We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Manchester couple
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Only stayed 1 day/night as a stop-over from cruise, but room lovely, food good in continental buffet dining room. Had to leave v early so didnt stay for breakfast. Would stay again at this hotel if came back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,868
    659
    158
    64
    32
See reviews for
680
1828
189
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have been to many 5 star hotels around the world but I must say i was pleasantly surprised at the level and quality of customer service at this hotel. We were greeted at the entrance and guided to the room by a smiling, pleasant lady without the need to check in at the reception. Buffet breakfast and dinners were exceptional quality and lunch on the hotel boat was second to none. (I probably ate excessively due to variety and quality of food available !). View of the river from the room was beautiful. Complimentary boat shuttle to the shopping malls throughout the day adds to the ease of your experience. Check out was ultra-smooth. In nutshell, I will not stay in another hotel if I am visiting Bangkok again !.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the river side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I first visited this hotel in my 20's and wondered if I'd ever get the chance to stay there. Well I have, and 25 years later it didn't disappoint in anyway.

We spent 3 heavenly nights in the Krungthep Wing, and can honestly say that that the experience was almost perfect. It would be churlish to mention the very minor niggles, because with hindsight, only someone who is utterly spoiled in life would raise an eyebrow.

The staff were charming, helpful and welcoming - it was like coming home. Our room was beautifully appointed and impeccably maintained, with a stunning view over the river. Food was excellent, especially the wonderful breakfasts and afternoon teas that we enjoyed every day.

The Shangri-La isn't the most modern or high-tech hotel on the the plant, but if you're looking for peace, relaxation, great service and a real home from home in an otherwise crazy city, look no further than the Shangri-La

Room Tip: All rooms in the Krungthep Wing have a balcony overlooking the river. Most rooms in the main wing d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

i love this place very friendly staff awsome view. lovely food... but i would not wanna stay there again just for the fact that either the rooms seem old to me or the design is meant to be this way. in the end its prefrences that differ from a person to another. id recommend it for older families. but not for younger crowds or couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A beautiful hotel located adjacent to the Chao Praya River. The rooms were tastefully and traditionally done up and has excellent view of the river. Enjoyed the boat ride to Asiatique which is a cool place to shop and eat , and is also along the river.
Shangrila has free boatrides every 30 mins to take you to RiverCity and Asiatique Mall. Excellent service by the staff who were extremely courteous and quick to respond.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms on the higher floors which has two sides open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just stayed four nights in the beautiful Krungthep Wing and once again Shangri-La exceeded our expectations. Our request for a high floor was honoured and check in was quick and hassle free. Reception staff will escort you to your room to explain the features and the rooms themselves are beautiful. We had the deluxe balcony room and I'm delighted to say that concerns from other reviewers about the proximity of the bridge proved unfounded in our case, as the traffic noise was barely noticeable. The rooms are elegantly decorated and although they are not the most contemporary, the Asian styling is refined and the decor has a touch of class. Welcome macaroons, fresh fruit and flowers were a real treat, and the amenities are plentiful and thoughtful, including the wonderful L'Occitane bathroom products. The butler service seems to vary significantly - in our case we were not introduced to a butler on arrival but they are on direct dial and service is prompt and friendly when required. The Riverside Lounge feels sophisticated and we were never made to wait for seating or service despite the hotel being busy. Breakfast is made to order with a buffet selection and was beautifully done, as was the afternoon tea which was better than many London hotels. The cocktails in the evening are delicious and plentiful and there was a decent wine selection including Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Sauvignon and an Australian brut sparkling wine, all of which were free flowing. The concierge staff were fantastic, with a detailed knowledge of restaurants and activities, as were housekeeping, who kept the room flawless and even brought a jar cookies each evening at turndown. The pool is not as beautifully landscaped as at other SL resorts given the premium of space, but it is still lovely, of a good size and with attentive, considerate staff. As you would expect at Shangri-La, all the staff go out of their way to make you feel genuinely welcome, and after the chaotic jolt of Bangkok, the hotel really is a sanctuary to return to. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The Krungthep Wing is worth the premium for the benefits and the higher floors have spectacular view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is such a perfect hotel with great services. We had the limo service from the airport. We were offered cold towels, water, and free wifi in the car. The driver even asked us what kind of music we want to listen to, while we're being transfered to the hotel. Once we get to the hotel, a lady greeted us and took us directly to the room. She handles the check in in the room. Excellent services!!!

Location is great. You can walk to Krungthep wing to get to the skytrain station. It's facing Chao Praya river.

Shangri-la breakfast is the best. This is why we chose this hotel actually. It's a great spread from Asian to western.

The room is very nice. Turndown service is excellent. I don't have to ask for extra towels as they are abundance.

I will stay here when I get back to Bangkok again.

Room Tip: Choose river view rooms. It's nice to look at the view during the night/day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.