We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but tired hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand President Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand President Bangkok to your Saves list
Grand President Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #356 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 962 Reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location but tired hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here again for the second time but the hotel I heard is still refurbishing. They really should. We were placed in Tower 3, supposed to have 4 double rooms but they upgraded us to 2 units of 2 bedroom suite that had a washer/dryer and that was good. I requested higher floors and they gave Level 8, top floor was the pool.
Upon arrival, the check in was smooth, front office staff was accommodating. Room wise was really dated. I found leftover food in the fridge, the washer still had leftover detergent in it. Got the maid to clean and on another occasion, we requested additional tissue roll as the maid did not refill but she gave us only mutterings. Only got it after we called Front Office. For info, there was only 1 lift to service all in Tower 3.
Then one of the rooms in our suite had a nasty smell emitting from it (like a dead rat) and it was similar sentiment at our other room in the next suite. They couldn't do much except to spray when we complaint. Worse was yet to come, the toilet in my room was draining very slow when we checked in but the next day, it was clogged! That happened when we returned late at night and we couldn't use the toilet. Both of us had to use the toilet at the lobby the next morning but they did send a technician to clear it. Good for only that day as the next day, it started to drain slowly again. Bear in mind, we did not flush toilet paper in it. The hot water shower was not even lukewarm. So if you want a nice hot bath to relax those muscles after a day's walking, you can forget about it!
Breakfast fare was sufficient but there are quite a number of Indians staying and I saw them touching the bread with their bare hands (although tongs were provided) and they took not the one they touched but the next one. Yucks! I stayed off bread then. I also saw a little cockroach near the eggs/omelette section!
This hotel is good for its location. If you are into pubs and drinks, this is the place to have nice and cheap drinks by the roadside provided by modified 'drinks' van or you could go to the clubs as well. Minimarts, 7 Elevens, Laundry services, massages are all there. Nana station is a mere 5 minutes away. Robinsons, McDonalds and Terminal 21 are a stone's throw away. But for the price you can have choices elsewhere on the same street or vicinity.
I would stay in this location again but will try other places. Unless I can be sure they have undergone refurbishment to all of its units.

Room Tip: Request higher floors but watch out for Tower 2 as there is an aviary next door which could be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    368
    185
    95
    68
See reviews for
138
234
249
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012


Nice for the money. Clean and good location. The pool was good as a break from the hussle and bustle?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Rooms were large but very dated and kitchenette was falling apart. Hot water lasted about 2 seconds so I had to fill the bath with the kettle. Surrounded by restaurants in Soi 11 and a few bars. 5 min walk to the Nana MRT. Apparently the non-smoking rooms have been refurbished but the smoking rooms were pretty ordinary and I had to change rooms because the first room stank of dampness. Pool area was great and the restaurant outside - lemoncello served amazing pasta. Australian bar a few doors down was good for reasonable meals, nice music and a drink or two. For the price you could probably do a little bit better but it was reasonable and comfortable enough. If you want to be close to sukhamvit or siam square stay a little closer than this but if you are ok with the trains then it's pretty easy. The hotel has two towers and they are across the road from each other - so if you don't want to cross the road for breakfast make sure you stay in the main tower - A not B. Service was friendly and helpful.
Restaurant Tip: if you like pasta make sure you try lemoncello outside. Great pasta, friendly service. Also try the Australian Bar - there was a live band when I was there but they were understated and you could still talk. Food was nice and apart for the poor waitresses having to wear a cheap version of the australian netball uniform the service was good.

Room Tip: There are 2 towers and they are across the road from each other, both towers have their own pool but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I got a great rate on a one bedroom suite the Grand President from Compass Hospitality. The living room was of great value as I was to be there for 10 days. The suite was clean and comfortable and includes all things needed to cook if one wishes to save a dollar. There is a good market about a three minute walk from the property with good produce, meat and fish. The location on Soi 11 is within a five minute walk of Sukhumvit and the Sky Train and there are always taxis available. I found the staff to be very helpful with good advice and looking out for the customers best interests.

Room Tip: I find Compass Hospitality often has excellent deals for the properties it represents that are not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was my 2nd stay.
My room 1627 was located next to the infamous noisy bird cage to Ambassador Hotel. The birds start their mating sounds 6 AM and keep on until 8 PM.
As always it is impossible to make the room dark by using the curtains.
Old and used bar of soap still in the bath tub.
Only one bar of soap given, so I had to use the same for shower as washing basin, until I asked for a 2nd bar of soap.
Housekeeping keeps calling early and late, despite the fact DND sign is posted.
I needed a later check out due to a late flight this time, and they could only give me 1 PM (would like 2 PM).
Conclusion: Will probably NOT return.

Room Tip: Always make sure you avoid a room in the wing facing the Bird cage belonging to Ambassador hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juffair
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After booking the hotel through booking.com and getting a confirmation I called up the hotel to check if booking was confirmed. The poor reservation people told me its not confirmed and completely stumped me because my arrival was in 2 days. I had to contact booking.com and they had to confirm with hotel that it was confirmed. Extremely poor reservation counter in Grand President. They did not check their system properly and wasted my 45 minutes and lot of stress

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Location is good. A five minute walk to skytrain with lots of restaurants and clubs near by. I have stayed here often over the last 10 years and continue to use this as my Bangkok base. They have done recent renovations but some of the rooms are already showing a lot of wear. Generally the rooms are clean and the cleaning staff does a good job. Because it is a suite hotel or apartment complex it tends to draw families and I find many of them quite noisy and when they cook in the room it can be quite unpleasant. I believe the rooms in tower II are the best and I always ask for a lower floor. This is because they don't have service elevators and the office is on the 7th floor so the elevators are often busy with hotel employees. If you stay on a lower floor you seem to have better access. This place is often used as a party hotel by single travelers so there are many over night "visitors" in the hotel and of late it seems to be drawing a non-western foreign customer base so if this is a concern to you be forewarned. I find the location and room quality for the price I pay to make this a good place for me. Not for everybody.

Room Tip: Tower II, lower floor away from elevator. A lower floor in tower II starts with 10. Below that is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand President Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand President Bangkok

Address: 14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand President Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand President Bangkok is situated along Sukhumvit Soi 11 and a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS skytrain station. It is walking distance to entertainment outlets such as QBar and Bash, and a short drive to hospitals, embassies and shopping centers. This property features 437 air-conditioned rooms and suites all with a kitchenette consisting of a large fridge and microwave oven. Additional facilities include a Laundromat, 3 outdoor swimming pools, cafe with alfresco dining, sauna and steam room. Present your keycard for exclusive discounts and/or free entrance to select restaurants, bars and hospitals. Songkran which is celebrated in Thailand from 13th - 15th April is the traditional New Year 's Day. The most obvious celebration of Songkran is the throwing of water upon others. Come and celebrate this season by staying with us as we offer something special to our guests who book the Special Promotion up to 30% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand President Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand President Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand President Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Grand President Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand President Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.