We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SKYBAR!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bangkok to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,068 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“SKYBAR!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wow just wow the sky bar says it all, the views incredible and the drinks perfect. Inside the hotel rooms need a makeover and I personally thought there was a weird smell throughout the hotel. However it was extremely good value and perfect location in Bangkok. The Japanese restaurant was good all though fairly expensive for such small amounts of food, but this was expected. Breakfast was divine but be sure to wake up early otherwise you'll be traipsing around the hotels many restaurants to eat your breakfast as they become packed quickly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    655
    208
    55
    27
See reviews for
387
1,557
163
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My second stay here, and just as great as the first. Club room with lounge access, including cocktails and canapes is a great deal. Some of the staff remembered me from my last visit, and this is what I really appreciate about Banyan Tree Bangkok. Compared to the other top-end hotels in this city, the staff seem friendlier, more approachable and unstuffy.
Since we had a late flight out we tried to book/pay for a late check out. This was not possible, but they did allow us to keep our room until 3pm, and use the pool and lounge until it was time to depart for the airport. We greatly appreciate their willingness to accommodate guest needs.

We also had a spa treatment here, and can really recommend it.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with a river view, you may risk getting more a view of the high rise close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We grabbed a couple of nights in Bangkok at the Banyan Tree on the way home from a train-traveling, 50th birthday, adventure through Malaysia and Thailand. We'd seen he Banyan Tree Vertigo restaurant in an in-flight magazine and thought there's the place for the official birthday dinner. So, we aimed for a meal at Vertigo, the hotel stay was just a great bonus. It was only our second stay in Bangkok, the first an over-nighter a week earlier at a different hotel, in a different location.
The first thing we noticed is not only is the Banyan Tree more into the business/embassy part of Bangkok, it is set behind a fairly large building and not adjacent to South Sathon road. As we had arrived by train, and keeping with the theme, we took the subway from the train station to the nearest station and walked up. Luckily, we stumbled across a couple of fellow Aussies who pointed us in the right direction (prob embassy types - which is very close to the Banyan). Even so, we still walked passed the hotel a couple of times before finding the entrance, which was a Banyan Tree signed side alley or a walk through an empty building without Banyan Tree markings. We had a friendly security guard point us in the right direction. I know the hotel is huge, but from the road at night after 12 hours on a train, confusion is easy!
But once we were in, the magic began. The room was ultra modern, very clean and well apportioned. For some reason we got an upgrade (seemed to happen a lot on this trip) and we really appreciated the massive king size bed. The bathroom was huge and very modern and sleek, with very high quality finishes. Maybe a little bit too sleek for our liking, but still very nice.
We paid an extra fee (I think about 1500 Baht for both of us) for the buffet breakfast and used that to start our day. The lower ground breakfast dining area is lovely, with a very nice waterfall/stream/koi carp. Great food, with east/west choices, cooked and continental.
We took the complimentary tuk tuk (see the concierge) into the local BTS transit station and then spent the day in the city. Turned out not to be too far from the rail link and we walked back to the hotel. That night we dressed up for our pre-booked dinner at the Vertigo and had an amazing night. Food was very good, service outstanding, and the view AMAZING. So was the price, but you're only 50 once! All in all, a great hotel but make sure you make use of the Vertigo or Moon Bar to get the full effect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Traveling with my son and wife, I decided to get a one bedroom suite. It was as big as a Tokyo apartment! We loved the Club lounge and staff, we thought the details in the room were great and the concierge and door staff were super helpful. The hotel has many restaurants which we tried when we could - very good thai restaurant, super staff.
Cannot really say a negative thing, and would be happy to recommend the same experience to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived and after a 40-odd minute transfer from the airport we finally arrived. Just some info on the taxi ride, the fare (including the airport BHT50 surcharge and BHT70 expressway fees) should not cost more than about BHT450. Don't let your taxi driver push you for more than that!!!
Were taken to the check in area where we waited for a few minutes. After they took out passports & proof of booking they charged to our card DOUBLE what our accommodation was going to cost as guarantee for any extras. I kicked up a huge fuss about this and eventually they relented and refunded the guarantee amount back to our card. Watch out for this as they shouldn't take more than about THB 2'000, NOT THB10'000!!!!!
Room was lovely with a great view to the pool & city.
Breakfast was very average and wasn't bowled over by it.
Pool area was nice and perfectly suitable to cool down after a day shopping in the city.
Vertigo Sky Bar (on top of building, floor 54) is a must do to see the city by night but drinks are really expensive!!! The Thai Whiskey is not great and don't recommend you try it
Hotel is in easy walking distance to a train station which is easy to navigate and explore from there.
We did the Banyan Tree river cruise and I was very disappointed. The food was below average, there wasn't enough light to even see what you were eating and it was overly priced and found that it was a waste of money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband booked us 2 nights in the Banyan Tree and got us a suite, on arrival we were asked if we fancied to upgrade to a Spa suite, as I was wanting to use the spa facilities, it wasn't,t cheap but it was well worth it . With this booking my husband and I had a 90 minute massage of our choice within the privacy of our suite, this was fantastic as I knew my husband wouldn't go to a Spa.the best experience was visiting the roof top bar ,Vertigo, I wad lost for words at the view of Bangkok, banking is recommended that you book if you are wAnting to eat, we just sat at the top bar.all the staff we came across where so friendly and was eager to help, we had use of the club lounge so free bar and nibbled were on offer.I hope I get chance to return to this hotel

