We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location....Perhaps Time To Renovate.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand President Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand President Bangkok to your Saves list
Grand President Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #430 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location....Perhaps Time To Renovate.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have been coming to Bangkok and staying at the Grand President for the past 5 years. Yes the rooms are tired but for the price and location it never really bothered me. As long as the rooms were kept clean then I was happy. My last stay was January 4 - 16. I arrived at midnight and was very tired after a 20 hour flight. I was placed in room 1229 and was very disappointed at the condition of the room. The dishwasher in the kitchen had some type of problem and had duct tape over the top of it. If that wasn't bad enough the duct tape was so old and beat up that it looked like it had been there for several months. I then went into the bathroom and there was so much mildew on the tile in the shower that I immediately called the front desk and asked to change rooms. The girl at the front desk at first said they were sold out then saw something that made her change her mind. Perhaps she saw that I have been a regular customer. Anyway I was changed to room 1223. This room was much better although I did find a few spots of mildew in the shower as well. I figured this could wait until morning. The next morning I had the mildew spots taken care of. I also I checked out the rest of the room. The outside windows could use a good window washing. The furniture is old and tired and should be changed soon. After the first room experience the rest of my holiday went very well. The staff,especially the bellmen (Siam is great) security,and the housekeeping ladies went out of their way to see to my needs. The hotel is guest friendly so I had no problem inviting new friends to my room. Try and get a room in tower 2. The Deluxe Suites come with a washer/dryer which makes it very convenient to wash clothes at any time. I am always trying to look for a good deal on hotels and I always seem to find it at the Compass Hospitality website. Be sure to check the latest currency conversion rates because the Thai bhat has gone up a lot in just the past year. I am just hoping that what happened to me this last visit was just fluke. I will continue to use the Compass Hospitality website to search for good deals. If this leads me back to the Grand President then I will give them another try. Although if I get checked into another room like 1229 then I might start looking for another hotel.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid rooms in tower 2 that are low level and face next door to the Ambassador hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    388
    203
    106
    86
See reviews for
147
254
268
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked online with a special rate provided 100% non refundable pre payment. Booked Suite which looks far better online than actually is. Room size was fine but bathroom is badly in need of renovation infact getting out of the bath/shower is a bit dangerous. Design not so good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of the biggest plus for this hotel is it's LOCATION...! Soi 11 is one of the busiest action packed lane in bangkok sukhumvit area. It's safe, lively and accessible. But hotel amenities are run down: -
1. Shower functioning was bad, towels were worn-out, Shampoo/Soap poor quality
2. Bed was queen-size but hotel staff called it king-size. Strictly avoid if you are tall or sharing the bed with a kid.
3. Lift security card reader seldom worked
4. Room access card reader machines outdated and malfunctioning at reception.
5. Cafe 11 - Breakfast place too small for the traffic they generate. But food options were good
6. Staff lacked service and courtesy. I guess quite over worked
7. Tower-3 should be strictly avoided
8. But Hotel is kept clean, bedding hygiene maintained
9. Check-in/out pleasant
10. Luggage porting pleasant
11. Make my room pleasant

There are better options for the price of this hotel if you looking for good bed/breakfast place around Soi 11.

Room Tip: If you are family, tall in height and looking for bed/breakfast, avoid this place. It might work wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

if you are looking for a star hotel with good rooms in an ideal location in Bangkok, then i would suggest this one. But there are lot of other options of similar kind nearby...

The rooms were neat but not very big. They get pricey during the week (business days). The breakfast was OK for vegetarians though not lot of varieties.
the staff was reasonably good mannered though not outstanding.

The sukhomvit MRT station is nearby and walkable

Room Tip: Ask for a street view.. you get a view of Sukhomvit Bangkok which comes alive with plenty of roadsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I made a booking for 2 nights .....which i had received confirmation by email.
Arriving at the hotel, i was informed that the hotel was full and that i did not have a reservation. Had to pull my laptop to show them the email.
After printing the email they questioned my confirmation because the senior manager did not read properly.
I think his name was wathatorn (something like that) which was very proud to give me his name card as he did not care of my complaint.
Anyhow after review of the mail they were forced to find me a room which did not make the manage happy at all.
I believe he made sure with all front office staff that i should not be treated well as the service lacked from than on.
Shame! i love the hotel but wow front office staff should learn how to make quick check in/check outs as well as to know that in a land of smiles a front of house not smiling is not that sweet, If they smart they will take proper action as it is not the first time

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed there for 4 days in a Deluxe Suite located in Tower 2.
My room was at the 11th floor but without a view.
I enjoyed the 4 days in this hotel. Its in Sukhumvit road Soi 11.
There is everything you need near you...
The hotel staff is good.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reutlingen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The location at Sikhumvit Road, Soi 11, close to SkyTrain station Nana is the most advantage.
They offer a spacious Junior Suite (56 sqm, Tower2) for a reasonable price.
The service is average, but even better if you give some small tips
The Breakfast buffet is poor, but accros the street, there is a German restaurant with a small American breakfast for a low price.
The food of the Room Service is average from my point of view, but Thai people like it.
The rooms are OK, but a little bit outdated. My experience is that in some rooms (probably at higher floors) the water pressure is much to low.
The rooms are noisy at the weekend, due to some restaurants with live music at Soi 11.
The rooms are clean, but not perfect
WiFi is free for suites

If you want to have a spacious suite for a reasonable price at sukhumvit area and don't want go to bed very early, this hotel might be a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand President Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand President Bangkok

Address: 14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand President Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand President Bangkok is situated along Sukhumvit Soi 11 and a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS skytrain station. It is walking distance to entertainment outlets such as QBar and Bash, and a short drive to hospitals, embassies and shopping centers. This property features 437 air-conditioned rooms and suites all with a kitchenette consisting of a large fridge and microwave oven. Additional facilities include a Laundromat, 3 outdoor swimming pools, cafe with alfresco dining, sauna and steam room. Present your keycard for exclusive discounts and/or free entrance to select restaurants, bars and hospitals. Songkran which is celebrated in Thailand from 13th - 15th April is the traditional New Year 's Day. The most obvious celebration of Songkran is the throwing of water upon others. Come and celebrate this season by staying with us as we offer something special to our guests who book the Special Promotion up to 30% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand President Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand President Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand President Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Grand President Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand President Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.