We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view from our junior suite 76th floor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baiyoke Sky Hotel

Save Saved
You added Baiyoke Sky Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baiyoke Sky Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Rajprarop Rd | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Flash Sale
Ranked #346 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
morteau
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing view from our junior suite 76th floor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is just amazing! Nothing bad to write, just maybe sometimes few mn to wait for elevators, Breakfast succulent with many many choice, continental, european, japanese...
The swimmingpool is verry nice with a beautifull view to Bangkok.
Really we ll come back.

Room Tip: Lets go for the free ffeet massage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    906
    532
    218
    191
See reviews for
472
797
113
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Awful.. Just plain awful. This has been the worst hotel experience of my life. Overcrowded, dirty and OLD. The location is horrible, soo dirty. The lifts has no ac neither the corridors leading to the room and the whole way stinks. I literally used to run from the lift to my room. The rooms were huge which is a good thing but again as I entered the room smelled stale, the couch was dirty, sheets had stains. Imagine stains in white sheet. I called housekeeping and after three calls, someone came with the room freshener and fresh sheets. I asked him to remove the couch from the room, it was that dirty. The sheets which he changed were torn. I didn't have the strength to make him understand. Apparently, the hotel staff don't understand english. The hotel provides a free shuttle service which is highlighted everywhere but in reality they stuff people and squeeze in everyone. The hotel staff including the shuttle driver is rude and doesn't know how to behave with guest. I was soo disappointed with the way the driver spoke that I got down from the vehicle. Nothing warm, friendly and welcoming about Baiyoke Sky. I asked for an adaptor, the housekeeping said they are sending it immediately. Immediately means 2 days. The breakfast is lavish and decent but cutlery old, the white plates had stains. There is NO free Wi-fi. The reception will tell you as hotel guest, you can use free wifi in the cafe. When you go to the cafe, they will tell you have to be a guest of the cafe. They just misguide you.
It may have been a good hotel a hundred years ago but now it seriously needs renovation and staff training. Hospitality is SERIOUSLY missing in this hotel. I cribbed throughout my stay in Bangkok, now I realize maybe it was the hotel. They have no standard and they charge a good price for no standard. The website claims of some Hotel Award 2013 Shopaholics's Choice, trust me, I am a shopaholic and I wouldn't buy a thing from that area.

Room Tip: Sky Zone or Space Zone everything is DIRTY
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you want to feel like you're staying in a train station or airport then this is the place. I've seen airports that are less busy than this place. Honestly the only thing this place has going for it, aside from the impressive view is the location which is in the heart of the city.... but that's it. This hotel relies on it's "tallest building" status alone and nothing more. Staff are not the friendliest and most are not very helpful, the ground floor is always chaotic and busy as is the 18th floor lobby area. Then, one has to take one elevator to the lobby from street level, another to your room, then back to lobby to take another elevator to the breakfast floor. So many elevators just to get around this place! And the elevators are always packed. If you don't ask staff, you end up lost in the confusion. We arrived at about 9h30 for breakfast one morning and were promptly advised by an unfriendly lady that breakfast ends at 10 ( which we knew). It seemed like we were inconveniencing them by arriving at that time. At 9h45 with people still eating, staff were busily packing up the food and cleaning up around guests. Rooms are relatively clean and quite big but in need of an upgrade. For one night and given location, perhaps this hotel would work but if you're looking for an experience ( at least a good one) then this is not the place to stay. Not a hotel experience I would go back for!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Do not be mislead by the website the Baiyoke Sky throws up for you when you try and research the place. It is NOTHING like the warm, exclusive very upmarket hotel it seems to be online.
When we got to Baiyoke we were ushered into a back alley where the entrance to the building presented itself. The lobby itself is on the 18th floor and getting there is hell. The prices here are not low but they seem to be affordable and the place is teeming with large holidaying families - who are waiting WITH at the 3 tiny elevators to get upstairs where they can check in.
The lobby itself is not bad - not GRAND as the pictures on the website show but like any 3 or 4 star facility. The staff however is unfriendly and uncooperative for the most part.
THERE IS NO FREE WIFI - despite what the website says. Its free only in a particular coffee shop if you buy something (ofcourse!)
Now the rooms are very large and have a superb view given that you are so high up - but they are old, desperately in need of a re-haul and frankly smell of moth balls. Very clean no doubt - but old. Spartan decor there clearly isnt much imagination that went into setting up the space - they didnt bother with what the guest 'feels' when he enters the room - it looks very 'motel like' if it wasnt for the robes and slipper and cute water bottles in the corner.
The food i must say is not worth much at all. I wish the management had seen that WHAT you eat is as important as WHERE you eat because the 77th and 82nd floors where the buffet is laid out boast of a very impressive view. The rooms are cramped but that can be ignored.
The hotel has 2 things going for it - the view given height at which the rooms are, the central location (you are literally 60 seconds away from Indra Mall and the night market) for shoppaholics. Nothing else. I would much have preferred an Amari or a Novotel which are also very centrally located - only a 5-6 min walk away - at a tiny amount more. With more interested staff.

