We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #13 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If a hotel was judged only on its lobby, the Shangri-La would score very highly indeed. It has one of the most amazing entrance areas, with a view over the hotel's gardens, pool and the scenic Chao Praya River. This is a good five-star hotel, with friendly staff and a helpful front desk. However, it does lack a certain "wow" factor which would place alongside some of the best luxury hotels in the city. It reminds me of the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel further down the river in that both hotels fail to capitalise on their spectacular settings and seem to be content to rely on big conferences to fill the hotel. For independent travellers there are better choices in Bangkok.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,844
    655
    157
    63
    32
See reviews for
673
1816
187
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wonderful hotel and excellent staff, I would give this hotel five stars except they did not do well screening the taxi's and I had a very bad experience with a taxi driver. Had to convince him to eventually take me back to the hotel.

Great views all around

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilpue, Chile
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I landed in Bangkok and only spent one night there. And knowing Bangkok a little bit, I wanted something clean, and safe. Shangri-La was appealing to me because of its location right in front of the river, and because of the mystics of the name (if you don't know about it, Google it!). Honestly, for this price, excellent service! I would come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

hotel is amazing and the staff is really helpful and friendly, breakfast buffet has a great variety of foods, rooms have an amazing view, and all the recreational areas are very comfortable, the pool overlooking the river is amazing and you can have a drink by the pool while you watch the sunset,hotel is very close to most touristic areas and staff is really great at helping you find your way around the city, I loved this hotel, i would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: take advantage of their concierge, they are very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Spent 4 nights before heading to Myanmar. The hotel is on the river next to the Mandarin Oriental and across from the Peninsula. Hotel has a free shuttle to River City and at night to Asiatique Night Market. it is a short walk to the BTS and on the river route for Chao Praya river express.
Best is to book a river view room with the Horizon Club breakfast and Happy Hour from 5:30-7:30.
This happy hour keeps on giving - all alcoholic beverages including VSOP Cognac and top shelf.

Hors d'ouevres are dinner itself including sushi- and desert and very thing in between

So good we may never get to Chinatown. Only negative is that the Spa and exercise facility is index renovation

Room Tip: Floors 23 - 26 are Horizon club. Better river view faces Peninsula
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed in the Krungthep Wing mid-November for 3 nights. Reason for stay – Holiday.

I was really looking forward to staying in this hotel as I’d got myself hyped up into thinking that my wife and I were going to have a wonderful experience, possibly I was a little naïve.

I came away with the impression that this hotel really caters for international business as several well-known global companies were in residence. So I didn’t feel in was much of a tourist hotel.

The check in was handled in our room and was dealt with efficiently by a very charming and capable young lady called Samantha whom we saw most mornings for breakfast. (Intriguingly the Thai staff on their badges have their names anglicised. Probably just shot myself in the foot over that and perhaps they do have anglicised names!)

Shortly after check-in we were introduced to our butler who we had to call back within 20 minutes of meeting her as we discovered in the drawers a previous occupant’s clothes. Most amusing. After the Butler removed the clothing that was the last we ever saw of her. I did try calling for her on two occasions but gave up and soldiered on. Let’s face it, it was a nice idea but unless you’re used to have people at your beck and call it’s not really a hardship to do things for yourself.

The room was of a good size with all the standard amenities that you’d expect of a hotel this size. However, the bathroom was looking a little dated and may be in line for refurbishment, but hey you don’t live in the bathroom, so no big deal.
The view from the room overlooking the river was fantastic and it was bliss just to sit and watch the river traffic go by. Best bit was sunset.

Catering.
Breakfast was ok and nothing to rave about. The order for your cooked breakfast was taken at the table and when cooked brought to you. One morning we ordered our breakfast, mine was brought out to me and by the time I’d finished, my wife’s hadn’t appeared. We did ask for it several times and it still never materialised. (She filled up on croissants)

Staying in the Krungthep wing entitles you to afternoon tea which was very pleasant and for the chocoholics it must be the closest thing to heaven. Later on there is a happy hour where it’s free drinks of all types and canapés. If you box clever you could fill up on the afternoon tea and the canapés and not need to fork out for dinner.
Moving onto dinner. We went to the Next 2 restaurant in the main part of the hotel where we had the buffet. This had pretty much all the cuisines from around the world on offer and was well cooked and presented. The sweets got my wife’s vote, couldn’t get her out of the place. It was a bit like one of those all you could eat establishments.

Rightly or wrongly I got the impression that the Krungthep Wing was once a separate establishment. The architecture of the Krungthep significantly differs from that of the main part of the hotel and as you walk along the internal route (I say this advisedly) between the main part and the Krungthep there is a multi-storey car park.

Leisure
The pool in the main Shangri-La part is superior to the Krungthep’s. The Krungthep’s is more of a pool where you just swim lengths, whereas the Shangri-La proper is more of a leisure pool. Though, unless you are staying in the Krungthep you can’t access its pool.
The gym is currently being refurbished and this is well advertised, so not an issue. The makeshift gym was acceptable.

Now, earlier on in this missive you have got the impression I may be a bit uncouth. Well, during happy hour I asked for a beer and was surprised to have been presented with a bottle of beer sans glass. Now, I don’t mind drinking from a bottle, but, I’d never expected that in a 5 star establishment. Just didn’t see that one coming!

Adding up all the experiences I was glad I stayed at this hotel as it was a different experience from where we always stay (Marriott as was now the Anantara)
Would I stay here again? No. I was disappointed by the cumulative negative experiences which in themselves were nothing. This hotel didn’t live up to my expectations as I felt it really isn’t for tourists. I didn’t feel comfortable. This is a little unfair on the staff who were unfailing helpful (Butler excepted). I just believe I can get a better experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great hotel. Fantastic location by the river. The best service I have experienced so far. Very convenient complimentary boat shuttle service up and down the river to experience the various river shopping and night markets.
Recommend the corner suites, preferably the 11th. floor. Fantastic vistas of the city.
Also recommend their Thai restaurant - Salathip. Fantastic food, great service and enjoyable classical Thai dances.
All together I would say that the hotel staff goes all out to ensure that your holiday there is an enjoyable experience.
Thank you Shangri-la. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Higher floors, preferably between the 10th to 12th floors and definitely river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.