We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel in Bangkok!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bangkok to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,061 Reviews
Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A perfect hotel in Bangkok!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here in January, on a trip around the world on airline points, and could not have been happier! The staff is incredibly friendly, rooms lovely (raised bathtub overlooking window in high-rise hotel). Definitely buy Concierge Level, where food and drink were so abundant and excellent that we ate full breakfasts and heavy hors d'oeuvres in evening that saved us spending more on dinner one night. But I do wish we had booked the hotel's Vertigo restaurant on its rooftop - open air, with glass side panels and spectacular views. It's pricey, but beyond special, with a great vibe! We did splurge on the most amazing couples massage, in a large private room with steaming shower. Just a fabulous place!
Because we were there only three nights, we booked two days of private tours with BKK Tours, and even managed to get half-hour massages at Wat Pho Temple. We saw four times what we would have seen on our own or with a group tour, including one day in the country - well worth the expense.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,119
    654
    206
    55
    27
See reviews for
385
1,554
163
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

After reading negatives I just wanted to say that our experience at vertigo restaurant was superb. The restaurant is on 61st floor of the banyan hotel overlooking the city. The view is worth it alone, we opted for the 3 course special menu, food was excellent, you pay for what you get and we thoroughly enjoyed our food.....service was fab. When arrived it had been raining so we ate inside until rain stopped without ny fuss we then went upstairs to eat our other courses. You get a free photo of yourselves which is a lovely touch. I would recommend this restaurant if your ever in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mor66,

Thank you for your visit at Banyan Tree Bangkok.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable dining experience at Vertigo and Moon Bar, our rooftop restaurant. We have strived to deliver the memorable experience to our valued guests, and your gracious comment gave us more energy to work with passions, ensuring we maintain our Banyan Tree standards.

Thank you once again for your patronage, we hope you will accord us another opportunity to introduce you to other dining destinations and facilities in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visited here for 2 nights in one of the Club Tree Rooms. What a wonderful experience from check in on the 19th floor until our departure . Most amazing beds and pillows in the well appointed rooms. All the lovely smelling amenities were a lovely touch. The staff were fantastic, helpful, very gently natured. The food in the Banyan Club lounge was great, we also ate at Pier 59 for 2 courses then had the next 2 courses on the rooftop Veritgo Restaurant , just fabulous. We also had a swim which was nice and took in the bar on the 52nd floor. Thanks to you all for a wonderful stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with 2 nights at Banyan Tree to end our 7 week trip around Thailand. It was paradise. From the club lounge (free flow alcohol and snacks/canapés all day) to the club room with a bath tub overlooking the city, to being surprised with a birthday cake being delivered to our room from concierge while we were away, this was the most perfect hotel stay I have ever had. The staff were amazing, the sushi restaurant was delicious, and the moon bar was fairly priced with 360 degree views. Will definitely go back and stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Every aspect of service at this hotel was perfect from check in to check out. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous.

The hotel itself is well located just a short walk from the skytrain and the metro (although even a short walk can be hard work in the heat and humidity). There was a free tuk tuk service to the stations. We preferred using these ways of getting around because the taxis, although cheap and reliable, spend more time stuck in the infamous traffic than actually moving. it is also close to Silom road which is very lively at night and a good place to eat (particularly at the street stalls), drink and shop.

The hotel is well the five stars it has with a large number of restaurants and bars. The pool area although small has lovely views over the city. The rooms are spacious and nicely designed with good views. We stayed on the club floors which are really good value. A lovely breakfast with massive choice is included as is free drinks and food throughout the day.

Thanks to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go for the club levels because of the massive extra benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just for one night to round off three weeks backpacking around Thailand. Very impressed with the check in process (bags sent straight to the room, welcome drink and flowers around your wrist) Room was on the 44th floor great views of the city and very nice bathroom. Excellent value for money too. Great rooftop bar/ restaurant which has spectacular views of the city.I would 100% recommend the Banyan Tree to anyone wishing to stay in Bangkok. I was helped in the lobby bar by Joe who showed a keen interest in where I had been backpacking in Thailand and where I was from, he also assisted in arranging travel to the airport for us which was also a nice touch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel. The staff were so courteous, rooms were outstanding and the roof-top bar was a true novel experience. We didn't try the restaurants as they were a bit expensive, bearing in mind you can eat so cheaply in a good restaurant in the city.

Please beware of the Tuk-Tuk's - a total rip-off and when you point this out to them they can be aggressive. Look out also for the "friendly local" con as well. They tell you all the good places to go, via their friends tailor...hmmmmm..spooky!

Taxis are very cheap - always insist they put the metre on though as they do try to charge you quadruple the price (although still cheap by London standards!!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.