We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Westin I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grande Sukhumvit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grande Sukhumvit to your Saves list
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   259 Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Doha, Qa
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not the Westin I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Was not the best Westin experience. I was expecting more to be honest. As SPG platinum member, I did not get all the benefits nor the welcome we expected. Also, unfortunately it was not that clean! Their excuse was that the hotel was fully booked

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear ammn11,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you felt we fell short on your stay. We will always do our very best to extend the most to our Platinum memebrs, though unfortuanely due to high demand we are not always able to allocate Suites to everyone. I hope we extended everything else. I am not sure the specific details of the Hotel not being clean, as we pride ourselves on what we offer. If you are comfortable to reveal your identity outside this forum, i will send a side note via Tripadvisor messaging to hopefully gain some more specific information.

Kind regards,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    408
    133
    30
    6
See reviews for
145
217
177
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The first thing I liked about the hotel was the bottles of cold water made available at the lobby. A nice, thoughtful touch given Bangkok's hot weather. Great location with the BTS station literally at their doorstep & MRT station about 5 mins walk away. Next to the hotel is Terminal 21 Shopping Mall which is also connected to the BTS station.

Room was spacious even with an additional bed. Their bed is indeed heavenly, as marketed by the hotel. The pillows were too soft for our liking though. Cleanliness was superb. Complimentary coffee & tea as well as toiletries were of very good quality. As for the fruit platter, all our rooms had apples only whilst 1 room had the full works - 6 types of fruits!

Buffet breakfast was a delicious spread of both Asian & Western variety. There was even cold stone froyo & freshly squeezed wheat grass with green apple juice. Yup, I was impressed!

The only drawback of this hotel is their free wifi. We had to request for ID & password from the concierge each time we wanted to use it. Then again I think all Bangkok hotels work this way for their free wifi - from an experience in another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardin, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times, and each time the quality,service, and standard remains. This can only be described as outstanding. Staff communications to guests are excellent, and this ranges from the genuine courtesies from rooms staff to management.
The dining rooms are excellent, and breakfast is an experience not to be forgotten with food items presented and served so professionally.
Of course Thailand is noted for service and quality, but at the Westin, this is difficult to beat!

Room Tip: all rooms are exceptional, and up to international standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear jayhelston1234,

Thank you for sharing and thank you also for staying with us. I am delighted to read your feedback and appreciate your recommendation of us to others.

Many thanks,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hotel is right next to Asok BTS station and Terminal 21 mall with its great food court so many dinning options outside the hotel.
Room was large, clean, comfortable and well appointed. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear five8_z,

It is great to read your feedback. Thank you very much for sharing with us and others - it's very appreciated.

Stay well,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

+ Outstanding gym, probably the best in Bangkok!
+ SPG Exec lounge is a big plus
+ Super friendly staff
+ Breakfast is above expecations, even for 5 star hotel
+ everything super clean
+ Pool on roof top is beautiful
- breakfast ends at 10.31 sharp, no chance for late breakfast, even on weekend

=> above all: very good experience, would prefer it to W Hotel, Conrad, Silvatel and Urbana (my exposure in Bangkok so far) anytime

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Markus H,

It's great to read your feedback and many thanks for sharing. We have just this month released long and lazy breakfast for Saturdays which will roll into lunchtime, so I hope you can take advantage of this in the future. For Sunday, we do turn breakfast into our Sunday lunch, so have a small gap in between the change time but the menu items available, as an alternative. I do appreciate the feedback and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The staff at the fabulous hotel consistently are the friendliest, most helpful ever, even greeting by name when passing the front dest. It has become my first choice among the myriad hotel offerings in Bangkok. On my most recent visit the concierge quickly arranged the paperwork and shipping of an overnight package to Myanmar, even calling the shipping company to request a special pick up. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a club floor room. The club lounge is the best ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Zelophehad,

Thank you for sharing and great to receive your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you back also.

Stay well,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Excellent location. Staffs generally helpful.
The lounge is small compare to Sheraton just opposite and river side. And very crowded.
A lot of Japanese guests talked and laughed and bringing girls on the street into the hotel. They laughed very loudly no matter during breakfast, lobby or even corridor of room floors. Everyone knows they were laughed about their night life experiences even other guests don't know Japanese languages. They just think it's their place and never consider other guests.

Room Tip: Higher floor. Avoid Japanese guests beside your breakfast table
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Syn8278,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel along with the staff being helpful. It's disappointing to read that the other guests distrubed your stay - we will always address where possible. I appreciate the feedback and raising our awareness.

Many thanks,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grande Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grande Sukhumvit

Address: 259 Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#57 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#124 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#130 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Grande Sukhumvit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Westin difference at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok, a contemporary retreat in the heart of the city’s thriving business and entertainment district. The hotel is steps from the BTS Asok skytrain and MRT Sukhumvit subway stations ensuring guests are moments away from the city’s best shopping, vibrant nightlife, and unique cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grande Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Westin Bangkok
Bangkok Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.