We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This really is a five star hotel..and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Kent UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This really is a five star hotel..and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a hotel that says it is five star and it actually is!

We checked in last week and where offered an upgrade from our river view room to a river view room in the Kungthrep wing. In effect this is like another hotel joined to the Main hotel..however the rooms are just as nice ( electric curtains, etc)...and also have a balcony which the main hotel does not. You have your own concierge etc reception staff etc.
the added benefit of taking that wing is:
You get free breakfast.not a rubbish buffet but hot food to order and also a comprehensive buffet.in a smart dining room overlooking the garden
You have butler who will arrange stuff and also bring you a free cocktail between 5.30 and 7.30along with canapés
All Soft drinks are free around the Kungthrep pool and from your minibar
Free wi fi and use of internet free if you have no computer
Between 5.30and 7.30 all alcoholic drinks are free in the lounge with a selections of All you can eat canapés........and every afternoon a full afternoon tea with food is served free in the lounge.

You can of course still use the facilities of the main wing pool .bars etc..
Service is faultless.we would stay here without the Kungthrep upgrade ...but is is a good deal

Room Tip: Accept a room in the Kungthrep wing with all the benefits and accept a bit of a walk if you have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,193
    748
    173
    66
    35
See reviews for
776
2,032
217
501
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Shangri La Bangkok is as close to the perfect hotel as you are likely to find. You would need to be terminally grumpy to find fault here. We stayed for five days in the Krungthep wing of the hotel in October 2012. This wing has its own entrance lobby, swimming pool, restaurant and staff. Krungthep wing guests have the run of the entire Shangri La but enjoy complimentary high tea every afternoon and cocktails from 5.30 to 7.30. The staff are friendly and efficient and seem to be able to anticipate a guest's every whim. The staff in the rest of the Shangri La are equally charming and professional. This is a great hotel.

Room Tip: The Krungthep Wing of the Shangri La is a stand alone hotel in the grounds of the Shangri La. Includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Checked in for a long weekend in Bangkok and a city visit.

Booked a club lounge room to enjoy the facilities of the club and the evening happy hour.

First class service from check in till check out. The staff throughout is excellent, from the lounge, to the housekeeping as well as in the gym.

The rooms are fairly spaceous and offers good views of the river, with beds of superior quality.

The hotel location is smack in the middle of downtown, so some traffic should be expected to/ from the airport, however, and hour should do.

Relatively easy to get around from the hotel, either by taxi or river boat.

My compliments go out to the staff and management of the Shangri- La Bangkok for making my stay an excellent experience.

Would not hesitate to come and visit again!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic position on chao praya river. Staff cannot do enough for you, food exeptional, especially breakfast. Horizon club worth checking out for afternoon tea and evening cocktails. We check into this hotel every year around christmas time for four or five days and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Shangri-La from Oct 30 to Nov 3. We have stayed at the Shangri-La in Cairns and enjoyed it, so we thought it would be a good choice for our first trip to Bangkok. We are so happy we picked it!

Location: The hotel is located right beside the Chao Praya river which is perfect as most of our tourist trips took placed by boat. They also have a convenient and free shuttle to take you back and forth to the Asiatique open air night market and also River City. it is also right beside the sky train which made trips into the city to MBK or Siam Paragon a breeze. Excellent location for those that need to get around in the city.

We had a wonderful room on the 17th floor with a balcony overlooking the river. You MUST get a balcony over the river. We enjoyed our mornings and evenings watching all of the boats.

Restaurants: We loved the main restaurant on the ground floor. If you are able, do try the buffet for dinner at least once. It has a very diverse range of flavours ranging from western to Thai, Indian, Sushi and much more. They also do a wonderful Pad Thai a la carte. 

We also enjoyed a meal at the Salathip. Although the "show" wasn't very entertaining (the dancers came around once for 5 minutes), the food was quite tasty and authentic. Our hostess recommended some dishes that we would have never found back home and we were quite happy with the selection.

Staff: The staff were charming and attentive. The concierge was very helpful in assisting us with planning tours and mapping out directions. We made a few requests from our room and the staff were able to assist us right away. (we went to a different hotel after the Shangri-la and we really missed the way we had been treated at the Shangri-La.)

Pool: The pool was just the right size for a refreshing dip. The waiters and staff attending to the pool area laid out our towels and checked up regularly to make sure that we had everything we needed.

Extras: in our room everyday there was a selection of different fruits fromThailand. I loved loved loved this. I enjoyed sampling new and sometimes very strange looking fruit that I may not have ordered otherwise.

Chocolate bar: My only complaint (and it would be a small one) was the chocolate bar. The selection was nice; but we had one service problem. I had ordered a cappuccino to take away. Unfortunately the lids did not fit the cup; but they forgot to tell me that. They placed the lid on, so when I went to sip it, it went all over my shirt. The response was to just bring me a cloth and tell me the lid didn't fit. I wasn't happy; but this was only one small blip on our stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. I will absolutely stay there again if I have an opportunity to get back to Bangkok. We are only sorry that we couldn't try their other location in Chiang-Mai ( the prices were a little higher there with the short notice of our trip).

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking the river is a must. As high a floor as you can get.
See more room tips

Room Tip: You must book a room with a balcony overlooking the river. The higher floors will provide you with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and decided to upgrade to club rooms.
The quality of service is absolutely superb and the team that look after the club lounge are fantastic.
The cocktail and canapes hours made the upgrade well worth the additional cost.
All of the staff within the hotel are very pleasant with excellent english and I definately didn't feel like their friendliness was forced!
The hotel is on the river but is very accessible to all the malls and markets via the BTS which can be accessed from the rear of the hotel. it is totally safe and even at midnight doesn't feel at all threatening (unlike the London tube at this hour!!)
Chilling out be the pool is very relaxing and the iced water, chilled face towels, and little sample nibbles from the restaurants makes for a very pleasant time.
I can highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is of course one of the most famous hotels in Bangkok, situated adjacent to the Oriental and face the Chao Phraya River. We were greeting cordially by all members of staff at arrival, they actually have executive members posted at the entrance just to give you a smile and act upon any sign of need for assistance. We were upgraded free of charge since our room was not ready when we checked in and quickly moved up to the Horizon Executive Lounge on 24 fl, where we also could enjoy complementary drinks (what the hotel calls 'free drinks'), snacks and breakfast the following day, far away from the crowed at the main restaurant. And of course, the room was spacious, spotlessly clean, well equipped, and beautiful with a magnificent view of the river and the city. Dinner we had in the hotel's own floating restaurant, a small ship that took us up and down the river while we were enjoying the hugh buffet dinner table. There was nothing we could complain about, if you want a big hotel, with perfect service and luxury. But of course, somehow a bit soulless in all its splendor.

Room Tip: Use the executive lounge if you want to avoid the crowds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.