We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still a bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tawana Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Tawana Bangkok to your Saves list
The Tawana Bangkok
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Surawongse Road | Si Phraya, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Wolverhampton, UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“still a bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here some months ago and reported favourably. I returned to stay twice in October 2012. On the first occasion I had booked through the Internet. On arrival I was upgraded to "a better room" which turned out to be vast - though with a very small shower room (no bath) in one corner. All very clean, well equipped and well enough maintained but everything works well even if it is all looking a bit dated. The staff are all efficient, helpful and friendly, nearly all with at least an adequate command of English. It is still the best value in this area.

On the second occasion I arrived at six in the morning to stay until mid-morning the day after - and with no booking. Many hotels would have demanded that I pay for two days at the rack rent. They didn't - they asked for not much more than a quarter of that. I think this hotel ought to be supported!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    347
    121
    28
    16
See reviews for
45
156
86
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Plusses: Value for money, free wi-fi, pleasant housekeeping staff, location great for shopping, cheap dining alternatives, and accessible to more commercial places like malls, cinemas. usually if one is a repeat visitor to Bangkok like me, one must be able to live like the average local resident. Was given fruit plates on 2 occasions, was a nice touch. Bed was comfortable and they acceded to my request of 5 pillows.
Minuses: Cable TV channels, though enough, tend to flicker due to poor signal sometimes. Room looks outdated (though clean) except for one solitary cockroach one night...forgivable. The lobby looks eerily dark when you arrive after midnight. For long-staying guests, a free English newspaper would be welcome. The room slippers provided appeared used, almost threadbare. Almost got scalded when the water in the showers could not be adjusted from hot to lukewarm and this went on for the entire duration of my stay. I could have complained but they should have known this all along and corrected it. The traditional Thai wood decors are nice but the hallway floors though well maintained and polished tend to be noisy by the clickety-clackety sound of shoe steps. I did remove my shoes after leaving the elevator on the way to my room because the sound is kinda embarrassing and disturbing to the other guests.
To sum up my experience, yes, this hotel is acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Everything was as i expected. Very friendly staff. Good services. I would definitely stay here again.

FYI...the cost of a meter-taxi from the hotel to BKK airport was 400 baht plus 70 baht for motorway tolls.

FYI...in Thailand like in many other countries (UK, Ireland...) when you pay by credit card the machine may offer you to pay in your home-country currency. This illusion of convenience comes at a cost of 5% shared between the establishment and the credit card processing company. The credit card terminal will always ask what currency you want to pay in but many times you are presented the terminal only when the PIN is required or other times you are given a slip to sign. At any time you see an equivalent amount in your home currency (CAD, USD, AUD.....) you will be charged that amount and it is NOT to your advantage. This happened to me at the Tawana hotel. I refused to sign the credit card slip. The cashier had to cancel the transaction and re-do it in Thai baht. Beware......this is unfortunately a scam sponsored directly by Visa and Mastercard in order to inflate their revenues. American Express does not do that. Make your purchases in local currency and let your bank apply the ongoing exchange rate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When I first walked in, I had the feeling that I was stepping into an opulent past, as the lobby was huge with chandeliers etc, and a live pianist.. so had high hopes for my room, which were not met.

The room and hallways had a funny smell, and while my bed was super comfortable and the room clean, my first room had a bit of mould in the bathroom and the furniture seemed outmoded.

It is however in a great location, near the Patpong night market, and also really close to the metro station.. one thing.. when travelling to the airport by taxi, even if the concierge tells you the driver should charge only 500Bhat, confirm with the driver BEFORE you get in the cab, as sometime they charge extra (80 Bhat) for the tolls.

Ping-pong shows are also overrated and be careful of places that offer free shows or drinks. What they often mean is that the first show or drink is free and for the following shows you have to pay.. and a lot!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking or recently renovated room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

To echo some of the previous statements and reviews, the location is the most outstanding feature of the Tawana. There is nothing wrong with the hotel itself and it appears to provide a good 4 star level of service, however the rooms are slightly dated and not finished quite as well as other city hotels. That said, they provided us with a room at very short notice and the breakfast was rather good. WiFi was strong and complimentary toiletries and T/C making facilities were available.

Despite the location on top of Patpong market it is nicely insulated and we got a good night's sleep.

We stayed for 1 night and for 3,200 Baht I would say we got our money's worth. Any longer and I would have wished to gain a discount on the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

if you want convenience, this is the place for food, shopping, massage... there is a good Thai restaurant 5 mins walk- Mango Tree for foreigners. Thai'sfind it expensive. It is ok for me because the food and embience is good but service so-so. Nearbye, there are Chinese, Japanese, local Thai places to eat- cheap and good. I like a street stall that sells chicken noodles. The chicken melts in your mouth. The hotel food is so-so. the hotel is not the best for kids due the the surrounding at Patong area. A simple taxi from airport by meter is less than TB 300. I made a mistake of booking the London taxi cab at the airport and paid TB 1200! A smart way is to go to the arrival gate, take the taxis when they drop off passengers. This tip will save you much TB. Thanks for the beers :-)

Room Tip: check for promotional rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Tawana hotel for 4 nights and thought it was an excellent hotel with a great location and great value for my money. Sure, the rooms were a bit dated as some of the other reviews state but who cares?! I spent very little time in the room as i was on vacation and was out all day exploring, The rooms do have a certain charm to them and are very clean. The pool was great too. The hotel has a great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this property to anyone travelling to Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tawana Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tawana Bangkok

Address: 80 Surawongse Road | Si Phraya, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tawana Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Tawana Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tawana Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Tawana Hotel Bangkok
Ramada Bangkok
Bangkok Tawana Hotel
Bangkok Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tawana Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.