We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from centre but good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok to your Saves list
Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9/9 Vibhavadi Rangsit Road | Laksi, Bangkok 10210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #355 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
india
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Far from centre but good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I was stayed two nights there in some marrige. The hotel/ resort is near don muong airport very far from centre of Bangkok. except the location , every thing is very good. the service, the rooms ,I can not say about food as the arrangement of food was done by the inviter , they brought kooks
an caterer from India and we had a great food all the time.

Room Tip: Rooms are really good but ask for garden facing rooms can view swiming pool also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    56
    26
    16
    3
See reviews for
8
15
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was visiting a few friends on Koh Chang and needed a room to stay prior to my flight home. I got an outstanding deal for Rama Gardens. I would have paid much more than I did for this room. The mini fridge was stocked with any beverage you might want. The room was very comfortable feeling and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable as was the comforter. I would have bought one for home if I had the room in my luggage.

I remember wanting a good hamburger, as there was no decent ones on the island. I browsed the menus of the hotel restaurants and found a burger that sounded good. I ordered to and was able to pick it up from the restaurant in only 10 minutes. The price was reasonable and included all the fixings and french fries. The burger was outstanding. It was cooked through and the seasoning used was very delicious. It ranks right up there with as one of my favorite burgers.

The lobby was grand in size and very welcoming and cozy. Front desk staff was very patient with me as I had a credit card issue that they helped resolve. The breakfast buffet was inexpensive and had a wide variety of both Asian and western foods.

Outside the hotel was a large pond with numerous fish in it. The staff was very polite and professional. I will definitely stay there next time I am in Bangkok.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
741 reviews 741 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Rama Gardens was long ago a luxurious respite from the frenzy of Bangkok. Off the highway and with a huge area of gardens, the place is very relaxing. Before the opening of the new airport, Rama Gardens was a likely overnight hotel for anyone with only one night stopover or an early morning flight out. With Don Muang Airport now only serving low-cost carriers, mostly for domestic flights, Rama Gardens has shifted significantly into the workshop and conference business to survive.

The facilities are old, but generally maintained reasonably well. Don't expect anything modern or trendy, but the rooms and facilities are OK for the most part. If you find anything undesirable about your room, you can usually move to another easily as the hotel is rarely full.

Food is mediocre across the board; nothing terrible, but nothing to write home about.

Location, well north of downtown Bangkok, is only attractive if you have a meeting/conference there or an early morning flight from Don Muang Airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Rama Garden Hotel is quite a good place. At 1,800 Baht per day with bed and breakfast facility is not bad deal. I would say its a best deal, because the breakfast is huge spread and has dishes from Japan and continental. The huge buffet spread is value for money. I also liked the rooms. The rooms very large (at Rama Wing) and clean. The bathrooms had bath tub as well showers for those who wanted just to get in get out.

The only thing i didn't like was reception staff at the hotel. The staff at the reception were inefficient and insensitive to your need, but the staff at restaurant and other places were a friendly bunch and were very helpful.

The hotel is located in between lots of greenery and open place. Its good to stroll out in the open or use the hotel gym. It could little tricky to get to the hotel. If you are catching cab from airport make sure that you are on the right path or else you may end up traveling few kilometers ahead and then taking one full circle before getting into the hotel. This may get little bad and you may end up spending few more minutes inside the cab and spending few more bahts.

Room Tip: use rooms at Rama Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A modern, mostly clean facility away from the city; not within walking distance of any services (e.g., restaurants, stores). Rooms are well-appointed with TV, refridge, and safe. I was impressed that engineering repaired my toilet seat before I could even report it unhinged. Front desk staff is fluent in English, and very service-oriented. Fitness center, convention center, tailor, massage salon, ATM, and gift shop on site. Several restaurants available within the hotel. Plenty of hot water. I found it strange that the hotel supplies each bed with a comforter and duvet cover (no top sheet) in the heat of the Bangkok summer. I don't recommend swimming in the pool without checking with the staff about their schedule for balancing chemicals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the atrium to avoid noise from cafe music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Came here for a three days business trip. As convenient as it was to go from the hotel to meetings and back (and also to DMK airport), I would not recommend it for tourist who wish to be closer to down town and all the city's main attractions.

The hotel's facilities are quite nice with pools, gym, spa and more. The rooms are quite ok, with some minor issues.
The only real issue is the staff, which although appears friendly and smiling, doesn't really provide efficient service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is an exceptionally large hotel offering everything any class of tourist or business person could want.

Once you enter the hotel complex you leave the busy dual carriage way behind and you enter a world of tranquility with well designed gardens, populated with water features, geese and cockerels.

The long driveway to the hotel lobby winds it way slowly through a tree avenue of trees and sweet smelling bushes and by the time you arrive at the lobby the hustle and bustle of Bangkok is far behind you.

The huge glass fronted lobby is approached by a wide expanse of 5 marble stairs and we were always greeted by ever helpful bellboys.

As for the lobby it is something to be seen and needless to say almost every visitor wants to be photographed there, standing in front of the giant water feature with its ceiling climbing up some 50 foot, illuminated by an impressive lighting feature.

There are at least four themed restaurants offering an eclectic choice of international cuisine depending on taste.

For the family group there is a beautiful children's pool along side a fantastic free form pool

There are several impressive well maintained floodlight tennis courts and I am told that the gym has all of the necessary equipment needed, if you are that way inclined.

There is a fantastic conference center and several great halls which during my stay appeared to regularly host exhibitions and wedding parties.

All in all the place is a fantastic venue and the executive room that I had on the 5th floor, room 5017 looked over the swimming pool, tennis courts and the sky line of Bangkok.

I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it, however although I can understand the hotels policy on levying a high charge for using the internet but if they want to attract the business executives I would say that the policy is ill thought out - technology is a necessity not an expensive luxury.

Room Tip: Depending on what you want to spend it is well worth spending that little bit extra to get an execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok

Address: 9/9 Vibhavadi Rangsit Road | Laksi, Bangkok 10210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel on 24 lush acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Gardens Bangkok
Bangkok Rama Gardens Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.