We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Bangkok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukosol

Save Saved
You added The Sukosol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sukosol
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 754 hotels in Bangkok
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very pleased with the location, staff and services. Centrally located, reasonably priced and has all the amenities of a 4 star hotel. Rooms were spacious, internet worked well, beds were very comfortable. The Spa staff was very good and great at accommodating last minute appts. Tour coordinator had lots of options and was very helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Veep11,

Thanks for posting such a fabulous review of our hotel, we sincerely appreciate it.

We are exceedingly gratified to know you liked our location, staff, service, spa, Wi-Fi, rooms, beds and tour operator. And of course we’re always pleased to hear that guests find us ‘value for money’.

Please come visit us in the Land of Smiles again soon :-)

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    386
    123
    35
    18
See reviews for
134
331
99
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is located far from the city cener or the tourist attractioins. Overall the price and quality of th eproperty make it a good choice.Staff are friendly but dont all speak English well and this sometimes caused problems. Cofee shop was unatended several times. Breakfast buffett was ood

Room Tip: Great hotel if you are staying in bankok frequently and know the city. Great value as price is reson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear CEZARSTRAVELS,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you thought our property value-for-money and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Out hotel is actually very close to many popular down-town attractions via the BTS Skytrain network, we are only two stops from Siam Square, MBK, Siam Paragon, Jim Thompson’s House, etc. We are also only a short taxi ride away from the Chao Phraya River, Lumphini Park, Grand Palace, Dusit Zoo, Chatuchak Market, and so on. Most guests actually find our location to be one of our best assets. We are also located directly opposite the Airport Rail Link running to/from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.

Thank for you pointing out our failings with regards to English competency and outlet staffing, we shall rectify these shortcomings as soon as possible. As always exceeding guest expectation is our number #1 goal, we appreciate customer feedback such as yours so we may learn and grow.

Please come visit us again in the Land of Smiles.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice hotel with really good connection to everywhere in Bangkok but not ideal place for sun lovers because the sun doesn't really shine on the pool area. Hotel has excelent bakerry from where you could fetch breakfast to your room if you want to eat something easy and small

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Osqful,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you liked our down-town locations and Bakery Cafe.

The sun is not at its best in “winter” throughout Thailand; from February to October it’s shiny 100% of the day.

We hope to have you visiting with us in 2013.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although reserved by two persons at the beginning, it had to stop having to cancel suddenly.
the staff who can do exact correspondence. still good
-- I have you correspond and it appreciates.
And it was my birthday by chance, the staff who has familiarity suddenly come to congratulation. I was really glad !
It became good recollections.
The hotel near to Payathai station and convenience store is the next.
The corresponding staff is glad to become kind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear chiepool,

We are glad to hear that our Reservations Department were so obliging and that you trip worked out well.

Please come visit us again soon in the City of Angels!

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights in the old wing. didn't bother to request an upgrade or newer wing since we were out most of the day. in hindsight, i should have but we were pretty tired at end of each day to bother with request and packing.
the hotel been fitted with central air conditioning system. it got a bit too cold for my elderly parents who chose not to switch it on. the air con is noisy. bathroom is big, hot water is good. however, shower is fitted in the bath tub area with a small piece of glass dividing it and the toilet seat, so water was splattered all over the floor after each shower, like it was mentioned in an earlier post. housekeeping could have done a better job by cleaning the huge lamp next to our bed and glass area above the head board. dust was clearly evident. coffee and tea wasn't replenish on a daily basis although we left the holding box opened on the writing desk. there's no security in the hotel. you could just walk into it without anyone noticing and there's no door man, especially at night, so anyone could take a lift up to the guest rooms. shuttle service to bts starts late - 1030am, which we didn't use. this is a grand looking hotel, albeit soulless. i'm not sure if it befits a four star, and because its a four star hotel, i'm expecting more. for me the consistent hot water supply, comfy bed and its close proximity to bts and the airport rail link is its saving grace. its no wonder someone mentioned earlier they could probably get a better deal in the city.
a little extra info for future travellers using the hotel and arriving by rail link - look for florida hotel on you right (or somboon seafood on right and walk straight ahead keeping it to your right, turn right when you hit a road), cross the little slip road, then cross another slip road after walking a few steps under the flyover. you'll see a big mall like building, keep it to your left, you'll come across soi 12, the hotel is just after that. the junction you just crossed is a bit busy, but don't be afraid cause a traffic marshal will appear from nowhere to assist your crossing. even if he doesn't, it isn't tough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear woosy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are glad that you liked our hot water supply, comfy bed and close proximity to the BTS and ARL.

We are sorry to hear about the shortcomings in the house-keeping of your room and assure you that we shall look into this ASAP.

Please note however that we certainly do have security personnel and doorman on duty at the hotel 24-hours a day and perhaps you didn’t notice them as they are very discreet, as befitting a world-class hotel.

Please come visit with us again soon,

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Location, location, location. Convenient from airport because the airport express is up and running for $3 U.S. per person, express, one-way token. The hotel is located at the end of the Phaya Thai line with a short walk from the train station. The station is also where you can take the BTS skytrain which is the line to all the places such as Siam where you can connect to other trains. There is also a minimart near the station where you can stock up on snacks and drinks.

Room was clean with free wifi. The rainshower head was a bit precarious in its location, it did not seem as if it was firmly installed. Had a mini fridge which was convenient to put our drinks in. Nice clean comfortable bed with good pillows.

Breakfast was good with variety of choices. Fresh juices and smoothies. Best part is the kanom krook for breakfast, delicious.

This is our second time at the Sukosol (last time we stayed was Siam City Hotel). Friendly staff. You should pass on the welcome drink though, it did not taste that good.

Good value, great location = we will be back in February 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear MikeyRules,

Thanks for posting such a great review of our property and for returning for a second time.

We’re very glad to hear you enjoyed our great down-town location, diverse breakfast spread, free Wi-Fi and comfortable beds.

Please come visit us again in 2013!

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was really impressive service and surroundings. As far as I remember, my sister and I met hospitality and knowledgeable staff from check-in desk to the concierge service from the first day to the last day.

The strong points of The Sukosol are the good location in the heart of BKK (for shopping, doing your business, and traveling around), the great service, and the gorgeous environments. And these points come together with the reasonable price.

Importantly, it was very nice to know that both the owner and the staff have given the attentive responses with the feedbacks (both good comments and constructive comments) from the customers for the better service. I am pretty sure that this lovely coordination from all of you is able to keep your hotel in high position.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Pat P,

Thank you so much for you kind words. It’s very gratifying to know you enjoyed our service, surrounds, locations and value-for-money.

We also value customer feedback as we want to continually exceed guest expectation.

We hope to welcome you back again in 2013.

Kind regards,

Miss C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#87 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#103 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#111 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#125 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukosol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.