We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Hotel in a Wonderful City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
River View Upgrade
Ranked #10 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Hotel in a Wonderful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Shangri La is a most comfortable and elegant modern hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River in Bangkok. The hotel comprises two separate buildings, the main hotel and the Krung Thep Executive Wing. There are several fine restaurants in the hotel, including the Sala Thip Thai Restaurant by the river and the high-quality Shan Palace for Chinese food. As might be expected, the service is excellent and the rooms are extremely comfortable, with all the facilities one might desire.

Room Tip: Make a booking in the Krung Thep Executive Wing for luxurious comfort and request a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,186
    748
    174
    66
    35
See reviews for
776
2,029
218
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inglewood, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I would recommend Shangri la Bangkok to anyone. It is in a great position, right on the river and near the sky train. The staff were so helpful. The view was gorgeous..Everybody was wonderful. I wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

So this was our first time to Bangkok, and we wanted to stay somewhere really special for our first few nights. We decided on the Kunthrep Wing, and stayed in a deluxe balcony sweet. As soon as we entered we were impressed, everything was so calming and having just flown 20hrs we needed it. We were checked in, and shortly after met Philip our own personal butler, who gave us a lovely refreshing drink.
The room itself was really nice, we unfortunately had 2 twin beds, and asked for a double but thats my only complaint, big bathroom, and lots of nice finishing touches. Breakfast was included, along with afternoon tea which was perfect after a day of exploring at the temples. We found ourselves on the balcony just watching the boats go by, and although you are nice and central location wise, everything was really quite calm!!

The price was quite alot, and although the rooms were nice I did think they were a little bit over priced however the little extras made it for me. The people who worked there couldnt do enough for you, and always had a big smile on their face - including the doorman who helped us at 3am when one was a little bit worse for wear after an evening on Kao San Road! Defo recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kunthrep Wing in a deluxe balcony suite - was a little bit pricey for what it is, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M.nxrgpb.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is about our tenth time here and sadly this time we were disappointed. It would appear there is new management that is not working as well. We always get the sky train to this hotel to avoid the Bangkok traffic. This brings you the Krungthep wing entrance where in the past we could check in and leave luggage. Not this time - we had to waste precious time going to the other end if the hotel to check in - annoying. Then when got to our room the electronic keys would not let us in.So back down the 17 floors to reception where we then had to wait for ages. Morning one - no hot water in the shower which apparently is only the overhead rose the wall rose works fine. A sign might have helped. All in all a less than satisfactory experience. There are other hotels on the river.

Room Tip: Have a large credit limit on your credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran T, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear drlocbi,

Thank you for your latest review of Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and more importantly, thank you for being one of our valuable returning guests. We are disappointed to hear that your latest stay with us was not up to our usual standards and we would like to ensure that the same incidents are not repeated again in the future. Would you kindly get in touch with me directly via email at kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com with your full name and the period of your stay so that I can further investigate and take appropriate action?

Best regards,
Kieran Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We started out a little rocky...I accidentally booked us an additional night and breakfast was not included as hotels.com had stated it was on their website. The hotel couldn't do anything about changing/fixing this since we had used an external site, I recommend going directly through the hotel as in the end, it actually ended up costing me more because hotels.com was not helpful in resolving this and was painfully slow on the phone. Alas, on to the Shangri-La, they tried to make up for it by upgrading us so our family of 2 young children had an extra room with TV. It was spacious and immaculate! The pool was quite nice, staff was phenomenal, albeit a little slow with the drinks out by the pier. The free boat to Asiatique was awesome, wish we had more time to go back and really check the place out. We used the concierge to book our outings, expensive but worth it to have a personal guide and our own vehicle. Oddi, our guide, saved us baht at the floating market and gave us tips on where to get laundry done and authentic Thai food reasonably nearby the hotel. Location was beautiful, I liked being a little off the beaten path, most places were only about 150 baht or so to get to. Overall, I wish we had stayed longer in Bangkok, we didn't think we would like it as much as we did with small children (4 yrs and 4 mths).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Shangri-La in Bangkok many times. I have stayed in the regular rooms, the Krunthep rooms and this last time in the Horizon Club rooms. I think the Horizon Club rooms are now my new favorites. The Horizon Club is on the 24th floor of the hotel's many building. The rooms are HUGE with a sitting area and nice views. When you arrive at the hotel, just let someone either at the front desk or at guest services know that you are check in at the club and you are immediately whisked away to that 24th floor where you are checked in, by passing any line at the front desk. While you wait in the lounge for the staff to process you, enjoy at wonderful tea with a delicious assortment of food or, should it be later, live it up and have a cocktail also with great food.
The hotel is right on the river so the view whether from inside or outside are always beautiful. I highly recommend leaving the club floor in favor of breakfast downstairs. Get a table outside and watch the world go by on the water--long boats, ferries, cargo boats and tourist boats. Look over the edge at the huge fish which the hotel feeds and who life right there. And enjoy one of the best breakfast buffets anywhere. If you don't see it, ask for just about any food you might want and they will bring it to you. Beware, their croissants are addictive.
The location of the Shangri-La is one of its great features: you can walk through the hotel to the BTS station where the train will take you to where ever you wish to go or walk just a few feet further and take a boat to many of Bangkok's best tourist sights. Both modes of transportation allow you to bypass traffic jams and congestions. And, when your day is done, you will come back to an oasis and peace and quiet where service is an art form.

Room Tip: Horizon club rooms are huge. If looking for quiet and no kids, the Krunthep wing is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Having worked for an airline for 26 years and having stayed at many excellent hotels throughout the world, I cannot recommend the Krungthep Wing at the Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok more highly. From the moment we arrived my wife and I were made to feel very welcome and special. Without exception every member of staff was charming, gracious, efficient and good-humoured.
The hotel is superbly located next to the ferry point on the river which is a hive of constant, fascinating activity. Breakfast and afternoon tea were wonderful. The very high standards of service, cleanliness, efficiency and friendliness were maintained throughout our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.