We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay-cation: Great for families !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   494 Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #31 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent stay-cation: Great for families !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Arrived at Bangkok for a 4 day stay @ the Grand Hyatt Erawan. To be frank, used the Hyatt Gold Passport to redeem for the stay for 2 rooms, thus didnt expect much except for the rooms to be close by.

A kind gesture was extended by the hotel upon checking in and upgraded both rooms to suite rooms. We really appreciated this.

The rooms itself was flawless with every tiny details being taken care of. I was there with my 6 month old infant and she enjoyed the king sized bed, ambient lightings and of course the dip in the hotel's swimming pool.

The location of the hotel is suitable if you are not looking for noisy, marketlike atmosphere like the Pratunam area, Mcdonalds, Starbucks and 'higher-ended' pharmacy are within a stone throw from the hotel, luckily I brought along my sturdy stroller so crossing the messy roads from Hyatt brings me to Central World within minutes.

The staff, room service, housekeeping, Afternoon tea at the Erawan Tea Room has been flawless and it really made my baby's virgin trip to Bangkok memorable and very enjoyable.

Even though there was renovation within the hotel itself, it wasnt much of an inconvenience unless you sleep in the hotel from 10am till 5pm.

Highly recommended !!

Room Tip: Take the odd numbered rooms to have a view of city area, rooms with even numbers are facing the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLacey, Manager at Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding you recent stay with us. Our location and direct access to the skywalk is indeed an advantage as the footpaths in Bangkok do feature a number of obstacles which would make navigating a stroller a challenge at the best of times!

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Grand Hyatt Erawan in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Nicholas Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    259
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
139
239
113
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. The weather was very hot during our visit to Bangkok (41 Degrees!), so we really appreciated the hotel's location. There's a walkway to the SkyWalk from the hotel, and it's a short covered walk to the malls and the BTS Chit Lom station. Upon arrival through taxi from the airport, the doorman was very welcoming and told us he would take care of sending our bags to our rooms. Check-In wasn't the fastest but was generally easy. We were shown to our room and our bags were sent up very shortly after. Check-Out was similarly easy and the staff helpful. We were informed of their on-going renovations but from our room on the 20th floor, the construction noise wasn't as bad as I'd heard from other reviews. The room, despite its apparent age, was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping was a perfect example of the hospitality that Thailand is famous for. They would greet us very warmly when we'd pass them in the corridors. That hospitality was also felt at the hotel entrance when the staff would help us get a taxi. What stood out though were the hotel staff in (ill fitting) black suits usually hanging around the lobby and basement elevators and the basement exits. They would just stand there, not always helping us with the door, and we hardly ever heard any salutation from them which was such a contrast from the rest of the staff. Not really a big deal but it did stand out. The only other thing I was also unhappy about was that wifi had a daily fee. Most of the hotels I've stayed at in the recent years, from budget to five star, usually provide free wifi, so I found it odd that the hotel didn't. Food-wise, our only experience in the hotel was the breakfast buffet (Yum!), and the bakery down in the basement. Both superb and excellent service. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLacey, Manager at Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to use us as a sanctuary from the heat of Bangkok in the summer!

Thank you for your feedback regarding our Security personnel stationed around the hotel, Whilst their primary duty is to maintain the safety and security of the hotel facility, they certainly should also be friendly and well groomed, and we will work on improving both areas.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Nicholas Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed between the 26th of April and the 1st of may. I had booked the standard double...as we were 3 of us and this being our last holiday for a while... I upgraded to the Suite. And it was worth every $. Location wise you cant get any better in BKK. The service at the hotel....simply superb !!! The rooms have a nice old charm to them...could do with a bit of sprucing up...but as they are - it was super comfortable. The Room service food was a tad expensive.. but then u should expect that at a 5*. The hotel was under renovation but in spite of that.. we loved it..special mention to a gentleman by the name of chetpong a room service attendant - amidst the great service...this guy stood out..on the whole - super experience - loved my time in bangkok - thanks to hyatt !

Room Tip: all is good..if you are a couple with a kid/kids...the standard room is a tad small..and get the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLacey, Manager at Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We will also be sure to pass on your praise to Khun Chetpong from our Room Service team - he will be most proud indeed!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok in the hopefully not too distant future.

