We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“continues to be popular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Landmark Bangkok to your Saves list
Landmark Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Sukhumvit Road | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“continues to be popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

its location is great,many restaurants to choose different styles and cusine,decent health club and a swimming pool.great for functions large halls , friendly staff, it continues to be popular inspite of so many new hotels in the near vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    375
    97
    42
    16
See reviews for
96
379
153
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've been staying here for a night or two, every other month for as many years as I can remember and seen many changes. Every few years the hotel has a facilities makeover which improves and freshens up the place, unfortunately, recently (in the past 6 months) staffing has gone through a makeover too and many of the long term employees have disappeared. Some have gone home to the countryside because they have had enough of city life, others have accepted more money from rival top hotels in town and others have been let go because the management feel fresh blood will bring new and better ideas. The only drawback is, that to a great extent, it was the experience and influence of the staff who are no longer there that made the Landmark what it was, i.e. better than the rest. Today the Atrium serves more to the tastes of local Thais rather than to that of the international traveller, as it was till about a year ago. (To the best of my knowledge it's supposed to be an international restaurant.)
The Atrium buffet was second to none in Bangkok for quality and variety of food. The selection of desserts/puddings was amasing but, today it has definately lost it's edge. I guess this change happened because the in-house Thai restaurant closed, (I expect due to lack of trade when Thailand and especially Bangkok is full of first class Thai restaurants) and management decided to serve more Thai style dishes in the Atrium restaurant instead. It's my opinion that the best way to combat a down turn in the market is to improve training of existing staff, quality and variety of services and build on what was already a very successful formula rather than to cut budgets and services and loose what was the backbone of the hotel, the long term and very capable staff.
Now with that said, I must also congratulate the Landmark Hotel for being one of the best. I've read through many of the reports below and what is said there is absolutely spot on. I'm just a bit sore because I know it can be even better as it has proven to be in the past, for me.

Room Tip: "Club Landmark" is well worth joining if you intend to use the hotel regularly. When the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for a few nights on business and the location is very central and close to the expressway entrance and rail station. I usually stay at another hotel nearby but decided to try the Landmark and found it very good although possibly in need of some attention to detail as the rooms are a little tired. The staff are helpful and overall a good experience although I think that other hotels I have stayed at in Bangkok have that small edge on the Landmark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I’ve been coming to Bangkok for over 10 years and out of all the hotels I’ve stayed at this is my favourite. There may be others that are newer, more modern, bigger rooms and so on but there are very few if any that can compare with the landmarks location. In terms of the overall package this hotel is for me difficult to beat. When you are in a city for a limited amount of time such as a 2 day stopover location is everything. When that city is Bangkok with it’s soul destroying traffic of doom it’s even more important!

The 2 things the Landmark has going for it on the location front are massive. It literally has the Sky train (Nana Station) outside it’s front door. Secondly the Expressway exit to the airports is 100 metres away making for easy getaways and arrivals. The main airport train terminal (Makkasan) is only a 10 min drive away. This means getting to the airport can cost as little as B140 using the taxi/train combo. The Metro is also only one stop on the sky train away (Asok).

As for the hotel it’s self, I have found the staff to be very friendly especially on the Club floors. The pool is ok but the fitness centre is excellent as it is a fitness first gym in it’s own right. The hotel is spotless and there are any number of bars and pubs to choose from. The two I would recommend are the Huntsman pub for food, band, TV sport and WIFI. The terrace along the front of the hotel for food and a cold beer. Get down there between 7 and 9pm to people watch the bargirls and the punters going to Nana Plaza around the corner. It is worth pointing out that at night this area (Soi 4) becomes very adult orientated and for those interested the hotel is guest friendly.

I stayed in a premium club floor room on the 27th floor. Check in was done in the club lounge over coffee and the staff at the club lounge are excellent. The room was a good size with king bed, big flat screen TV and an A/V panel for docking your smart phone/Tablet and such like. The bathroom was large and made out of a mix of glass and marble. The rainfall shower was excellent but there was no bath. The room had tons of amenities and an excellent coffee maker. But it seems they have done away with the fresh milk in the fridge which is Sad. That being said there was now free in room WIFI yippee!

The club lounge on the 31st floor is very nice. Breakfast is served there and it was excellent quality, in terms of range both continental and cooked English breakfast was well covered. Throughout the day tea, coffee and soft drinks are available on request (or just grab them) and most importantly they have cookies!! Cocktails start at 17:30 and lasts for 2 hours, you can have beer, wine spirits all free of charge. Appetisers and cakes are put out and the spread is excellent. It really is a great way to get warmed up for the evening!!

In terms of cost this hotel almost always has deals on throughout the year with agents. I got my room at a 50% reduction via a well known internet agent. I ended up paying for a club room what I would pay for a normal room some where like the Le Meridian. They also offer upgrades to a club room when you have booked a normal room and you come to check in. Access to the club lounge and a 4/6pm check out are well worth the up grade cost if you are on a late flight to Europe. For more information about the landmark and my experience of getting to the hotel on the airport train have a look at my other review.

Room Tip: An upgrade to the 'Club Floors' comes with a late checkout. if you are on a late night/early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our stay here was very amenable. The lobby was clean, professional & the staff were helpful. The buffet breakfast was very satisfactory & would have broad appeal. The rooms were upscale, clean & comfy although the way the shower is built, it lets water drip out on the floor so a towel had to be used to mop it up. We requested a non-smoking room and it was a non-smoking room. However, it was not a non-smoking floor as once you stepped out of the elevator, there was a strong cigarette smoke smell in the hallways. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We travelled in December 2011. Booked in at 4pm on New Years Eve and were told the only room they had did not have a window, but we could move the next day to another room (and have a complimentary breakfast for the following morning). The room without the window was large but as it was New Years Eve it would have been nice to see the view and fireworks etc. We did go out New Years Eve so it didn't really matter. The next day we were out all day so didn't get a chance to change rooms (our fault not the Hotel). On returning that night we found a note from reception asking us if we wanted to move rooms. We spoke to reception and were upgraded to the Premium rooms which, are fantastic! We spent the next 2 nights in the Premium rooms. This was our second visit to the Landmark. Its location is great, staff fantastic, nothing is to much trouble. Breakfast was fantastic! great choice and service. We sat by the pool on New Years Day and again it was very relaxing. Our negative comments are the standard rooms. If the Landmark wants to keep up with other Bangkok Hotels it needs to up its standard room. We are again going at Christmas and have looked at other Hotels, cheaper than the landmark and the rooms are much better. I cannot really fault this Hotel everything is great except if you get a standard room (its still good but not five star)!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

To pick a hotel in the beginning of Sukhumvit should not be difficult when there are so many good ones. This is one of them. Its a nice hotel with plenty of dining options. Choose a club or lifstyle floor room for more comfort and a better view. Enjoy a meal or some drinks at The Terrace while you suck inn the atmosphere of one the the busiest streets in south east Asia. Avoid taxis and travel with confidence on the skytrain instead. Paragon and MBK is just minutes away and so is the rest of what you wish for in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Food is good but at a cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Bangkok

Address: 138 Sukhumvit Road | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#52 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#62 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#72 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Landmark Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.