We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildest Hotel Ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Unico Express Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Unico Express Hotel to your Saves list
Unico Express Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Sukhumvit Soi 3 | Khlongtoey-Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #675 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
2.5 of 5 stars 361 Reviews
1 review
“Wildest Hotel Ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Greetings fellow reviewers. Stayed here just this March 2013 since it was a package deal from Metrodeal. Metrodeal is a site where you can get discounts for travel, food, shopping etc. Ofcourse the company doesn't arrange the travel for you. They do it with the help of a travel agency, IndoChina. So our last two (2) days were spent here. Here it goes. If your looking for a cheap hotel room, a room where you could actually live with insects, a room where you could lay with dozens and dozens of cockroaches IN your bed, walking for a place to walk among them and stay up all night just so your aware of where they're crawling to. This definitely the place you've been looking for. A jackpot for all those cockroach lovers. Man i bet you'd kill yourself to try and sleep here. Literally. Kill yourself. Disgusting. Food LITERALLY the same e-ve-ry day. Hey, but it must've been our fault to have trusted a super budgeted package. On the otherhand, ofcourse if a hotel receives a conplaint such as this. They'd transfer us to another room. Be my guest. Get transfered to a 'decomposing' bathroom. Believe this or not. Up to you. Share our wildest hotel stay yet. But FYI, bring a pesticide and valium.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    96
    102
    84
    69
See reviews for
25
42
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked a package that included air and hotel to Bangkok, Thailand. Our travel agent saw this hotel online and recommended it to us because " the pictures looked good, and it is usually very accurate". The actual hotel was 20 mins walk from the picture that was represented as the location of the hotel. The hotel was hard to locate because it was hidden in a very sketchy neighbourhood. It was very rundown, very smelly, had a dungeon-like atmosphere. Reception was rude as well. The room was disgusting, dirty and smelly. The location, hotel, the rooms LOOKED NOTHING LIKE the pictures advertised for this hotel online, VERY DECEIVING!!! The furnishings and tv was ancient and worn out. There was no shower stall or bathtub, only a hose to shower with coming from wall. We basically took one look and decided that we could not stay in this hellhole for our vacation here. We left ASAP and found a much nicer hotel a few blocks down. We had to pay extra to stay elsewhere and did not get reimburses for the Unico Express, but we wanted to warn other travelers before they make the same mistake we did.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are disgusting,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The worst thing you will ever do in your life is to book this hotel. The Rooms are small and filthy.
The corridors are so narrow that hardly one person can walk at one time.Most of the standard & deluxe rooms doesn't have a window (Although my room had one) which is not very comfortable for me. The toilet is very small & water peeps into the room while you are having a shower. The neighborhood as well as the property is noisy (thanks to group check ins & the built of the hotel). The buffet breakfast has a limited spread. Not recommended if you are not on tight budget & ran out of options.The hotel is just pathetic.

Room Tip: Not this one for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burdwan, West Bengal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The moment you check in to the hotel our first concern will be which lift will take you to your room. Although it's not a big property, It has 4 lifts accessing to different rooms on the same floor (which you can't access by walking across the alley).

Most of the standard & deluxe rooms doesn't have a window (Although my room had one) which is not very comfortable for me. The toilet is very small & water peeps into the room while you are having a shower. The neighborhood as well as the property is noisy (thanks to group check ins & the built of the hotel).

The buffet breakfast has a limited spread.

Not recommended if you are not on tight budget & ran out of options.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here for a 1 day transit and had to leave the hotel just in few hours

The hotel is just pathetic, the rooms are very small, the walls are very thin, even the doors are plastic sheet, so one can hear the shoe steps in the corridor. The hotel seems a hub of gangesters, with loads of scary men in the elevator and in corridor.
The breakfast lacks variety. I had to opt out immediately and stay at DMA Ramada, which was not very great either, but i had to be economical on that trip.

Pros: Good location , just in heart of the city, walking distance from street market, and also 10 minutes walk till SIAM mall. Lot of eat out places in the area as well.

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The photos of the hotel don't tell the true story.
The rooms are really old and dirty, my aircon leaks water on to the carpet so a towel has to be put there to soak up the water,,, bad smell of wet carpet just hangs in the room.
No chair at the desk to sit on until i asked for one.
Towels are thread bare and probably older than me.
I just hope there would never be a need to evacuate the hotel in an emergency, the passageways are so narrow my shoulders nearly touch each wall.
The first room i was given was internal and had no windows, needless to say i asked to move to another room with windows immediately.
I'm not sure if that was a good decision as i was kept awake by an adjacent room where several other rooms of men gathered, leaving their doors open; talking very loud and shouting over each other. Request to staff to ask them to be quiet fell on deaf ears,, i finally snapped about 2:00 am and went in and told them to shut up which they did for a few hours before starting again.
The food at breakfast keeps running out until the kitchen staff brings out some more,, stone cold eggs, rice etc, straight from the kitchen...i told the cook that the eggs were cold and could i have some that were hot,,he simply argued that the stone cold eggs were hot. I was rescued by a staff who took my plate of cold food and heated it in a microwave.
Close to the main road, Sukhomvit Rd,,no,, the time quoted to get there by foot could only be done by an Olympic sprinter.
The hotel is on a one way road so getting to the Sukhumvit Rd by taxi is ok but returning the taxi needs to drive several km around the block to get to the hotel..

Room Tip: To find a good room,,, easy,,, choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here, and I will NEVER stay here again. Very loud people checked into rooms on either side of me. They shut up at 11pm but were at it again at 6am. I called reception but they did nothing. Even worse, while sleeping I received about 30 angry and extremely itchy insect bites. From what kind of insects I don't know, but 5 days later they are still large, hard, bright red, and still itch quite badly. They should be shutdown until an exterminator is brought in. I stayed here for the pool, but they shut that down the second day. I found a much better hotel, in a better location, for much less money, with a pool, and good service. Don't stay here!!!

Room Tip: The insects only bit me where I was not covered by my shorts and t-shirt, but still covered by blank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unico Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unico Express Hotel

Address: 74 Sukhumvit Soi 3 | Khlongtoey-Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #675 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Unico Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unico group is pleased to be able to introduce The Unico Express Sukhumvit, situated in the heart of Bangkok with easy access to a wealth of amenities and some of the most specular sights Thailand has to offer.This property offers excellent value for money to price conscience guests with a transparent pricing scheme that is affordable for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Unico Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unico Leela Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unico Express Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.