Best regards

Nicholas Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Its my first stay in this hotel from 26 april to 28 april, although check in took a little while but the staffs are all very friendly and helpful. And they are always really to assist us in our enquiries.

Cleanliness of the room is fantastic.
Location of the hotel is good!

For breakfast there are a big variety of food to choose from.

It definately deserve an excellent for the rating. Will definately stay there again during my next trip!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Its 100 meters away from the shopping belt of Bangkok, there is a covered passage way from this hotel all the way to Siam Paragon/Central and many others.

Tried the fitness area, I can say it has one of the best facility with a good staff. A typical Hyatt standard. Swimming pool a bit too small.

The breakfast selection is ok. I would very happy if they have more Thai cuisine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLacey, Manager at Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We were all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, with particular note of our fitness facilities.

Your comment regarding the addition of more Thai items on our breakfast buffet has been passed onto to our Culinary team for their action accordingly.

Thank you again for your support and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Nicholas Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The real stand out at this hotel was the business facilities. It has obviously been built to attract the MICE crowd and went well above and beyond my expectations in this area. There are plenty of rooms – both large and small – for presentations or breakout sessions all equipped with great AV, including a full-size conference/theatre style room.

The other highlight was the service. Their employees really epitomize the famed Thai hospitality, were SO friendly and went well beyond the call of duty to help.

The only let down was the Thai restaurant attached to the hotel which is actually in the mall next door. Food was VERY oily and not very nice (although this seems to be pretty common in big Bangkok hotels).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLacey, Manager at Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. We were all glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilties. We do indeed have a wide variety of meeting spaces available, from the Grand Ballroom. to the university learning themed 'Campus' and also the refined design of 'the residence'. I will be sure to share your positive experience with the entire team.

Your feedback regarding your dining experience at Erawan Tea Room has been shared with our culinary team for their immediate action.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok.

Best regards

Nicholass Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located just a stone's throw away from Chit Lom BTS station, which opens up a whole array of options to travel to any of the shopping malls neaby (Siam station is one station away and Asok is 3 stations away) plus it is 10-minutes' walk straight down the road to Platinum Fashion Mall in Pratunam, one cannot ask for a better location! Impeccable 5-star service all round. They made clever use of glass and hidden spaces in the guest rooms; writing table was huge, amentities were plenty; they have obviously put a lot of thought into the design and contents of the rooms to make the guest's stay comfortable. My only grouse was that they did not replenish a set of shampoo and conditioner plus hand soap in the bathroom during my 4-day stay. The Dining Room served very good mango sticky rice (my fav!) at the buffet and a good selection all-round for breakfast and lunch. Meeting rooms were excellent and felt homely, with high ceilings and great selection of tea break delicacies. As I was not a coffee nor tea drinker, they even obliged with my request for hot chocolate! Great service!! The gym has state-of-the-art equipment and you can even watch tv, play games on the treadmills and it has even a little air vent that blows air gently on your face.

Room Tip: They are currently having some renovation works being carried out in the guest rooms but since I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLacey, Manager at Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Your comments on your recent stay with us are most appreciated indeed.

We are all most delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed our newly remodelled guestroom along with our other products and services. Please accept our sincere apologies for the oversight regarding the replenishment of our bathroom amenities. This issue has been highlighted to our team and will not occur again.

Thank you again for your kind feedback on your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok.

Best regards

Nicholas Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok

Address: 494 Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bangkok's business and commercial district, Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok is a five-star luxury hotel with resort-style amenities. The hotel recently introduced newly renovated guestrooms and suites designed by Tony Chi, offering residential ambience to ensure that guests feel at home. Enjoy a rejuvenating experience in one of our six residential spa cottages after a gruelling day of business meetings or corporate events. Indulge your palate with our dining options, such as Tables Restaurant, Spasso Restaurant & Bar, and Erawan Tea Room. Immerse yourself in Thai culture by visiting the Grand Palace, the Emerald Buddha and the Silom District. You can also drop by the Chatuchak Weekend Market, home to more than 2,000 stalls selling various knick knacks and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hyatt Bangkok
Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Hyatt Bangkok
Bangkok Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.