proud of his team. Great stay and thank you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband decided to kick start the honeymoon with the executive suite at the Shangri-La in Bangkok- best decision ever!! The check in was smooth and I was welcomed with some flowers. In the room there were lovely chocolates from the boutique downstairs which a nice touch! The view from the room was good but the suite was complete luxury! The breakfast was the highlight of the hotel - lovely view and amazing variety. Since we stayed at the suite, we had free canapes and cocktails from 5-7 and this was fantastic! Tried all the cocktails on offer and loved the variety of food on offer.

We stayed over the chistrmas break so the hotel was busy and to get 2 sun longers near the pool was a bit annoying. We had to wait for atleast 30 minutes but decided to use the pool while waiting (although the water was quite cold!). The view from the pool was amazing and very nice in the peak of the day.

We used the free shuttle boat service and went to the night market which was interesting and also took the day trip along the river into the city's main tourist hotspots. The hotel is well located with street food on the main street which was a revelation. My husband also bought me a Thai massage voucher in the Hotel Spa, which although overpriced, was good service (but you can get many cheaper ones just outside).

The highlight of our stay was the dinner at their Thai restairant - Salathip. On the river table with no one around us, the duck was to die for and so were the cocktails. Good food and romantic location and a must if staying here.

On our last night we walked across the road to the Sky Bar at the Lebua tower to enjoy a drink and the views were fantastic! Small and Busy bar- but great views of the city.

All in all, the hotel provided us with a a great service (good staff, great turn down service, lovely l'occitane products, great room and poolside with amazing views and choice of restaurants). We were so sad to leave!!!

Room Tip: Must book in a suite or club lounge room- well worth the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.