Room Tip: The higher the floor means the better the view, and try to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of a long weekend to Thailand.

I'm probably in Thailand at least 3 - 4 times a year, and always at least once or twice to Bangkok. This was my first time to the Banyan Tree and glad it didn't disappoint.

Checked in after a traffic affected 4 and a half hour drive from Hua Hin and couldn't fault the welcome. It's luxury you expect from the brand. Had an upgrade to a higher floor and the room was very well decked out. Huge bathroom with seperate tub and walk in shower. The wife was straight into that tub. Great King size bed and all the amenities you'd expect from a 5* hotel from DVD player, iPod dock, free wifi, well stocked mini-bar, luxury toiletries and so on.

We booked dinner at Vertigo and this is where the night went away a little. We live in Singapore so are well used to roof top bars and restaurants and I've had dinner and drinks at the likes of Lebua before when in Bangkok. The experience at Vertigo is a bit different. Firstly, the views are fantastic, and it's definitely worth getting up there just for sunset to enjoy a few sundowners before taking your table. It's also worth asking for a table on the side so can enjoy that view through dinner. The food is fantastic, if not slightly expensive compared to what you'd expect to pay in Thailand. Even at well know other downtown restaurants in Bangkok. Also, the serving staff aren't that attentive or brilliant. You'd expect better when paying those prices.

The one gripe is the volume of people and lack of control over them. The bar gets over packed very quickly and you're constantly being knocked into either by waiters or other guests jostling for photo opportunities. Even whilst at dinner, there's a constant stream of people past your table heading to and from the bar area. This does die down after sunset, so it's worth booking a later table for dinner and getting to the bar early to avoid the over crowding.

We stopped at the Moon bar on the way down for a night cap. I'd avoid this if you've been to Vertigo already. It's much windier here, the drinks not as good and smells of cooking constantly from what much be the kitchens on that floor blowing out onto that area.

Breakfast in the morning is definitely recommended before heading out for a day of sight-seeing or shopping. It's a huge selection, even by most 5* hotels, fantastic quality and also great value for money. We paid for it seperately as hadn't included it in our original booking but would definitely include it next time. Worthwhile note if it's not too hot. Ask for one of the tables outside by the mini-waterfall.

I'd definitely stay here again. It's worth it's wait in gold as the ideal place in Bangkok when you've had a long tiring and hot day out and just want to kick back in luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.