If you are looking for a relatively middle class, crowded experience then this is your place :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms around the 60th floor. Remember - voice connectivity (use of mobile phones) at that he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Reached around 8pm. The front part of the hotel was super busy with people sitting and crowding around. Didn't know where the reception was, nobody to help us out. Figured it out ourselves in the end. Took sometime to get the elevator as there were too many people. Lobby was busy too. Checked in quite easily. Receptionist informed us that they have upgraded our room because of some promotion. Room was huge and clean. Had a living/dining area, a bedroom, a changing room with a safe and a big bathroom with a shower place and bathtub. The interior looks good, only the curtains were a bit too colorful and makes it look like a cheap budget hotel. But who really cares about curtains anyways.. Overall, a comfortable stay with a good bed to end the day after hours of bargaining and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Two things about this hotel will always stay etched in my mind -
The superb view from my room & the Buffet breakfast on the top floor.

This Hotel is literally in the middle of the famous night market...cheap clothes, shoes etc galore.
The first few floors of this hotel are shops - if I'm not wrong the Hotel starts from the 17th floor - till the 89th floor - that opens to a revolving rooftop - giving us fabulous views of Bangkok.
We had booked a normal room but got upgraded to a deluxe room at the hotel had a group booking... I didn't mind shifting as the deluxe room had a far better view (moved up from the 23rd floor to the 47th floor).

Likes -
The revolving rooftop on the 89th floor
Good breakfast (not too elaborate - but nice) But the view makes up for this.
polite staff.
you can only use the lift if you have a hotel room key card.

Dislike -
Entrance to the hotel is very crowded.

Bottom line -
Convient location - with Taxi & tuk tuks available just outside the hotel.
Superb views & a decent breakfast - Value for money.

Room Tip: Don't miss the rooftop buffet breakfast & try and get a table along the window. Go to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After staying here for 4 nights unfortuantly we received a bad experience. When we arrived at the hotel we notice a large amount of people just standing outside the hotel and sitting in the door way. You go inside and wait for a lift to take you to the loby area which can take ages as so many people are crowding around waiting. Then you get to the reception desk and the staff are unorganised, with allot of people waiting and the key machine broke, they told us they over booked so gave us a room on a higher floor which was good, but was given just one key which didnt work so went to get it changed. Then got in another lift to take us to the 57th floor which smelt horrible, like a rotting smell. Would have been nice to have abit of air fresherner sprayed. The room wasnt clean either and we complained but was just offered other rooms which were even worse. We found the bottom sheet of our bed filthy with staines, the fridge had old cake all on inside, bath, sick had hair in it, windows all smeared. Just could have been abit cleaner. We thought we would treat ourselves on our last to a meal in the hotel on the top floor so rang up to book and they said they were fully booked so just come at half 9. We went and all the buffet food was cold, didnt see any food being freshly put out apart from the station where they cooked steak. Me and my partner both ate different food from the buffet and was all freezing cold. We told the manager who just said to go try the steak. Such rude attitude and no appology! The meal was £14 each and was definately not worth it. Only saw the waiter once when he brought our drink over. We just got the feeling that the staff didnt want to know and had no customer service skills. Also please note wifi is not free as i read before we went that it was free, its 400 baht for 24hrs. I wouldnt stay again and would sadly not recommend regardless of it being one of the tallest buildings in Bangkok. The only good thing is that its near to all the markets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baiyoke Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baiyoke Sky Hotel

Address: 222 Rajprarop Rd | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baiyoke Sky Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique. Playful. Glamorous. Convenient. Soaring 88 stories above the Bangkok famous Pratunam, Baiyoke Sky Hotel, Bangkok offers the dynamic highest views of the city and beyond, while our luxuriously appointed guestrooms offer the ultimate in comfort and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Baiyoke Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baiyoke Sky Bangkok
Hotel Baiyoke Sky
Baiyoke Sky Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baiyoke Sky Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.