We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay At The Westin Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grande Sukhumvit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grande Sukhumvit to your Saves list
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   259 Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 Reviews
UAE
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay At The Westin Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great Services , Couldn't get a room in the Sheraton and was booked in the Westin , best breakfast ever had in my travels , access to Term 21 Mall is major plus point
The reception and concierge staff Staff are Fantastic people

Room Tip: Get higher floor rooms not facing the Mono Rail
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear mazengo, it's great you enjoyed the breakfast experience and also found the staff fantastic people. Thank you for sharing and we do look forward to seeing you again.

With thanks,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    411
    134
    30
    6
See reviews for
146
218
177
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel more than 15 times. Check in was absolutely dissapointing as they were totally not customer centric at all! Friends from america arriving at around 2am and we requested to check them in when we got there in the evening. They just dont care! Rooms were getting run down as I dont think they refurbished the rooms before. As for value for money, its bad! All chargeable! Ill most likely NEVER stay here again. Management please dont write to try to show you care as I definitely know you dont!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear travelmaestro,

Thank you for taking the time to share. I am obviously disappointed in your comments and sorry you do not wish me to specifically address. Thank you though for your past loyalty to us, and I am sorry that we let you down.

Kind regards,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Third stay since it opened as Westin. Despite almost a decade since it opened as Westin, and having stayed here the 3rd time spread over since its opening, I have to say the general maintenance is quite impeccable, especially the room.

The real sign of its age is the room carpet looking quite stained.

The hotel used to provide take away paper cups in the room for those who wish to have coffee/tea on the go. So were the ronnefeldt tea. Sounds like some downgrading here.

It could be just me, all three stays, with the exceptional few, there's just no soul amongst most staff i.e., no warmth, felt cold.

Nevertheless, kudos for being well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear LUXXX,

thank you very much for your loyalty to us over the years and I do appreciate the feedback. I'm pleased that you've generally enjoyed your stay each time, and find the upkeep of the Hotel impeccable, as we are always striving to achieve the best possible standard. Thank you too for the feedback on the takeaway cups - if you would like anytime - please just contact Service Express and we can deliver to your room.

Thank you again for the feedback, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Stay well,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The best services we ever had... the food breakfast buffet was outstanding - the best we ever experienced. The dinner buffet on the weekend was also remarkable.
The easy access to Terminal 21 was a great plus. .Movie house Kids game and more

Room Tip: we on 15 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear yai2013, it is superb to read that you experienced great service and enjoyed your stay with us! I agree, we are very fortunate with the location of the Hotel, so close to Terminal 21. Thank you, to you and your family, for staying with us.

Kind regards,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This can be a nice hotel in a really great location. I've stayed here a lot over the past eight years or so, so that shows I like it. But time is marching on and the Westin Grande isn’t quite keeping up with it. Service can be patchy too.

I've reviewed the Weston Grande before, so I won’t go into detail here.

In some places, this could be the best hotel in town. But it feels like there is new hotel almost every week in Bangkok, so the competition is fierce. And every new hotel drives up the standard of rooms. What this means is that you can now easily find better rooms in hotels that are a category lower. Quite simply, the Westin is growing old and the odd nip and tuck is not enough to keep it where it once was. I've seen peeling paint in the bathrooms and some of the windows definitely need replacing because there are stains inside the glazing units.

Another problem is that half the rooms face the spectacular new Terminal 21 shopping complex. What that means is that where there was once an impressive city view, there is now nothing more than a wall of concrete for a fair proportion of rooms - not something you want in five-star hotel.

On the plus side, this is a still a nice hotel in a great location. And it has one of the nicest hotel bars in Bangkok in my view. It also has a nice Executive Lounge, with good food.

But you can pay less for arguably better and more modern rooms (there is a nice Four Points very close by). Also, the Sheraton Grande opposite has a decent view from every room - so I think it is only worth coming here if it's less expensive than the Sheraton.

And be sure to ask for a room that doesn't face the Terminal 21 car park!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the Terminal 21 shopping mall. And avoid 10th floor rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear A449,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments to share your recent stay with us and others. I must say thank you also for your loyalty to us and I am pleased you find this still a nice Hotel is a great location, along with enjoying venues of Zest Bar & Terreace and the Westin Executive Club. We are always trying to keep our product and service the best possible over the years, so I do hope you can expereice changes we make from time to time when your travels plans bring you back to Bangkok. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope we can see you soon.

Kind regards,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

i have known this hotel since its early days when it was called delta.... always find it in the right location and with the best ratio price vs services. the staff is courteous and efficient. i would recommend it to anyone making a stop in Bangkok.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear i g, thank you very much for your feedback and thank you for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Stay well,
Charles Jack,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This property has one of the best locations in Bangkok. The hotel is about 3 steps from the BTS Asok Station, as well as a short walk to the Metro. This was my third stay at the Westin Grande Sukhumvit, and the staff did not fail to impress...again. The staff in the Executive Lounge are among the best in the business. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear BravoSix8,

It's always nice to hear from one of our repeat guests and to know hat the Executive Club team have taken good care of you. We all look forward to your next visit.

Trixie Scully,
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grande Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grande Sukhumvit

Address: 259 Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#56 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#126 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#138 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Grande Sukhumvit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Westin difference at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok, a contemporary retreat in the heart of the city’s thriving business and entertainment district. The hotel is steps from the BTS Asok skytrain and MRT Sukhumvit subway stations ensuring guests are moments away from the city’s best shopping, vibrant nightlife, and unique cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grande Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Westin Bangkok
Bangkok Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.