We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Bangkok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukosol

Save Saved
You added The Sukosol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sukosol
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice and elegant lobby and restaurant area. Rooms have a few years and would be ready for a facelift within the near future...
However, we liked the fact that Sukosol is within walking distance from the shopping district around Siam and MBK (15 minutes walk) and also 2 minutes walk from the sky train Phaya Thai (2 stops to Siam/MBK) and the Airport Express Train (17 minutes nonstop).

Nice breakfast, a good choice of restaurants, nice and quite pool area :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear ywonne-e-a,

Thanks for writing you review, we really appreciated it. We are pleased to hear that you liked our design, our location and our price!

Please come visit us in the Land of Smiles again soon.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    384
    121
    35
    17
See reviews for
131
317
96
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pakbeng
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Exellent all the way, but what really got me was the frontdesk staff who gave a teddybear to my 2 year old daughter upon the check in. She was as pleased as I was and up to this day, she still hasn't let it go. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Stanislas F,

Thank you so much for posting your kind review of our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are thrilled to hear your daughter loved her Sukosol bear, we hope she always keeps it close and remembers her stay in Bangkok fondly.

Please come visit us again soon with your family :-)

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Avoid this hotel is my best advice. It has a nice and clean lobby but this is the only spot that is clean in the Hotel. Dont let this show room trick you. When we arrived at 11 am our room was ready and we checked in. The room on 10:th floor smell like an old football locker room, had old carpet covering whole floor, wallpaper full of spots, the view was. We wen down to the lobby asking if this was a misstake and if all the rooms were like this. We eventualy 6 hours later at 5 pm got a new room at 14:th floor in the "newer" wing but it looked and smell the same as the old one, only with better view, over the pool area. Our luggage did not arrived untill one hour and us calling four times to the lobby. After a shower still waiting I went down to the lobby just wearing a towel around my hips and asked for the luggage and they then went 15 meter into the storage room for the cases and delivered to the room. This was a 3 minutes woork but for them i was 1 hour, 4 calls and 1 half naked man in the lobby to get them to the room. This hotel stinks litterly speaking, lacks of allmost all servicemind and dont care if you complain. The beds are not mutch softer than the carpet on the floor. They are stone hard, prepare to a sleepless night.The staf just smile, relax and reward you with more slow motion if you complain. The restaurants in the Hotel is serious over priced, dont go there, please. On the front desk in the lobby this Hotel has a tripadvisor winning price 2012, but that must be a joke or a fake I guess? The location is also bad if you want to be close to city center or main attractions but it is close to skytrain station and shoping center.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear ABE201,

Thank you for reviewing our property.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience with the luggage delivery, clearly a miscommunication has occurred and we sincerely apologise for that. This is definitely not representative of our usual standards and we take your complaint very serious; we shall investigate the matter thoroughly.

We have been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for many years in a row now and pride ourselves on that and don’t feel the quality reviews we regularly receive and customer loyalty we inspire a joke.

Should your return to Bangkok we would be pleased to welcome you back and deliver the five-star service we are renowned for and you unfortunately found lacking on this visit.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very pleased with the location, staff and services. Centrally located, reasonably priced and has all the amenities of a 4 star hotel. Rooms were spacious, internet worked well, beds were very comfortable. The Spa staff was very good and great at accommodating last minute appts. Tour coordinator had lots of options and was very helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Veep11,

Thanks for posting such a fabulous review of our hotel, we sincerely appreciate it.

We are exceedingly gratified to know you liked our location, staff, service, spa, Wi-Fi, rooms, beds and tour operator. And of course we’re always pleased to hear that guests find us ‘value for money’.

Please come visit us in the Land of Smiles again soon :-)

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is located far from the city cener or the tourist attractioins. Overall the price and quality of th eproperty make it a good choice.Staff are friendly but dont all speak English well and this sometimes caused problems. Cofee shop was unatended several times. Breakfast buffett was ood

Room Tip: Great hotel if you are staying in bankok frequently and know the city. Great value as price is reson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear CEZARSTRAVELS,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you thought our property value-for-money and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Out hotel is actually very close to many popular down-town attractions via the BTS Skytrain network, we are only two stops from Siam Square, MBK, Siam Paragon, Jim Thompson’s House, etc. We are also only a short taxi ride away from the Chao Phraya River, Lumphini Park, Grand Palace, Dusit Zoo, Chatuchak Market, and so on. Most guests actually find our location to be one of our best assets. We are also located directly opposite the Airport Rail Link running to/from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.

Thank for you pointing out our failings with regards to English competency and outlet staffing, we shall rectify these shortcomings as soon as possible. As always exceeding guest expectation is our number #1 goal, we appreciate customer feedback such as yours so we may learn and grow.

Please come visit us again in the Land of Smiles.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice hotel with really good connection to everywhere in Bangkok but not ideal place for sun lovers because the sun doesn't really shine on the pool area. Hotel has excelent bakerry from where you could fetch breakfast to your room if you want to eat something easy and small

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Osqful,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you liked our down-town locations and Bakery Cafe.

The sun is not at its best in “winter” throughout Thailand; from February to October it’s shiny 100% of the day.

We hope to have you visiting with us in 2013.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although reserved by two persons at the beginning, it had to stop having to cancel suddenly.
the staff who can do exact correspondence. still good
-- I have you correspond and it appreciates.
And it was my birthday by chance, the staff who has familiarity suddenly come to congratulation. I was really glad !
It became good recollections.
The hotel near to Payathai station and convenience store is the next.
The corresponding staff is glad to become kind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear chiepool,

We are glad to hear that our Reservations Department were so obliging and that you trip worked out well.

Please come visit us again soon in the City of Angels!

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#103 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#107 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukosol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.