We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sukosol to your Saves list
The Sukosol
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October, 2012. This is located right across from the Phaya Thai Airport Link and Metro Rail station. Friendly reception, with lobby staff always welcoming and ready to help - to get a Taxi or give directions. The buffet breakfast was great and the rooms convenient and spacious. The sauna and swimming pool were good. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SeaTacMan,

Thanks so much for posting you great review, it's very heart-warming to hear you describe us as 'perfect' :-)

It’s very gratifying to know you liked our location, staff, breakfast, room and pool.

Only, please note, we are located across from the BTS SKYTRAIN (Phayathai station), not the metro rail (closest MRT stations are at Asok and Mo Chit).

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    453
    148
    41
    19
See reviews for
157
394
106
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel...well worth the money...breakfast is excellent....hint...ask at reception for a map of the location in Thia as the taxi drivers won't understand the English pronunciation...this happened 3 times before we got the map..you also get a nice welcome drink....

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reiceproject,

Thanks for posting such a positive review of our hotel, we really appreciated.

It’s great to know you enjoy our international breakfast spread and found us good value for money.

And yes, having a Thai map on hand is always a good idea when out’n’about in Bangkok!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have my stay in this 5-star hotel (Sukosol, formally Siam City) from 18 to 21 November 2012 for a Conference trip with my wife. Because I made the reservation like 2 months before, it costed me only ~HKD1,100 (~USD150) for each night at the Family Suite (Room 2067; 76 sq meter) on the Executive floor.

Compared with other 5-star hotel Executive floor, this hotel gives me a lot of surprises. Nice room, nice service, nice people, nice breakfast (with fresh honey and different kinds of bread), relaxing happy hours with Grade A dim-sum and wine, etc.

I met one of the Managers the night before I left and I was just too uneasy to express my views to her because I find the website of the hotel not promoting enough this nice hotel. I recommended her to revamp the website, have more nice room photos, listed more good services, etc. I promised her to write something in Trip Advisor, so I did it and I hope you read it and send me a thank you note!

Perhaps one thing to improve, the limousine should have us waited for 30 mins when arrived at airport and 15 mins when leaving the hotel.

Anyway, I hope more people can enjoy this nice hotel with valuable price!

Also, many thanks to the staff of this hotel who made my stay comfortable!

Room Tip: Executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SammyHui,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of our property, we’re really gratified to know you enjoyed your stay and find our hotel such great value.

I’m happy to inform you that we are currently working on a fabulous new hotel website and it will launch in early 2013.

We apologise for any problem with our limousine service and will certainly fix that immediately.
We hope to have you and your wife back visiting with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I recently stayed in The Sukosol at Bangkok (19th and 29th November 2012) on an official tour to Thailand. The room I was checked into was great. It was spacious with all modern amenities in place including complimentary WiFi service. The TV had good choice of international channels though I must say that the Indian channel mentioned in the TV guide was different from the actual channel being shown in the TV.

Apart from that, the staff was very friendly and was prompt in service. The front desk staff even helped me choose the best possible alternative to go to my official address for meeting. The location of the hotel is another plus. It is very close to Phaya Thai metro station and the airport link. Also, it is very near to the malls and the market place.

One small drawback is the price of the food available at the hotel. I think they can reduce the price a bit. Other than that a great place to stay for either leisure or business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear deb_iisc,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of our hotel, we really appreciate it.

It’s very gratifying to know you liked our service, accommodation and free wi-fi.

And yes, our location is definitely one of our advantages; we are indeed very close to all the best shopping, sightseeing and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. Being just a 3 minute walk from the BTS Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations makes getting to/from our hotel and the airport and around the city a breeze!

We hope to welcome you back again very soon for more business and/or leisure.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Me and my partner stayed in Sukosol hotel for 7D6N during OCT 2012. Couldn't consider a re-visit even though i stayed before when it was still name Siam City Hotel. Mainly we recognized that the new management are putting in alots of efforts in upgrading the hotel standards and hospitality(thumb UP). We done alot of homework ensuring the correct hotel to stay as it a week stay holiday, we couldn't image the outcome of getting it wrong. Upon arrival to the hotel, our first impression was "Woah" it looked classy and a modern era of grand style. From receptionists to the stuff that initiate to carry our bags w/o requests are all v.friendly & polite. Here the well thought effort from the hotel that caught us by surprise - our room was decorated with roses petals forming a heart shape on the bed and a pair of hand-made swans in between. It was tremendously lovely that we spent half-hour taking photos with it and on top of that they make us a sweet little cake to congrats us on our anniversary. It really demonstrate Sukosol 's sincere hospitality to guests, we are really thankful & touched by it. The room was well-maintained, spacious & clean. Another caught why we chosen Sukosol was the room come with separate bath tub and standing shower, as my fiancee like to relax in the tub after so much of shopping each day where personally i like to hit the swimming pool or gym in the hotel for a while. The gym was big & clean with lots of equipment to train on, where the pool was located outside of it was spacious & peaceful. Do take note - they do have a in-house spa right beside the pool which was really good but alittle steep! Unfortunately as our stay does not include breakfast and we both are too occupied by events outside hotel, we didn't manage to try out the food from the hotel's restaurants or breakfast's spread. Sukosol, we truly enjoyed our stay and we fully appreciated the warm gestures by the hotel. Surely will come back soon - do remember us =) All the Best!!

Room Tip: It a value for $$ hotel with so many positives!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Samuel2105,

We are overjoyed to receive such a wonderful review from you. Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post it.

We have indeed put in a lot of effort to up-grade our hotel standards and hospitality of late and it’s very gratifying to have you noticed and appreciated it. Sincere hospitality from the heart is our trademark :-)

We have also recently invested a lot of time, money and effort into renovating much of our property and we are pleased to hear you like our new classy and modern look.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Close to shopping district and not far to touristic attractions, but also to Mahidol Univ. Very nice rooms, excellent service with a smile, rich and varied breakfast, pleasant surroundings. Good wifi throughout. I have been twice and definitely will go again. Only minus- sometimes huge touristic groups!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Phileas_Fogg_61,

Thanks so much for posting such a wonderful review of our property, we sincerely appreciate it.
It’s very gratifying for us to know you liked our service, accommodation, breakfast, free wi-fi and surroundings as we also strive to exceed guest expectation.

And yes, we agree, our location beside the Phayathai BTS Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations make us idea for both leisure and business travellers.

We hope to see you back in the City of Angels and staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel was formerly the Siam City hotel and it was renamed as The Sukosol hotel. Nothing much has changed but the lobby area. The room was as usual clean but starting to look old and was never revamped despite the change of name. The swimming pool is still the same as before when it was used to called Siam City hotel. This time, the service at the front desk was not as professional as before, the staff did not explain to me about the breakfast time and location but just pass me my room keys and some vouchers which he also did not explained about. The breakfast now has lesser variety as before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear AlexKhoo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate it. In fact, besides the lobby, we have also recently renovated our front entrance, lobby bar and main walkway; all of which now have a modern look with Thai touches, and showcase a museum-quality collection of regional antiquities.

We are sorry that our check-in service did not exceed expectation and was a disappointment to you. We shall endeavour to investigate and rectify our shortcoming as soon as possible.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#119 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#126 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukosol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.