We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukosol

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
The Sukosol
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
South Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th stay at this hotel but first as The Sukosol. The location is fantastic, 5 min walk to the Skytrain and two stops to Siam Centre and MBK. The rooms are spacious and clean and for the price they are excellent value. Many restaurants inside to choose from, if a long day in Bangkok leaves you too tired to venture out. The only negative I can add is that since the change from Siam City to Sukosol, it was a bit like flying with Jetstar. We had to pay 250 baht for a small bucket of ice. I don't really mind paying for ice, but it shouldn't cost twice as much as my dinner did. We would stay here again though. It has everything we like.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Dee2469,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

It’s gratifying to have you return to us time and time again. We are glad you like our convenient down-town location, rooms and restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    357
    117
    33
    17
See reviews for
121
302
87
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great to enter the lobby and see the public areas which are all very beautiful.
Also great breakfast and drinks at the bars....
the rooms (even on the Suite Floors) are disappointing though. Big but old.
The "Club Lounge" only opens for drinks for 1,5 hours - very bad service.
Pool and Gym: Ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear jenskroeger,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate it.

We are gratified to know that you liked our newly renovated lobby and public areas, along with our buffet breakfast, Sapphire Bar and fitness centre.

It’s saddening to hear that you did not like your room or our Club Lounge, we are working hard to up-grade these facilities and services and will take your comments on board.

We hope to welcome you back to the City of Angels again soon.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice and elegant lobby and restaurant area. Rooms have a few years and would be ready for a facelift within the near future...
However, we liked the fact that Sukosol is within walking distance from the shopping district around Siam and MBK (15 minutes walk) and also 2 minutes walk from the sky train Phaya Thai (2 stops to Siam/MBK) and the Airport Express Train (17 minutes nonstop).

Nice breakfast, a good choice of restaurants, nice and quite pool area :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear ywonne-e-a,

Thanks for writing you review, we really appreciated it. We are pleased to hear that you liked our design, our location and our price!

Please come visit us in the Land of Smiles again soon.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakbeng
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Exellent all the way, but what really got me was the frontdesk staff who gave a teddybear to my 2 year old daughter upon the check in. She was as pleased as I was and up to this day, she still hasn't let it go. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Stanislas F,

Thank you so much for posting your kind review of our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are thrilled to hear your daughter loved her Sukosol bear, we hope she always keeps it close and remembers her stay in Bangkok fondly.

Please come visit us again soon with your family :-)

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Avoid this hotel is my best advice. It has a nice and clean lobby but this is the only spot that is clean in the Hotel. Dont let this show room trick you. When we arrived at 11 am our room was ready and we checked in. The room on 10:th floor smell like an old football locker room, had old carpet covering whole floor, wallpaper full of spots, the view was. We wen down to the lobby asking if this was a misstake and if all the rooms were like this. We eventualy 6 hours later at 5 pm got a new room at 14:th floor in the "newer" wing but it looked and smell the same as the old one, only with better view, over the pool area. Our luggage did not arrived untill one hour and us calling four times to the lobby. After a shower still waiting I went down to the lobby just wearing a towel around my hips and asked for the luggage and they then went 15 meter into the storage room for the cases and delivered to the room. This was a 3 minutes woork but for them i was 1 hour, 4 calls and 1 half naked man in the lobby to get them to the room. This hotel stinks litterly speaking, lacks of allmost all servicemind and dont care if you complain. The beds are not mutch softer than the carpet on the floor. They are stone hard, prepare to a sleepless night.The staf just smile, relax and reward you with more slow motion if you complain. The restaurants in the Hotel is serious over priced, dont go there, please. On the front desk in the lobby this Hotel has a tripadvisor winning price 2012, but that must be a joke or a fake I guess? The location is also bad if you want to be close to city center or main attractions but it is close to skytrain station and shoping center.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear ABE201,

Thank you for reviewing our property.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience with the luggage delivery, clearly a miscommunication has occurred and we sincerely apologise for that. This is definitely not representative of our usual standards and we take your complaint very serious; we shall investigate the matter thoroughly.

We have been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for many years in a row now and pride ourselves on that and don’t feel the quality reviews we regularly receive and customer loyalty we inspire a joke.

Should your return to Bangkok we would be pleased to welcome you back and deliver the five-star service we are renowned for and you unfortunately found lacking on this visit.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very pleased with the location, staff and services. Centrally located, reasonably priced and has all the amenities of a 4 star hotel. Rooms were spacious, internet worked well, beds were very comfortable. The Spa staff was very good and great at accommodating last minute appts. Tour coordinator had lots of options and was very helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Veep11,

Thanks for posting such a fabulous review of our hotel, we sincerely appreciate it.

We are exceedingly gratified to know you liked our location, staff, service, spa, Wi-Fi, rooms, beds and tour operator. And of course we’re always pleased to hear that guests find us ‘value for money’.

Please come visit us in the Land of Smiles again soon :-)

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is located far from the city cener or the tourist attractioins. Overall the price and quality of th eproperty make it a good choice.Staff are friendly but dont all speak English well and this sometimes caused problems. Cofee shop was unatended several times. Breakfast buffett was ood

Room Tip: Great hotel if you are staying in bankok frequently and know the city. Great value as price is reson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear CEZARSTRAVELS,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you thought our property value-for-money and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Out hotel is actually very close to many popular down-town attractions via the BTS Skytrain network, we are only two stops from Siam Square, MBK, Siam Paragon, Jim Thompson’s House, etc. We are also only a short taxi ride away from the Chao Phraya River, Lumphini Park, Grand Palace, Dusit Zoo, Chatuchak Market, and so on. Most guests actually find our location to be one of our best assets. We are also located directly opposite the Airport Rail Link running to/from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.

Thank for you pointing out our failings with regards to English competency and outlet staffing, we shall rectify these shortcomings as soon as possible. As always exceeding guest expectation is our number #1 goal, we appreciate customer feedback such as yours so we may learn and grow.

Please come visit us again in the Land of Smiles.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok
Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukosol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Sukosol to your Saves list