We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many change after rebranding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sukosol to your Saves list
The Sukosol
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Many change after rebranding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

After rebranding from Siam City Hotel to Sukosol hotel, many changes are noticable. New decoration to the common area and lobby, free WiFi is the big change from the old one. The penalty from rebranding is the increasing price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear denpong,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It’s gratifying to know that you like our new look and complimentary Wi-Fi service.

It’s true that we have raised our prices slightly. But these are in accordance with other five-star hotels in Bangkok and we feel justified in doing so given the fantastic new surrounds and services we are now providing to guests.

We hope to have you back in Bangkok visiting with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms Candice Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    453
    148
    41
    19
See reviews for
157
394
106
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

i spent 3 nights with my freind in that hotel in early october,its location is near central about 20 minutes walk,shopping center and place to eat is so closed,the lobby and restaurants and hotel enviroment is so beatifull,the rooms are big enough and even beds are so comfortable,the bathroom is large enough and ok,the breakfast was so great and there were many variation of food,which were so delicious,the staff were polite and ok,the manager i have seen was so caring and responsible that i 'd like to thank them.overall i can say the hotel really deserve the cost

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear gisoo,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review!

We here at The Sukosol are very pleased to hear you loved our hotel so much, especially the new-look lobby, award-winning restaurants, plush rooms, international breakfast and friendly Thai staff.

We hope to have you back with us again soon :-)

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Definetly value fr money. One thing thats annoying will be the renovation outside the hotel. Overall, staffs and hotel cleanliness is definetly to my satisfaction.
My room is big and comfy. That's the most important and I really like it.

Location wise is as good too. 5mins away from BTS, 2 stops jus to reach Siam square and access to all shopping malls.
AirportLink is something I like too, fast and clean, way better den taking a Taksi to airport which will be more jam on the way.

Had not tried the hotel breakfast, as I prefer streets food and restauant outside. Will definitely try out and rate the hotel breakfast on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear diorlovey,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of our hotel.

Whilst we apologise for the inconvenience our landscaping upgrade is causing, we are gratified to hear that it do not stop you enjoy our staff, location, cleanliness and rooms.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms Candice Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh,India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Location was excellent(5 min walk from train station),food wise only used for breakfast which was good ,room wise all good except the cabinet underneath the TV kept making weird noises every 15 mins and only news channel available on TV.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ytreffar, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear vik_swp,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, we really appreciate it.

We actually have a great range of shows on our TV, ranging from BBC and CNN to Star Movies, Australia Network, Discovery Channel, TLC and so on...

We hope to see you again soon!

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We tried to book by walking in but the price was just sooooo unreasonable so we checked online and got about 50%discount by booking through agoda.

Thd first receptionist wasn't that friendly though she smiled but the manager,Ms A was really friendly and kind. She even compensated us breakfast for four after complaint lodged.

The room itself was very comfortable and good.they have bathtub in the bathroom. What failed me was the size of the bathroom and also the no separate shower in it. I was travelling with my parents and I think they were not considerable enough.(my patents did not want to change the room because it's troublesome to carry the luggages). The room itself was kinda dim and there was dust on the curtains. It's a five star hotel so I assume that they should ensure their cleanliness was at the standard. Try to ask for corner room. Much bigger!

Location was excellent as it was very close to phaya thai station which is the city link line and also the airport link line. WalkIng distance!

As I was told,they did not provide shuttle service to pick you up at the station but they did have the free shuttle service to send you and your luggages to the station. This service should be improved.

It was also close to bai yoke sky hotel, pratunum night market, platinum mall and king power duty free mall. If you wan to, it was possible to walk from hotel to Siam area. About 15~30 min walk.

The dim sum restaurant did not open in the morning. We Chinese are used to have dim sum in the morning.

Swimming pool was small but chilling. Nice environment. The sauna and the steam bath were good. They even provided body lotion in the changing room.

Staffs were all very friendly and helpful. Except the receptionist Ms K who was not that helpful and made us feel like we were annoying her.

One of the complaints we lodge was regarding to the air conditioner in one room which was not cold at all and both my sister and I sweated the whole night. They sent technician but we did not feel like it was fixed on the second night. The other problem occurred in the other room. There were electric shortage in that room at first.we called for service and the technician fixed and left without saying a word. I thought it's because the hotel was old(formerly Bangkok city hotel) so there was circuit failure. But this happened three time throughout the 3D2N. I was annoyed and called for the
manager in charge who was Ms A I mentioned before. She said it was due to the high load of the room. Used either two of these at the same time: fridge, hair dryer and TV set. There was no notice in room and nothing was told by the technician after three services. But the sincerity and explanation from Ms A comforted us.

All in all, I would say that this is a nice hotel and I will definitely go back again if I can find affordable rate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Aki_Choo,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it.

We are very pleased to hear that our staff were all very “friendly and helpful”. And in particular we shall pass along your compliments to Ms A at the Front Desk.

Thank you for alerting us to the problems you encountered with the in-room air-conditioning and power supply, we shall have our engineers check this out immediately.

Our location beside the Phaya Thai BTS Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations is indeed great and we’re glad to hear you appreciated this convenience for getting to/from Suvarnabhumi and around the city.

The rooftop swimming pool with Jacuzzi, steam/sauna room, state-of-the-art Fitness Centre and Lotus Spa is a highlight of our hotel and beloved my many guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I found this hotel rally good although the room I stayed in was getting close to needing a refurb.

The food was excellent, offering a wider variety of styles to a very high standard and quality, reasonably priced 2 - main course and 3 drinks cost me around equiv of £13.

Would recommend

Room Tip: travelling about can take some time so you need to allow for the heavy traffic during morning and af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Irene,

We are really glad to hear that you loved our food. We strive to make our offerings as tasty, unique and reasonably priced as possible and are always happy to hear that guests appreciate it.

We hope to have you staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#119 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#126 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukosol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.