We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place...with some need for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bangkok to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Sathorn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 805 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place...with some need for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Banyan Tree Bangkok, pampered by the hotel's "typical" embrace and atmosphere. Pity that it has been quite hard to communicate to many of the employees due to sometimes even very limited knowledge of English. This is quite a glitch for a hotel that is ranked at the luxury level and comes with luxury-specific rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank monpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at the Banyan Tree Bangkok for 3 nights for work. I had booked a club room and was upgraded to a one bedroom suite, which was fabulous. Club services were good - 4 pieces of laundry per day, free shoe shine. Unfortunately, I did not have time to avail myself of the free 10 minute massage. No complaints at all about the room quality, and the bath was fantastic. Rooms were quiet, and service unobtrusive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank UmiEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel seven or eight times. Quite simply, the best hotel in the world. They pay attention to all details and do so with class. Highly recommended.Having stayed in many 5 star hotels in Thailand, the Banyan Tree is by far the best, for quality, price service and staff. If you are planning a trip to Bangkok I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Karan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Karan K,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts as our important repeated guest.

It's our great pleasure to learn that we have delivered you a memorable experience at Banyan Tree Bangkok, and we feel so grateful for your patronage of the hotel. Your gracious comment has been shared to the entire team to continue working with passions in order to go beyond our guest expectations and maintain the high service standard of Banyan Tree.

Thank you so much for your time, and we are looking forward to be of your service once again in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Chances are that you’ll travel a long time to get to Bangkok, so it is important to have a quiet, comfortable place to rest after the journey. Equally as important is a refuge from the city’s hot, bustling streets. This theme developed as my wife and I planned for a week-long holiday in Bangkok.

Therefore, we were please to find a nice package at the Banyan Tree Bangkok. We were pleasantly surprised that such a high level of service was available for the price. This attention began with the reservation staff’s help with a couple of e-mailed questions prior to arrival.

We were exhausted after our long flights to Bangkok, so the quick, efficient check in was just what we needed. After standard paperwork at the front desk, a receptionist accompanied us upstairs to show us the room, taking great pains to explain the many amenities. The door staff delivered our luggage to the room minutes after the receptionist left us. These were representative introductions to the hotel employees. We did not encounter a staff member who was not friendly, polite, and helpful in every way that we needed.

Our package included a club room, and we upgraded further to the one-bedroom suite. We enjoyed the extra space in our suite. Since our sleep patterns were so altered due to the time change, being able to close the door to the bedroom allowed one of us to get up without disturbing the other’s rest.

We experienced two mechanical problems (hot water pressure and a blown fuse) with the room during our stay, but maintenance fixed them as soon as we notified guest services.

The club room services were well worth the cost. Breakfast was included, and we seldom have seen such a generous, varied buffet at any hotel. Offerings included pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, fresh juices, and both Western and Asian hot dishes. The kitchen staff also cooked eggs to order. Additionally, the club lounge was open for beer, wine, and soft drinks through the day, and the cocktail hour from 5:30 to 7:30 pm offered enough light fare (including drinks) for a satisfying dinner on several evenings.

The Bangkok Post and International Herald Tribune were delivered to the door each morning. Wi-fi and cabled network service was included as well. We also were able to send four clothing items to the laundry each day. Leaving a laundry bag outside the door in the morning, our clothes were returned cleaned and pressed (or carefully folded) later in the afternoon. It would be nice to have this service at home.

Bangkok is a fascinating city, and our visits included the temples, palaces, and museums highlighted in most tourist guides. We were able to walk from the hotel to the Sala Daeng Sky Train station, from which transit to most locations was pretty easy. To be sure, the walk back to the hotel after a day of sightseeing was challenging in the afternoon heat. Even so, it often seemed that walking was faster than sitting in Bangkok’s traffic. This comfortable base for our holiday nearly made it hard to get out for more adventures.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights from 24. to 26.11.2012, on the 44. floor. Awesome wiew, and the suite was spaceious. Location only 10 mins. walk from Silom Road, and the Skytrain (and also the underground line).

On the rooftop (61. floor), there is a restaurant called "Vertigo", and "Moon Bar". What a wiew! Even if you don't stay at the hotel, visit the rooftop! The prices of alcohol are more Norwegian, than Thai, but you may afford one or two drinks, there.

Staying at Banyan Tree Bangkok is good value for money! :-)

Room Tip: Choose a city-wiew room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyrhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear dyrhan,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok.

We are very happy to learn that your had enjoyed your stay with a great review on the location and our rooftop restaurant, Vertigo & Moon Bar. We hope that you will accord us another opportunity in the future to be of your service.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I was amazed. Speachless. In the middel of the,most chaotic place on earth you'll find this piece of paradise with its tranquill pool and spectacular views. No hotel will ever match the service and friendlyness of the staff. Dinner was really expensive but worth every cent through and through.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernest v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 on our first trip to Thailand. The hotel is beautiful, although not a great location for tourists. It is in the business district, so not much nearby including restaurants. The breakfast buffet was included with our room and was outstanding. A huge variety of choices and beautiful courtyard outside the restaurant. Loved the variety of fresh fruit juices. A number of people recommended the rooftop bar, which has a spectacular view of Bangkok, especially at sunset. Get there early for good seating.

The service was great. I had problems with the WiFi on my iphone and ipad, the staff at the front desk was able to add the ip addresses manually while I waited.

Overall a great hotel, but don't plan on walking anywhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up for a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TammieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 805 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 5,968 reviews
Silom
Sofitel So Bangkok
Sofitel So Bangkok
#14 of 805 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,649 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#