We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for the buck...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Bangkok to your Saves list
Dream Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Sukhumvit Soi 15, Kloengtoey Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly the Somerset Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bang for the buck...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Still nice and funky although it is a bit worn... Cool reception, great staff, good breakfast! nice touch with daily fresh fruit in room! Pool area small and gym pretty lousy... Location good in sukhumvit. Both sky train and subway just around the corner!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    675
    155
    34
    14
See reviews for
84
504
294
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights just before my flight back home to the US after 4 weeks of traveling around the country. Overall this was a very comfortable and nice place to spend my last nights in thailand especially when compared to the rock hard un-arconditioned beds I'd been staying at in hostels around the country. Needless to say I slept like a baby on what felt like a mattress made of clouds.

The overall decor gives you this modern trendy feel which I found to be pretty cool. I always appreciate it when a hotel puts extra effort to make the place look nice and unique. It is located in the sukhumvit neighborhood which makes it a close walking distance to several malls and shopping as well as some pretty good nightlife. Also the complimentary breakfast was really nice and a great way to start the day.

A couple of gripes which keep this from getting a 5 star rating.

- The hotel is actually split between two buildings which are across the street from each other with the pool and restaurant each in separate buildings. My room was in the building with the pool, but when I wanted to get breakfast in the morning I had to trek outside through the Bangkok heat to get to the restaurant. Usually I like staying at a place where I can reach all the amenities without having to leave the comfort of the hotel.

-The staff were generally less friendly and helpful than other places I've stayed at in Bangkok.

- An example of my last gripe: On my last day after checking out, I asked if I could get a tuk-tuk to the skytrain (as this is a free service that they advertise). I was told to wait outside. After 20 min it never arrived. I even went back in twice to ask if it was still coming and was given brush off responses. In the end I had to walk to the skytrain, not a very good final impression for me.

Overall it was a very comfortable hotel for a reasonable price. But knowing there are just as good if not better hotels in the same neighborhood I probably won't ever be going back there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights at the end of a SE Asia trip as it was recommended to me and it didn't disappoint. I was in Dream2 which means a walk across the road to Dream1 for breakfast but only a short trip to the roof top swimming pool as its in the dream 2 building. Dream is well located for both the skytrain and metro and there is great street food, bars and shopping near by.
My room was large with queen sized bed and good sized sitting area for relaxing. Both room and bathroom were spotless and breakfast was very good with a wide range of food. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

At our last stay i was happy and pleased to get a warm welcome again. Te staff is very attentive. They work hard and fast. I can recommend this hotel because of it's ideal location and nice comfy rooms. The hotel is located near Asok BTS station (Sukhumvit MRT station).
We Re-newed our wedding vowels at the hotel, what was superb organized. Thank you Dream team. It is a day to remember!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Dream 1 (there are two buildings) for six nights in February. Well located on Sukumvit within 5-10 minutes walking to both BTS and MRT stations, from where you can go practically anywhere easily.

The staff were very accommodating to fulfil our room requests at the last minute. Our room was clean and neat with the comfiest beds ever! The pillows in particular were the best I have ever encountered and the pillows alone are worth a booking here! Minibar well stocked, if quite pricey. Good television channels with plenty of foreign options. Free fruit and cookies delivered daily. The blue lights however are really just a gimmick and we found them too bright for sleeping.

Breakfast buffet was very good with plenty of options including sushi, cheeses, pastries and an excellent variety of breads.

Service here was very attentive and helpful. Room service was not spectacular but okay for when you can't be bothered leaving the air conditioned comfort for the hot and sticky streets of Bangkok.

Dream Bangkok was a pleasure to return to after a long day of hustle and bustle. We will certainly return when in Bangkok again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The people are attentive and accommodate our requests. The rooms are large and comfortable and quite clean. They have great tv for a foreigner and Internet in complimentary and very good. Will stay at no other hotel in bkk

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here for a friend's wedding and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, so much so that I returned after the wedding when I was flying through Bangkok. The hotel is centrally located close to the Skytrain and Metro and I felt perfectly safe walking around the area late at night on my own. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Breakfast is nice even though it can be very crowded. I also ordered food from room service, which I thought was very good.

My only slight disappointment was with the hotel tuk tuk. I had requested this service a few times and was told this would not be a problem only to find myself still waiting around 30 mins later as the staff dealt with other guests. On one occasion I got very cross about this because it nearly made me (and a couple of others with me) late for the wedding we were going to.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool stay in Dream 2. If you want to be close to the restaurant for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Bangkok

Address: 10 Sukhumvit Soi 15, Kloengtoey Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly the Somerset Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#98 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#158 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the playful blend of local culture and surreal design within Dream Bangkok -- hotel entrepreneur Vikram Chatwal's latest addition to his mind-bending "Hautel Couture" destinations. Sleek and sheathed in glass, this five-star central Bangkok hotel lies in the heart of Sukhumvit -- the Thai capital's stylish epicentre for fashion, entertainment, and nightlife. Indulge your passion for the exotic ... where traditional wai greetings and artful chedi bells welcome you into a hypnotically decked-out lobby best described as ancient Siam meets modern decadence.Bringing a splash of fantasy to the world of Bangkok hotel accommodation, Dream embraces the elegant yet edgy mood of Thailand in an avant-garde downtown setting. Dream Bangkok is nestled in the heart of Sukhumvit Road, a five-minute stroll from the subway and Skytrain and only blocks from the city’s most prestigious business and government offices. For your convenience, our hotel is also just 27 miles from Bangkok International Suvarnabhumi Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dream Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Dream Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Dream Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.