We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be very careful definatly not a top hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bangkok to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,061 Reviews
Norfolk
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Be very careful definatly not a top hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights, upgraded to a club suite by the management free of charge as incompetent staff caused massive problems to our daughter trying to upgrade us as we were celebrating our silver wedding.
Very nice except kept awake by banging pipes and noisy plumbing like a basic B & B.
On 3rd night and after numerous complaints and despite being assured that problem had been rectified moved to another suite in the middle of the night.
Slept ok but poor management and incompetent staff lead to a chain reaction resulting in being left in reception with "no room" taxi sent away as not in room, the list of bad management and incompetance is endless.
Made a formal written complaint, to add to the numerous verbal complaints only to recieve a re assurance that they will be "reinforcing our training programmes" ! oh that old chestnut.
For the money you pay you can do much better, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Below is an excerpt from the hotel’s communiqué with the guest sent out prior to his/her posting:

Dear Mr. YarcoNorfolk,
Thanks for writing back and I am sorry to hear that you found my response unsatisfactory. My intention was not just to appease you with mere words but, more to underline the hotel’s intention to acknowledge your complaint and inform you of the steps it had already taken to recover the situation. I do regret the noisy pipes in your suite and we have taken steps to fix the matter. I admit that the departure experience was more human error of communication. As any good organization, we take guest feedback seriously and spend time training as this is the best way to avoid recurrence. Unfortunately, these issues do occur despite our best intentions and training.
I was hoping that you would see the hotel’s initiative to give you a complimentary upgrade for your special occasion and a 50% discount off your only spend in the hotel as a token of our apology and sincerity. Clearly, you did not find this adequate compensation. However, I can understand your frustration and nothing I say or do is going to change this stay with us.
Mr. YarcoNorfolk, given your continued dissatisfaction, we have already sent you (prior to this posting) a suggestion of compensation to your personal address and we look forward to your response. I do hope that you will find this gesture adequate and accept it as a token of our sincere apologies. We have learnt from it and hope that it give you enough confidence to visit us again.

With warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,119
    654
    206
    55
    27
See reviews for
385
1,554
163
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We arrived at the Banyan Tree for our honeymoon in November.

All I can say is that I loved the Banyan Tree and I would definately stay there again.
The hotel is amazing - as we were on honeymoon, we were upgraded to the premier suite and it was such a lovely room - a lounge area, a huge bathroom etc.

The staff were very friendly and were attentive to all our needs.
The hotel itself was clean, the maids always tending to our rooms should we request this,

The vertigo bar on the rooftop is one of the best views you can have of Bangkok with a great selection of cocktails.

The swimming pool is on the 23rd floor which is mind boggling to be swimming so far up!

All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I have been a fan of Banyan Tree and once again, at Banyan Tree Bangkok, it did not fail to disappoint. We arrived to the smiles and greeting of a very pleasant and happy doorman. We booked a 2 bedroom Banyan Suite as had 3 adults and 2 teenagers. The Suite is huge with ample space for everyone to move aroound. No fighting for the TV as there were 3 sets. The master bath shower also had steam facility and it's great to be able to relax and move around a spacious bathroom.

Food was great as well. Enjoyed room service (kids were too tired to eat out after shopping) as it was really tasty. We also ordered Pad Thai and the taste was good and authentic. Breakfast spread was also great!

One thing not to be missed is the Banyan Tree Spa. Although a little pricier than the massages found in Bangkok, it is one of the best that I've tried. My family and kids especially really enjoyed it and said it's the best.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Stayed at the Banyan Tree Bangkok for 3 nights over a weekend at the beginning of December and from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted happy smiling staff who really know how to make their customers feel welcome. Staying in a club room on the 27th floor the rooms were spacious, clean and very inviting. The food at breakfast was varied with tastes to suit many different nationalities (unfortunatly my wife would not allow me to have ice cream which was on offer at Breakfast!)

We used the Spa on 2 occasions and had some great experiences, the reception staff and massurers were great fully understanding our requirements and we both had a fully relaxing time

Had a few drinks at the moon bar on the 61st floor ... great view and a great venue but at that hight .. soft drinks only for me !


The only problem i had is with the hotel's insistance that all public areas must be the same tempreture as the inside of a freezer .. why ... really people have to learn i dont want to have to put a winter coat on everytime i leave my hotel room and when i get my hot breakfast i want it still to be hot my the time i get back to my table! Hot tea for breakfast .. no chance unless you drink it within the first 5 seconds

With the Banyan Tree's focus i cannot understand why they have the aircon so cold (I am originally from England so im used to the cold but this was not good).

Anyway ... great hotel .. great staff ... but dont forget a good winter coat!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Absolutely stunning hotel, amazing service with facilities that are second to none. Pillow menu was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful hotel, in one of the new updated rooms on the 30th floor, very comfortable and clean Suite.... Overall we enjoyed our stay, the service was good, we part we most enjoyed was going every evening on the vertigo bar after dinner, we could enjoy the Jazz Band, fresh and clear air and few cocktails.... Amazing view !!!
The fitness centre and the pool were on the executive florr, very beautiful...The only little remark to make is about breakfast, very busy and not enough space for the entire resident, sometimes had to wait (no long, only 5-10 minutes) we feel this can be improved we some little modification on the service side and people management.
We will definitely come back to Banyan Tree, Bangkok....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Wow! Thats the first word that comes to mind regarding this towere of luxury in Bangkok. Normally, for most people (including me), Bangkok was never synonymous with luxury - rather it was a place where people from all over the world came to fulfill their most banal and carnal desires cheaply. While that is still true, Bangkok has evolved into an amazing city of gleaming roads, upmarket boutiques and towering skyscrapers - at least a part of it has.

The Banyan tree is a typical example of that. The Sathon road, on which it is located is a 6-lane stretch of freeway, where BMWs and Mercs are now commonplace. Taking ots pride of place on the side of it, the Banyan tree stretched 56 floors from the ground in absolute resplendence. It is built with the well-heeled, comfort-seeking, pampered traveler in mind and it offers nothing but the best. Be it exotic set menus (costing 2800 THB per person, way too expensive for a place where 2 lanes away, you can have dinner for as less as 100 THB), attendants at your beck and call every time of the day or the rooftop restaurant - the pride of the hotel (and the city, I might add), everything associated with the Banyan tree has a classy touch to it. Yes, the retaurant is on top of 56 floors - and offers a stunning view of Bangkok by day, and an even better view at dusk or night. The Khao Phraya river can be seen meandering through the middle of the city with the urban sprawl stretching out to almost the horizon. Having dinner there is certainly a once-in-a lifetime experience. Be careful though - the restaurant is usually booked out weeks, if not months in advance. You can always have a drink at the bar though - you will usually find place there. Stay in this hotel, if only for a day, to experience the best in luxury that Bangkok has to offer.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.